We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely loved” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Level Contributor
1 review
“Absolutely loved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

The hotel was clean and the staff was superb. Of course, loved the breakfast buffet.

Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LornaB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    832
    367
    157
    76
See reviews for
971
590
63
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

WOW! My husband and I were literally stuck at the San Juan airport this week and didn't know what to do. It was 7:30 pm on a Monday and we called Embassy Suites and they had a great rate because of availability. The taxi fee over was $10, as the hotel is located about a mile away. Totally worth it!

I could write a small book about how great this hotel was, but I will do my best to condense.

The staff was so friendly! Breezy check in and check out. They had backup amenities that were brought to the room in record time :) The rooms were suites that were very spacious and quiet. The bathroom was huge and very clean. The bed was plush and relaxing and we didn't want to get out! Great pillows, mattress and linens!

The OUTBACK steakhouse located within the hotel was friendly and great food. It was also close to the laundry area. So we could wash our airport clothes while we had dinner. So easy and convenient!

Their HAPPY HOUR in the evenings from 5:30 to 7:30 was incredible and so nice. FREE drinks, including rum punch, and snacks are offered. As well, the FREE BREAKFAST was so amazing, we talked about it all day. It was by far one of the best free buffet breakfast experiences I have ever had. They served food on the whole spectrum. From hot meats, eggs, french toast to cereal, fruit, pastries etc. Really nice!

The Casino was a blast and gave us some nearby entertainment without having to leave. And the pool was awesome. With great hours of 7am to 10pm, we enjoyed as much as possible. The pool was amazingly huge so you didn't feel like you were on top of other people and the hot tub was romantic and cozy!

GREAT - AMAZING - FABULOUS! We only stayed two nights because we were stuck and hadn't planned on this hotel, BUT we would go back just to visit San Juan. My husband was able to walk to a nearby Walgreens and get some stuff and he said the beach was really close and within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaTravelChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

We stayed in a 2 room suite for two nights prior to a cruise with another couple. It was a very short ride from the airport. If there had been any sidewalks, we would have considered walking! The exterior and lobby look great and have a nice ambience. There is a big, open lobby with lots of greenery and plenty of seating. The complimentary breakfasts and two hour Manager's receptions with open bar were in this nice, big, open area. Get in line early, as both of these things can get crowded!
The two room suite was spacious, with a refrigerator and microwave. One room was a bedroom with a king bed, the second room was a living room with a pull out sofa, desk and chairs. King bed was comfortable, pull out was okay. Flat screen TVs in both rooms. Nice view of the pool from the bedroom. Free WiFi worked nicely. Rooms could use a renovation.
Outback restaurant and casino onsite. Live entertainment. It was a bit loud one of the nights.
Service was great. Front desk greeting upon arrival was terrific. At breakfast, someone asked how everything was. When we said we needed more pillows, they radioed for someone to bring the pillows right away.
Nice outdoor pool with ample seating. Water was a bit cool.
Within walking distance of the beach (about two blocks), but hotel is not ON the beach and not oceanview. Many restaurants and stores within walking distance as well.
Taxi is ~$20 to Old San Juan.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

We stayed one night prior to our cruise. The location is great and the amenities are good. They provided a very nice cocktail party and a very nice breakfast the next morning with made to order omelets. The pool area was nice as well as the suites. Great value for the price! If you want to go to Old San Juan, it is about a ten minute taxi ride and about $19.00 each way.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emutennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

We usually stay at Embassy Suites because of the big rooms and free breakfast. The hotel itself is nice. The staff at the front desk was very helpful finding tours for us to attend which made things easy. The tours were fun. They have free internet in the lobby but its slow. The walk to the beach is not so nice, littered and the sidewalk crumbled, (of course that's not Embassy's fault but it leaves a bad impression). Once you're on the beach its good. The pool was very nice and the jacuzzi was good. The cab rides to get to the city cost 20 dollars. We spent 80 dollars a day on cabs. The buses were not reliable. At the end of our stay we were charged a hotel fee/resort fee. It was an added on fee to the paid in-full bill. For two rooms, that was an extra 400 dollars that I was not expecting. It might be related to staying where a casino is located (something we didn't use). There's a grocery store next door which was convenient.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAboudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago,illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

No matter solo, with family or friends, the embassy suites exceeded my expectations...For the price I was completely satisfied with their accomadations...A well balanced hotel..Not just your average coffee and donut comp breakfast, but a daily made to order comp breakfast, which saves a lot if you're with children..The staff were great and the amenities plentiful...and if you are like most visitor's with a rental, for a reasonable daily fee, a parking lot with plenty of space which most hotels do not have...Just a short walk down the street to the beaches...What more can you ask for..

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitachicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

service was terribly slow and the rooms/lobby/pool definitely weren't as clean as we would have liked....the casino stinks so small and lame, the free breakfast is nasty milk is warm, few cereal options, sausage was nasty, pastries were weird, slow slow service for the omletes which were greasy, the scrambled eggs were dry and processed - totally not a healthy start tot he day with this breakfast. all the rooms are suite style which was the only nice part we liked because kids could stay up and watch tv in the other room while dad went to bed earlier...but if your suite faces the lobby be prepared for it to be LOUD at night with weddings/people in the lobby/atrium area because you can hear them talking/clinking glasses/music playing until at least 2am so that was not good. maid service takes forever to come...the first day it was 4pm they still hadnt come and so we called and they said theyd "put us on the list"....didnt end up coming until 730
the second night we suddenly all started getting a weird rash on different parts of our bodies...dad on his neck and crooks of his elbows, me on my legs and wrist....soon we realized it wasnt a sunrash (it had been raining that day) and none of us had used the hotel shampoo or anything because we packed our own...we thought it was maybe the hotel detergent but after some closer googling and webmd we realized that it was a rash from bites from bed mites! they totally dont clean the sheets (there was hair and wrinkles in the sheets the one night we got there, and we had to call to have the beds changed, it took a 1/2 hour for them to come) we checked out that day and switched hotels to the intercontinental SO MUCH BETTER

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lam012289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.5 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
16.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Address: 8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino is conveniently located just a short walk to the beautiful Isla Verde Beach. The newly renovated hotel is also very close to the Luis Munoz Marin Intl. Airport. It is the only all-suite hotel in the San Juan metropolitan area. All our suites have a living room and a separate bedroom. Our guests enjoy a free made-to-order breakfast every morning and two hours of complimentary drinks every evening from 5:30 to 7:30pm. The Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino recreational facilities include a Casino, a lagoon style outdoor pool, kids playground, restaurants and a beach concession at Isla Verde Beach with beach towels, chairs and umbrellas for our guests. We offer over twelve thousand square feet of flexible meeting space including our La Vista Room which over-looks the free-form pool and waterfalls, ideal for social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel And Casino
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Embassy Suite San Juan Puerto Rico
Embassy Suites Carolina
Carolina Embassy Suites
Embassy San Juan
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing