We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ralph and Dawn from NY's favorite place to go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ralph and Dawn from NY's favorite place to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

This is our favorite place to go when we only have a few days to get away. It is located right on the beach. We have been coming here since we started dating over 8 years ago. The hotel is beautiful especially the lobby! I have never seen a lobby like this one! On weekends people from all over the island come here to dance, dance, dance! There are 4 jacuzzis and 3 beautiful pools. My favorite is the one with the waterfall and swim up bar! Every time we go there we talk to Frances at the front desk who always upgrades us to a beautiful room overlooking the ocean! She is very helpful and more than accommodating! This past Columbus Day weekend, she upgraded us to a beautiful sweet with the most breathtaking view of the ocean! It was so spectacular that we got engaged there within the first few minutes! Now we are planning our wedding there because we wouldn't want it anywhere else!

Room Tip: Speak to Frances before you book your room and she will definitely help you make the right decision!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,098
    837
    565
    319
    288
See reviews for
759
1,156
87
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (852)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

My sister and I stayed in August 2012 for 1 week. The rooms where very nice and clean the service was excellent.
My dear friend Angelo the doorman was exceptionally kind to us and very informative.
Angelo made our stay enjoyable, he had great conversation for us, since we both grew up in the same neighborhood in NYC. Angelo, my regards and Thank you again for being so, so, nice to us and always greeting us with your SMILE.

Room Tip: $$$$ bring money, this resort is pricey but nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Just arrived back from a 3 night stay. I'm a little confused by some of the reviewers when they say the "rooms are beautiful" because they are certainly not. I very rarely write poor reviews and in most cases people are much more critical than me when it comes to hotels.

The Rooms

The rooms are dirty and the furniture is outdated. I haven't seen a bathroom that dirty in a hotel ever. Mold is all over the shower floor and the ceiling is falling apart. One morning we were awoken by a cockroach crawling around in the bathroom (we switched rooms after that experience and received a $50 credit to the hotel bill). The staff is friendly, but you can tell they have a cockroach infestation as the lady didn't seem a bit surprised by this and never apologized. The linens on the bed, however, seemed clean and the beds were very comfortable.

The Hotel

The grounds and lobby of the hotel are acceptable. The pools were fine and the beach is beautiful. Not sure if it's every weekend, but they had 2 piano players every night on Thurs-Sat which were absolutely atrocious. My friends and I could not even have a drink at the lobby bar because these guys sung for 3 hours every night off pitch. The lobby should at least invest in some better entertainment.

The food is pretty poor all over the hotel, from the restaurants to the poolside eating. The only redeeming quality is the over-priced Italian restaurant which is decent, but not worth $35 entrees (I eat cheaper even in NYC!)

The club inside the hotel is actually quite good if you're into that sort of thing. Nice, pretty, young things are crawling all around the hotel at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanwilkerson, Front Office Manager at El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are glad our friendly staff was able to help improve your stay. We’re very sorry you were disappointed in the look and feel of your room. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we will take your comments into consideration as we continually work to improve our on-property experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

kind Regards

Susan.wilkerson@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

My husband and I stayed for four nights and our experience overall was good. The front desk, housekeeping and bar staff were very good. The servers were hit or miss and they did not have enough to accomodate all the guests on the beach. The hotel was mostly clean, but the rooms are beat up a bit and on the small side. Our first room's furniture was nicked and the floor warped so we had to push the door open every time we entered. We had two rooms of loud guests next to us and after two nights of it requested a new room. Since were are Hilton Honors Gold we were moved to a suite. I will say I am surprised this is considered a Waldorf Astoria property if you evaluate the hotel overall. The lobby is beautiful, nice beach and the pool areas very nice, but some of the room furnishings need replacing. The property was loaded with groups of twentysomethings who were drunk and loud at times. We got the feeling the word was this property was a party place. We knew before from reviews that the lobby area tended to get loud and partylike, but that didn't happen during our visit. They had two piano players booked during our stay and it definitely wouldn't appeal to a young crowd so that may be why. Would we stay here again? Not sure. While we aren't stuffy yet, we did tire of the loud, drunk groups --been there, done that. Combined with some needed updating of the room and public areas we may go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdandmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanwilkerson, Front Office Manager at El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - especially when comments help us to identify ways we can improve. I understand that noise from other guests was an issue during your stay; while we do have additional security and overnight managers available during high traffic periods - we regret that noise was disruptive to you. I apologize that you're comfort was interrupted by other guests and I have shared your review with our security team. I am glad to hear you were satisfied with your new room and apologize for the issues surrounding your original room assignment. While we are in the same family as the Waldorf, we are not under their brand and cannot speak to how their standards would be compared to our property. I do hope the next time you return to the area you will consider staying with us again so we can show you the quality service and experience you expect and deserve from our brand.

Susan.wilkerson@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for his 65th Birthday. It was one of the best places we have been. The hotel is such a breathtaking place and the staff is so warm and attentive. Ellaine at the front desk welcomed us during our arrival, she was so eager to do anything for us as well as completing all of our requests. We were upgraded for free to the Junior suite, had a small fridge in a room upon our request. The beach and pool area exceeded our expectations. Needless to stay we didn't want to leave! Location of the hotel is great, lots of shops, restaurants and a supermarket in a walking distance. We contacted Susan Wilkerson prior to our arrival and she was super nice to help and make sure our vacation exceed our expectation and it did!!! Thank you Susan, Ellaine and all the hotel staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Only issue I had was the room floors aren't carpeted which makes it uncomfortable in the early morning especially if the A/C is on and if the floor are wet that is a dangerous issue.
Overall great spot the mall is 15 minute away, Old San Juan about 20 min via Bus (.75). Bueatiful Beach, and pool area. Food a bit pricey but definity good old fashion Spanish food.

Disregard the negative reviews and visit for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rudeboi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

We had nice stay here. It is very trendy and the dress code is dressy. Our room was beautiful, but lacking some things. Not the standard I am used to as a Diamond member with Hilton Honors. Like, no in room coffee, our bathroom wasn't clean. Housekeeping did come clean it upon our request though. The pools and the proximity to the ocean were highlights. We felt very safe and comfortable here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
4.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,769 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,630 reviews
3.5 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 6063 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-5706, Puerto Rico (Formerly El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront hotel surrounded by 15 acres of landscaped grounds in fashionable Isla Verde district - 15 minutes from Old San Juan. El San Juan Hotel presents a perfect blend of tropical splendor, Old World elegance and vibrant culture. Redesigned guest rooms are bright and inviting - ideal for a retreat. Lounge at the beach or on the expansive pool featuring flowering gardens, and spacious sundeck, Olympic-sized pool, Fantasy swimming pool with swim-up bar, waterfall and whirlpools, private cabanas for rental or relax and rejuvenate at the spa. Enjoy a vibrant and varied nightlife, choosing from nine on-site award winning restaurants, plus lounges, bars and nightclubs. One life to live? Live it up at El San Juan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El San Juan Resort And Casino
El San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
El San Juan Hotel Casino
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carolina
El San Juan Hotel Puerto Rico
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection By Hilton Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing