We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Nearby Hotels
ESJ Azul(Isla Verde)
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$379
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coral by the Sea(Isla Verde)
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$338
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$326
Curio.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$306
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Verdanza Hotel(Isla Verde)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,653)
Filter reviews
2,653 results
Traveller rating
1,064
917
403
177
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,064
917
403
177
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutback steakhousehappy hourmade to order breakfastevening receptionsan juanchips and salsafree drinksliving roomclose to the airportmanagers receptiontwo blockscomplimentary breakfastrum punchshort walk to the beachcocktail hourpre cruise stayel patio
Filter
Updating list...
2,258 - 2,263 of 2,653 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Wow, we were impressed. We had never stayed at an Embassy Suites. The hotel is a gem...only 2 blocks from the beach. We didn't want to pay the high prices of being located right on the beach, we were being thrifty. Let me tell you, we got more bang for our buck! The rooms are very roomy(as I'm claustrophobic), clean and we had an awesome view. Located only about a mile from the airport. The people working there are very helpful and nice. We had a free hot breakfast, name it, they had it there. Great for a family, cuts down on cost. The manager's special at night was awesome, good drinks. There are some great little restaurants in the area, good authentic food. Old San Juan is only 15 min. away. We will definitely be back! This hotel is great for everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scribbobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlMEmbassy, Gm at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2009

Dear Scribbobo,

Thank you for answering the review, and for considering us a excellent choice amoung others.It is our pleasure to serve you and grant you a great stay. We hope to see you in the near future and welcome you and your family to our home Embassy Suites San Juan.

Best Wishes
Luis G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Stayed 2 nights pre cruise May 1st & 2nd. Arrived at the hotel approx 1.00pm check in was fast and efficient, the room was available so that was a bonus for us. We had a 2 bedroom suite, which was 2 suites 1 with twin beds, 1 with a large double bed, 2 x bathrooms and adjoining doors. The pool area was well maintained, plenty of sunbeds, and a reasonably priced bar. Food was available either from the bar or from pizza/sandwich shop inside the hotel. There was also an outback steakhouse in the hotel. Breakfast was free, with eggs/omelettes cooked to order, the rest self service. At peak times it gets busy but we are up early and had little or no waiting time. The managers cocktail reception was good fun (don't be afraid to order a couple of drinks each and go back as often as time allows). A casino on site adds to the entertainment if required ! Their are several other eating establishments within a few hundred yards. All in all we would certainly stay here again if we were cruising from San Juan.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smoggyboy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlMEmbassy, GM at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2009

Dear Smoggyboy3,

Thank you for your great review, on our property. We're glad to be at your service and hope to be your choice,for your next trip to Puerto Rico.


Best Wishes
Luis G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We just returned from San Juan/ Isla Verde Embassy Suites. The cab ride is short and cheap - I only paid $13 and had two suitcases. I found most of the staff to be friendly, Blanca was exceptionally helpful. I loved that their was an Outback Steakhouse in the hotel and quite a few eateries nearby. The beach was within walking distance- approx two blocks. We rented beach chairs for $4 each. Also, the bus stop was approx one block and only cost 75 cents. We were able to take the bus to Old San Juan, then boarded a ferry for 50 cents to go to the free Bacardi Factory tour.

It was great to start the day with a hearty breakfast. The hotel provides a cooked to order omelette. Be sure to have Crisobal prepare your omlette- I noticed he made them much better than the other guys. After we finished our daily sightseeing- we arrived for the managers reception where we loaded up on drinks.. I mean they let us DRINK! Just remember to tip the bartenders.

Housekeeping was less than mediocore.. it took forever for them to clean the room! Also, the pool was ice COLD, which was not what I was expecting on such a warm day.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chassyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlMEmbassy, GM at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2009

Dear Chassyone,

Thank you for the review.Your comments are very importants to us,because they help us improve our service. We look forward to serving you in the future. Please let Front Desk know if you prefer your room done early so they could schedule the service with housekeeping. At Embassy Suites we care for our guest.


Best Wishes
Luis G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in February, with my boyfriend. We flew into San Juan for an extended weekend trip, stayed in Isla Verde for 3 nights, then went to Old San Juan for 2 more nights. We used Hilton points to book our stay here at the Embassy Suites in Isla Verde.

I really enjoyed this hotel! I was unsure before we booked it because I generally like being right downtown near attractions when I travel and am more concerned about location than the actual hotel, however this stay far exceeded my expectations, and in fact I enjoyed our time here more than I did at our place in Old San Juan.

The hotel is located right down the street from the airport, our taxi ride took less than 10 minutes. The lobby is huge, there is a casino in one corner, which was not too crowded and had great games, a business center with complimentary internet use, a restaurant/bar, and then the rest of the lobby is dedicated to a seating area used for breakfast and happy hour (both of which were delicious). The hotel rooms form a square around the lobby so that the railings all look over the lobby, which was neat because in the morning you could look down and see how long the breakfast line was and in the evening you could hear the bands playing by the bar.

I was in a room with a king sized bed and a living room, over looking the pool. The room was standard for an Embassy Suites, if you’ve been to one you know exactly what to expect, and as always it provided lots of space to relax. Microwave and refrigerator also included.

The pool at the hotel is amazing, it's large, has a wide deck around it and has waterfalls running through it. I never had a problem grabbing a chair in the sun. The gym is less than fantastic, it's your basic tiny hotel gym with no windows, a few cardio machines and a couple free weights.

The beach is a short walk down the street, and there are lots of restaurants in the area, both chains (burger king, subway, etc.), and local establishments. We rented a car one day from another hotel which was in walking distance.

The manager's hour was awesome at this hotel, free drinks (you should tip!) and snacks for a few hours, my boyfriend and I enjoyed local rum and beer each evening before heading out for dinner or to the casino.

The crowd was mostly families, lots of whom were boarding a cruise ship the next day. Since that is not my scene I got a little annoyed by the small children and obnoxious parents, but on our final night there, there must not have been a boat scheduled and we had most of the place to ourselves, which was awesome!

I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel when traveling to San Juan, the amenities are fantastic, and the hotel staff was lovely. Isla Verde is a perfect place to stay too, don't be afraid that it's out of the way, there is plenty to do right by the hotel. Enjoy your travels!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DCMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlMEmbassy, GM at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2009

Dear DcMcG,

Thank you for answering the review on our property. We thank you for such great comments. It's true our property is walking distance from everything and especially from other hotels, restaurants and more. On weekends you may find more family groups, because of the cruise departing on sundays.We're hoping to be your choice again next time you come to Puerto Rico.

Best Wishes
Luis G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Just returned from the ESSJ - this is our 2nd stay here. We last stayed in June '08 at the time of the infamous prom. We got a great welcome basket upon our return to the hotel. Much better visit this time. This is our first visit with our son (10 yrs old) and he loved the hotel just as much as we did. Let me share some tips:
Hotel Tips:
- Check in isn't until 4:00 - I would suggest you to become a Hilton Member to get in earlier.
-Cab rides from the airport (less than 10 minutes away) will cost $13
-Room has a lot of space for a family. The sofabed was to be expected, but we just asked for extra blankets.
-The breakfast was great. If you are looking for a great omlet or traditional Puerto Rican avena (oatmeal), this is the spot for you. We got to breakfast each day at 7 and it wasn't busy. Any time after 8 is packed.
-The staff was efficient, but not overly friendly.
-The pool looked average - wasn't too impressed.
-Several coqui got into the lobby and we heard them singing all night - it was a beautiful sound!

Isla Verde Beach:
We love this beach. We have been to other beaches in PR and we found this one to be very nice. IThe current is not to strong and allows for some great waves. t is pretty slow during the week, but on the weekend it is packed. Be prepared for a busy beach. But, we had a great time.
-You can get beach chairs (small ones) from the hotel for free. Try to get those early also.
-It is two long blocks to the beach - I would suggest that you walk on the right side of the street so that you are in the crosswalk. Be careful at the busy intersection before the beach - there isn't a stop light.
-You can rent chairs ($4) and an umbrella for $10. They get there at 9 and take them back around 4:45
-Pack snacks - ice cre am, beer, and hot dogs are sold nearby, but it may be a good idea to bring your stuff with you.
-We usually got to the beach around 9 each morning and it was very quiet.

Restaurants:
-Mi Casita is the best, by far. Not the best service, but great food. We spent around $34-$51, including tips. This is our 2nd time visiting here. Do not call any orders in - they won't accept it. Choose your own seat! If you wait at the door, you will be ignored! A block from the hotel.
-Metropol - cheaper and better service than Mi Casita - but the food wasn't that great. It was nice to compare. You can walk, but it is a hike. It is a $8 cab ride to the restaurant.
-Pueblo - even though this is a grocery store, they have a deli. The food was fantastic and cheap. You can buy a plate (mean, rice/beans, maduros) for less than $8. It is literally around the corner from the hotel.

Old San Juan:
The cab ride from the hotel to OSJ is around $19. You can take a bus, but we didn't try it.
-We attempted to buy a kite - it cost $5 for the kite and $1 for the string. If you don't know how to fly a kite or put it together, then, you are better of watching the pros!
-Cemetary (can't remember the name of it) is beautiful - beautiful sculpture and views of Old San Juan. You can see graves from the last 5 years to over a hundred years old.
-El Morro - fantastic fort to take the kids. The stairs below are very narrow and slippery at times. Great view. Took our son to the top level and just let him run - great views of the ocean, coastline and city.
-Ate at El Patio de Sams - nice food - great service. We had 2 Cuban sandwiches and a vegetarian plate - it cost us around $30.
-Take the kids to a pigeon park - for $1 you can buy bird seed and they will land on you!

El Yunque:
Rainforest was beautiful! We had a guide to take us. He was fantastic! Mr.Rincon was fantastic. If you want a guide to show you the real PR and the best of El Yunque - he is your man. He took us to a deserted part of the rainforest. We saw some beautiful waterfalls and let our son swim in one. There is also a visitor's center that isn't to be missed! You can get cell phone service at the entrance of the park, but that is where it stops!

I absolutely love Isla Verde. This is our 2nd trip in 10 months. My advice for you is to bring some sunscreen, bug spray (especially when visiting the Courtyard), SPF50, plenty of singles (dollar bills) and a great attitude. The hotel is a great one. We are not folks who will ever go to a Ritz Carlon or the El San Juan. We like the hotel for its comfort, convenience, and overall price. We loved it and our son loved it!

If you are interested in the tour of El Yunque, please email me at rgartigas@bellsouth.net. I will be more than happy to give you the name of our wonderful guide!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank artfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlMEmbassy, GM at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2009

Dear Artfam,

Thank you for choosing us again. We hope you have us in mind, for your future reservations. We're glad to offer you our cook to order breakfast and manager's reception everyday. Our friendly staff could help you plan your tours and different activities. Remember Embassy Suites is here for you!


Best Wishes
Luis GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews