We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Traveled here for business Our room was directly off the elevator , so we asked and got a different room. We got a room two floors lower and it had mold all over the Windows. We went and asked for a third room and we were told the hotel was totally booked I mentioned that we did not mind paying extra for a better room We were told none was available at any price. So we took the "elevator room ".

This room had a lot of issues No heat Room never got over 60 degrees even with heat set on 90 We asked the cleaning staff and they called maintenance the next morning. Room was Very noisy from the elevator returns , but we powered threw 5 days no heat and noise. Bathroom door never closed Slider broken. No cold water. Just scalding hot but Floors 6 and below have opposite issue ( lol) We were at the same convention and paid 508 dollars a night for a crappy room when others paid 304 for their crappy room. Guess the higher up the more expensive No view to speak of except ratty , moldy roof Internet spotty at best Shower leaked horribly , but lots of towels to mop it up with No coffee makers , no fridge Few drawers

The pros of the hotel Nice bed ( but cold , lol) pools just ok Bar tenders were excellent My husband doesn't drink and they made him his virgin daquaries and never complained

To sum it up rooms a one star and amenities 3 so went with 2 rating You are paying for the hotel location and a nice beach

I would not stay here again because I like warm clean rooms even if I don't spend a lot of time

Room Tip: Old hotel. Not sure there are any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahi M, Front Office Manager at El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
On behalf of the management and staff we’d like to thank you for your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your business and thank you for selecting our hotel. At the same time we are disappointed to learn of your mixed feelings, as we always like to ensure that our guests feel cared for, valued and respected, which is our brand promise. Our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority and I assure you that we will definitely take your comments into consideration so that we may find ways to improve our hotel.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope that we may welcome you again in the future.

Sincerly,

Sarahi Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,098
    837
    565
    319
    288
See reviews for
759
1,156
87
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (852)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

First and foremost the concierge staff was extremely pleasant.. My room which was located in a adjacent property was nice as well. However, it all went down hill after check-in.. On my second day, housekeeping stole a bottle of perfume from my room. The iron in my room was not working. While attend a conference, I was served with the worst food you could possibly eat. It made McDonald/Burger King food look like a gourmet meal... lastly, the night before I was leaving my room key didn't work at all... After calling the front desk a total of 3 times, security finally came with the key... I will only recommend this hotel for nightlife nothing further!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NIREYES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahi M, Front Office Manager at El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I was glad to read from your review that you found our staff to be pleasant and that you enjoyed your room; however, I understand that in some other areas we fell short of you expectations. Please accept our sincere apology if your bottle of perfume went missing while staying with us. We want you to know that we have taken this very seriously and are taking all the necessary steps to thoroughly investigate this incident. Our customers’ personal property is always respected and I sincerely apologize if this caused you any inconvenience.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. If I can be of further assistance please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerly,
Sarahi Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I have read a lot of the reviews of the El San Juan Hotel here and it seems that there are really two types of reviews here: people who heavily criticize the service and particularly the quality of the rooms; and people who rave about the service and the location of the property. How to reconcile these two widely divergent views?

My opinion of the El San Juan has been based upon several visits to the property over the last decade and a half, most recently a stay with my family over Thanksgiving Weekend, 2013. In my opinion, the location cannot be beat: the hotel is blessed to be located on a fantastic beach front property with other high end hotels and many restaurant and bar options located nearby. The several pools are strategically located and are interesting in their design. The lobby of the hotel is one of the most unique that I have ever encountered with such fantastic nightlife occurring there and the classic look of the place.

Many people have commented on poor service. We were very concerned about this after reading the many reviews critical of the front desk and other service staff. I have to say that I was preparing to experience poor service and having to argue and push our way to getting the service that we paid for. However, I experienced nothing but the very finest in service from all of the hotel staff, starting with the front desk: from Juan Carlos (who checked us in) and Jonathan who checked on us by phone after we settled in. Susan Wilkerson should be especially praised for her extremely upbeat nature and helping to answer all of our questions and make sure that we enjoyed our stay. I think that she and others are aware of some of the concerns expressed here and are doing their very best to make sure that future customers experience a high level of service.

In fact, every element of service that we encountered during our entire stay was absolutely top notch from the bellmen to the restaurant staff and everyone in between. Where were all of these rude service members that reviewers had written of? I don't know. Perhaps they were off duty during our stay. I can say that I went out of my way to encounter service providers at different parts of the hotel operation and found nothing but excellence, professionalism and over the top customer service.

I can only guess that the quality of the rooms is the thing that is giving people a bad taste in their mouths about their stay. We were lucky to stay in one of the ocean front lanai rooms, and it was fantastic! Our room had a refrigerator in it and a wonderful balcony that faced the ocean. I understand that the ocean front and garden lanai rooms are the newest and most up to date maintenance wise, but I could be wrong on this assumption. I do know that we noticed none of the room quality issues in the lanai that some of the other reviewers commented on who were staying in the main tower.

I definitely think that Hilton should take note of the bad reviews here about the quality of the rooms not being up to Hilton standards and immediately do something about it. They should spend the necessary money to renovate and upgrade their standard rooms and do it immediately so as not to lose the loyalty of their customer base. The policy regarding refrigerators in the rooms is absolutely absurd and needs to be changed immediately. Paying $25 to have a refrigerator delivered to your room is an insulting offense and is enough alone to ruin a hotel stay. I experienced this during our stay in 2006 and remember this as being one of the most bizarre hotel practices that I have ever heard of. In this century every hotel from the finest of luxury down to the budget stay hotels are expected to have refrigerators in the rooms at no extra charge.

One more comment: the El San Juan Hotel contains two of the best restaurants that I have ever been to! I will write separate reviews for each, but the La Piccola Fontana and Meat Market Miami were unbelievable dining experiences and meals that we will not soon forget. The dining options alone are reason enough to stay at the El San Juan!

There is no doubt in my mind that we will be back to stay at the El San Juan!

Room Tip: Book the garden or oceanfront lanai rooms. They are better values and are perhaps maintained better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mugro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lago Vista, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel id conveniently located by the airport. It has a nice beach and pool area. There is a convenience store in close walking distance that has great prices and good hot food to order in or out. The hotel is clean and comfortable. It is an older property that has recently been updated. The lobby had nightly entertainment and a casino. We would definitely recommend this place if you need and airport layover or a cruise ship buffer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank loeeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

I just finished a mileage run that put me at a Hilton property.
The reviews had me very leery of this property but I found it up
to Hilton standards. The front desk and concierge were extremely helpful,
the room very clean with a great view. I recommend this property.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank coastda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Pros: The beds are great with down pillows and comforters. The mattresses sleep well and the air conditioner works great. No crowding in pools. Lounge was very nice and created a great ambience for sitting and talking. Close to other restaurants outside grounds. Nice Bar-B-Q restaurant on roof (10th floor).

CONS: The hotel lobby is nice and the common areas are groomed; however, the rooms are dated with dirty curtains hiding behind the really bright colored chiffon (?) curtain sheers. The rust is piling up and the overhead doors to bathrooms have been battered quite a bit with sheetrock and paint off in chips (lots of them across the whole doorway). Our door to the bathroom did not close so it was good that I was traveling with my husband only. The views are really non existent due to the architect. Wearing a theme park like band to go out to the beach is a bit much like feeling you are in a theme park so the security guard can let you back in on the grounds. Why not a room key? The wet bar at the swimming pool closed as soon as we got in about 5:00pm and it would have been nice at night. There was virtually no place to hang a swim suit to dry or anything like it. You could only check out beach towels during the day and if you returned them after closing, you were suppose to call the beach towel section and tell them that you put them in the dirty clothes bin or you would be charged. Honor system? Also, the check -in clerks took forever (10-20minutes) to get people checked in with 4 people attending. Seems like there were always issues with whatever was being done. If you are flying out and want to weigh your luggage for the 50 lbs max, save your breath for asking staff and go to the 10th floor work-out area (gym) and weigh your own bags. All of the staff knew nothing of this scale and sent our luggage to be weighed on the freight scales but could not guarantee they would be right. We could of saved a tip because we were overweight by the scales in the gym and adjusted accordingly. The airlines scales were same as gym scales, not freight scales. No breakfast included nor complimentary coffee. NO COFFEE AVAILABLE until 6am at Starbucks on site and no other place close by for early airline flights. There was no cold coffees in the convenience stores either.

Room Tip: No noise on 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandStyleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahi M, Front Office Manager at El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
On behalf of the management and staff we’d like to thank you for your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your business and thank you for selecting our hotel. At the same time we are disappointed to learn of your mixed feelings, as we always like to ensure that our guests feel cared for, valued and respected, which is our brand promise. Our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority and I assure you that we will definitely take your comments into consideration so that we may find ways to improve our hotel.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope that we may welcome you again in the future.

Sincerly,

Sarahi Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Here for a convention at $304.00 a night! Unbelievable price given the condition of the rooms. Damp smell just never went away. Minimalist furniture and a tiny tv. Horribly slow WiFi in the rooms!

I hope next year's convention is in a different hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahi M, Front Office Manager at El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your review. I understand that you were dissatisfied with our prices and that you found them to be too expensive. I sincerely apologize for this and assure you that we do all we can to create a great experience for each one of our guests. We are actively looking for ways keep costs low and offer enhanced services for your comfort and convenience and will definitely keep you review in mind.

Again, I do thank you for your review and sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may have gone through. I hope that the next time you are in the area, please consider staying with us at again.

Sincerly,

Sarahi Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,113 reviews
4.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,769 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,630 reviews
3.5 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 6063 Isla Verde Avenue, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-5706, Puerto Rico (Formerly El San Juan Resort & Casino, A Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#4 Casino Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront hotel surrounded by 15 acres of landscaped grounds in fashionable Isla Verde district - 15 minutes from Old San Juan. El San Juan Hotel presents a perfect blend of tropical splendor, Old World elegance and vibrant culture. Redesigned guest rooms are bright and inviting - ideal for a retreat. Lounge at the beach or on the expansive pool featuring flowering gardens, and spacious sundeck, Olympic-sized pool, Fantasy swimming pool with swim-up bar, waterfall and whirlpools, private cabanas for rental or relax and rejuvenate at the spa. Enjoy a vibrant and varied nightlife, choosing from nine on-site award winning restaurants, plus lounges, bars and nightclubs. One life to live? Live it up at El San Juan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El San Juan Resort And Casino
El San Juan Hotel Isla Verde
El San Juan Hotel Casino
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carolina
El San Juan Hotel Puerto Rico
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection By Hilton Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing