We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“aWESOME WITH KIDS OF ALL AGES ! HAD A GREAT SPRING BREAK !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Indianapolis IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“aWESOME WITH KIDS OF ALL AGES ! HAD A GREAT SPRING BREAK !”
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Only 2 short blocks from the beach. My kids 10-16-21 loved Happy hour because Ziion was able to have a kiddie cocktail lol.Every evening and enjoyed the tea at the front desk when coming back from an amazing day at the beach.Enjoyed the daily cooked to order breakfast saved money for a family of 5. Loved the pool area and laundry, Outback and Noble romans was all fantastic located in the Embassy. Not to mention the casino and game room we did not attend.. Beds slept well and room was cleaned and all our needs where met. We used there towels for the beach and they had no problem with that as we brought them back.I will go there everytime. Will say I stayed on the beach at one of the hotels for higher price and no breakfast,laundry or happy hour.The Jones family had a blast ! See ya soon. Woould like to see to omelet makers

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jones5fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    861
    377
    164
    79
See reviews for
1,011
612
64
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

I went to the Embassy Suites for the second half of a trip I took with my husband and teen daughter. My husband was sent with the army, so our daughter and I were on our own. After a less than desirable time in Ponce we were not expecting much when we went to San Juan. We were very excited to see that there was a bell hop immediately willing to help with out bags (which was good as we had the whole family's bags and some of the other army boy's bags.) We were able to check in early and the desk was very helpful and courteous during check in!

The loby is very nice! There is air conditioning, a large fish tank, palm trees, and nice brook with fish in it, a gazebo, and couches. The rooms are sufficient and the beds are pretty comfortable. We asked for a rolling bed for our daughter and got it in minutes. Our room was clean but I know some of the other boys had to have house keeping come to clean out some things when they checked into their rooms. The hotel itself is very clean, however.

The pool area is outstanding!! There is a large pool with a waterfall, a kiddie pool, and a hot tub. The pool deck has lots of palm trees and a fun little tunnel under the water fall that the kids liked to play in. The pool was a good temperature to cool off in. The hotel provided some floats for the kids to play on. The area itself was closed off to non-visitors by a lovely wooden fence and palm trees. (Much better then the chain fences many places use). The pool bar was pretty good (doesn't except cash) and the bar tender worked pretty fast and was very good at multi-tasking! The lounge chairs were plentiful and comfortable and there were several tables to put your things on. My family and I were very impressed with the pool area! The only two little things that I could mention need improvement is the outside shower didn't really work and the pool towels have seen better days.

The included breakfast is AMAZING! It included French toast, several meats, potatoes, all the continental breads, and made to order omelets and pancakes. I have paid 20 dollars per person at other hotels for breakfast of this caliber at hotels. One thing to note, it is hard to find seating and the line gets long after 830am, but we always got up early and napped by the pool after breakfast.

Happy hour is a nice touch! For two hours there are free drinks (alcoholic and non) and popcorn and chips and salsa. My teen really liked getting a fruit punch that looked like a rum punch and lounging at the pool with it!

Location is very good. Walking distance from anything in San Juan and about 5 min. drive to old San Juan. It's not on the beach, but we found the beach not to be too nice so that was fine for us.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danzer917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We stayed here for one night post cruise with our two kids ages 10 & 13. Although our room wasn't available at check-in time (we arrived around 9am), they stored our luggage immediately and felt safe leaving it. When we returned (after shopping) our room was ready. We paid $180USD for a spacious room with 1bdr (2 double beds, flat screen TV), living room (sofa, chairs, desk, flat screen, kitchen "area"), and a decent bathroom. Service at this hotel was friendly. Free wifi, free continental breakfast (with really great coffee). Our family of four had pizza for supper in one of the restaurants for $35USD including 3 bottles of water!! Cheapest meal we had the entire vacation off the cruise! Although this hotel is approximately 2-3 blocks from the beach, I would definitely stay here again. Loved the room layout, and for a family of four we found it to be quite spacious. We had stayed at El San Juan Waldorf Astoria for 4 nights prior to our cruise, and thought it was horrible. Would definitely stay at Embassy Suites again next time we're in San Juan.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novascotiamist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Hotel in a great area if you are familiar with Puerto Rico...near the airport and the main road # 2. Staff at the hotel were a pleasure,very helpful . the only thing I didn't like was when at the swimming pool area if you wanted a drink from the bar area you had to go inside bar.
The Bar at the pool side only open on saturday.....! suggeustion bar area needed to open 7days a week.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nenapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Stayed here one night pre-cruise. Very much a mixed bag. The good: They have a nice staff from bellmen, to front desk to pool bar servers. The pool area is very nice for kids- lots of areas they can lounge in, plenty of chairs. It is right next to the highway, but the fencing mutes much of the sound. Location is a quick trip from airport, also easy to walk over to beach and quick ride to cruise terminal. Free breakfast quick and perfectly adequate.

The bad: The room seemed clean upon first inspection, but when I took my shoes off the rug felt a little tacky. Then I noticed the kids' white socks were filthy on the bottoms from walking on the carpet. Yuck! The rest of the room was well maintained, but the carpet really grossed me out. We're hilton honors members so we stayed for free, but not sure I'd go back. Last year we stayed at Hampton Inn San Juan with hilton points and there were no cleanliness issues at all. The Embassy Suites has more room with the kids, but I think I'd opt for a different locale in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Things that I didn't see in other T.A. reviews:

(1) There are two pools, an adult pool, and a very shallow kids pool, really more of a toddler pool.
(2) The pools aren't heated, and can be quite cold on relatively chilly days.
(3) We traveled with two little ones and a nanny, and the suite was adequate size for us.
(4) Besides the Outback Steakhouse there is a Noble Romans with (yucky but edible) pizza, hot dogs, and coffee downstairs.
(5) Room overlooking the atrium can be noisy, but not all rooms overlook the atrium, so ask for one that doesn't. You might still, however, have a lot of street noise.
(6) The free booze at night attracts a rather white-trashy crowd. I'd much prefer if they had less alchohol and some real appetizers, instead of stale chips.
(7) Among the restaurants in easy walking distance are Pizza Hut, Taco Bell, KFC, Church's, Subway, Burger King, a Chinese place, a Puerto Rican place (great food, crappy service), Wendy's, and more. The front desk won't tell you about any of these places unless you ask.
(8) Don't rent a car to go to Old San Juan, parking is a huge hassle. But if you are going anywhere else, it's likely going to be cheaper to get a car on Hotwire than to take taxis.
(9) The area by the kids pool is right by the highway, plus there was a lot of construction noise, not so pleasant.
(10) Get to the buffet before 9 if you don't want a huge line.

All in all, we had a nice but not fantastic stay. I give the hotel slightly more than 3.5 stars based on value, but I'm sure there are much nicer hotels in San Juan, on the beach, with heated pools, less noisy, and so forth. But traveling with 3 adults, this hotel saved us from having to get two rooms, and we all got a nice free breakfast, so the tradeoff was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielbeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2010

My wife won our trip to PR so we didn't purposely select this hotel but I can't imagine it turning out any better. We had a great experience at this hotel.

The staff, in particular our concierge Melvin & guest manager Jose, were phemnominal in making sure we had everything we wanted / needed and more.

The hotel is in a great location to the beach, nighlife, local transit and good food. We will definately stay again on our next visit

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeandnoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
3.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,882 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Address: 8000 Tartak St., Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel & Casino is the only all-suite hotel in the San Juan Metropolitan area. The hotel is located steps from famed Isla Verde beach, or guests can relax at the hotel's free form lagoon style pool. Our guests enjoy great value with a free made-to-order breakfast and complimentary drinks at the evening reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
Embassy Suites San Juan Hotel And Casino
Embassy Suite San Juan Puerto Rico
Embassy Suites Carolina
Carolina Embassy Suites
Embassy San Juan
Embassy Suites By Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing