We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa del Sol
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Long Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Smelly!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

After deciding we need a hotel for just one more afternoon before out very late night flight we checked with the hotel we staying at (beautiful place nearby) and were disappointed they were all booked. I decided to book here for 1 night knowing that we just needed a place to relax and to shower before our flight. A total waste of money! The room was gross! It smelled terrible. It was musty, moldy and it seemed as though somebody sprayed something to try to cover it up. I was so thankful that this was not the hotel we booked for our vacation. I can not tell you how disgusting the smell was. In addition the wifi did not work in the room. I would never go back and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Lastly, I was not happy that the woman at the front desk made photo copies of both my drivers license and my credit card. I asked her to shred them in front of me when we were leaving and she refused. I am in no way comfortable with this place having my personal information on hand.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    36
    35
    21
    21
See reviews for
41
42
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I had an amazing experience at this hotel with my friends. Upon arrival, we were welcomed by a outstanding gentleman named Walter, who treated us like queens. Thanks Walter!!!

This hotel has a great location, very cozy and clean, and very welcoming staff. Will most definitely stay here again!

And for those who are complaining about the smoking, I personally stayed there all weekend and not once did I see any employees smoking. I'm a smoker myself and frequently went outside to smoke. IT IS NOT A BIG DEAL. It is legal after all, and if us outside, it shouldn't bother anybody. Don't be selfish.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovestrong89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The stay was nice except when we got to the front of the hotel,employees were smoking and had to walk between them very strong ordor and smoke. Our family does not smoke and we do not want our child exposed to cigarret smoke,very unprofessional. Unfortunately every time we walked to leave was one of the maid or Walter the front desk clerk smoking they are very good people but should have another smoking area. Guest have no reason to tolerate the smoke of employees. Car rent service is good and Nydia was good and willing help. If you do not smoke choose another hotel to spend your holy day

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morristow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Excellent room service. It was done fast and the room was cleaned in a neat way. The location for a small hotel competing with bigger ones located very near to it is excellent. The personnel is very nice and helpful and they also answer all the questions that you have.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trainer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Its a cute place in a good location. Right by the beach and restaurants. The people in reception were very nice. The pool is nice and they have a nice courtyard to relax. There were two issues-the carpet in the room was old and musty. It definitely needs to be replaced. I think tile would do better in that climate. Second, there was one pitiful light in the bathroom and it hardly gave off any light. It was like getting dressed in the dark. The bathroom was spotless but more light would have been appreciated. Overall, it is a nice hotel and has potential. Just get rid of the carpet.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LibragirlMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This was our first visit to San Juan. We were warmly welcomed by Walter, the multitasking clerk at the front desk and take care of each day. The breakfast was just right every morning. The grounds and hotel itself are spotless. The cleaning people go out of their way to clean the rooms promptly and spotless. The location is perfect ... away from the congestion of hwy 26, but close to everything. It was also great for walking to/from casinos and night life. Absolutely a great place to stay - come once and you'll be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barner_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Had a great experience, the employees were very friendly and helpful. Walter and Maria were so nice and Dominic at the Bar was also great! The rooms were nice and the pool area was very clean and relaxing! Would definitley return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank arimel92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Verde hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.4 mi away
Verdanza Hotel
Verdanza Hotel
#9 of 13 in Isla Verde
1,603 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#4 of 13 in Isla Verde
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playita
La Playita
#10 of 13 in Isla Verde
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
ESJ Azul
ESJ Azul
#11 of 13 in Isla Verde
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa del Sol

Property: Hotel Villa del Sol
Address: 4 Rosa Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Sol
Del Sol Hotel
Hotel Villa Del Sol Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing