We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy little corner in San Juan Puerto Rico”
Review of La Playita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Playita
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy little corner in San Juan Puerto Rico”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent the weekend here the first weekend in September and loved it. The staff is very friendly and the location is great. They even walked us to our room. Right on the water. Breakfast is continental on the deck that faces the ocean. They even had a cooler in your room that you can use to take to the beach and also a fridge in the room. The room was very clean and the parking is free. This is a nice place to have a nice getaway right in the middle of all the expensive hotels. Will definitely be going back here again soon.

Room Tip: The doors have a tricky was to lock but they show you that when you go to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    60
    21
    19
    8
See reviews for
26
79
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This place is right on the tip of a little point in Isla Verde. There is a beach on both sides of you. The hotel is very cute and feels like a beach hotel. Most of the hotels in Isla Verde look like they belong in Las Vegas. This hotel is SO cute. The restaurant is incredible (and VERY expensive) but very good food.( try the mofongo...mmmm.) The help was also amazing. Everyone who worked at this hotel was so nice, all the time. anything you needed was their pleasure. The restaurant has a beach view/deck and a really nice bar. Parking can be interesting as its a the end of a dead end street, but other than that, the beach is literally steps away. They offer yoga on the rooftop, and the rooms were VERY clean. Definitely stay here if you have the chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msfixit21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I just stayed here for 4 days. The staff was so friendly and helpful. It's right across the street from the beach. There is a bar/restaurant that is literally on the water. Our room was small and strangely shaped, but the furniture and bathroom felt new. There is yoga in the roof twice a day. We were very happy with this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

If you have a car better find hotel with normal parking.Parking lot is away from hotel and no room to turn, the guy who manage parking lot advised me to park right on the street beside hotel, morning I found out scratch on my car horizontal al the way down right side of car. We called police, they have camera, but manager of hotel didn't care of it, nobody assumed the responsibility for damage. Finally the owner said the camera doesn't show anything. The staff friendly till you ask them to do something. Room is dirty, no extra toilet paper, tissues, you have to ask for it. They don't change towels if you do not drop them down to floor.They didn't mop floor at all, we saw cockroach right middle of the room. We paid for excellent room what was on pictures, but when we arrived they gave us this dirty room, because they didnt have any other. Anyway this is not cheap hotel, stay in beautiful hotel for same price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badexperienc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived to San Juan late at night an had booked Hotel La Playa because of its close location to the airport. When we got there Julio did not have our reservation written down even though I had emailed him weeks prior and called him to confirm the day before we arrived. They didn't have a room for us so they put us in a room that had been rented by a person who left without returning the key. They told us it was fine...but lock the inside chain just in case. The next morning we were woken up to someone trying to open the door. The desk called up quickly there after apologizing for the disturbance and wondering why we were in the room.
The room itself was nice exempt for the cockroach on the bathroom floor and the men working on the adjacent building staring into our window when we opened the shades.
The only good thing I have to say was that the location is right on the beach. End of story, we checked out early and made our way to another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We enjoyed the included breakfasts in the open air deck restaurant. Bagels, cereal , fresh fruit , OJ & coffee all very good. It was a pleasant way to start the day with the wonderful ocean breeze & beautiful view. Everyone is very nice & friendly. Alberto lent us a dive flag for safety when he noticed that we were going snorkelling. He gave us great tips on where to go. Glad we stayed here !

Room Tip: Room 207 has a beautiful view of the ocean and beach to the right (the Ritz Carlton side). Nice big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MELUVBEACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just returned from a 5 day trip in San Juan. Hotel La Playa was amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I'd like to say the hotel was authentic and a nice, local spot. Lots of police patrol the area, making it a very safe location. In walking distance to everything, yet far enough away from the tourists and traffic. Shares beach with major hotels such as El San Juan Resort and the Ritz Carlton so you are able to mingle with others. Nice price for a overall great trip!

P.S Carlos at the bar makes delicious coconut drinks

Room Tip: No swimming pool nor fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.7 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#3 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ESJ Azul
ESJ Azul
#11 of 13 in Isla Verde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
4.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playita

Property: La Playita
Address: 6 Calle Amapola, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7244, Puerto Rico (Formerly Hotel La Playa)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 15-room motel-style hotel, restaurant and bar in Isla Verde - only 5 minutes from San Juan's airport. Only 10 steps to the best beach in San Juan from our front door. La Playita restaurant and bar on ocean-front deck for fantastic views. New 'Miami-style' design and decor feature new beds, flat-panel cable TV, air conditioning, new bathrooms and complementary continental breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your La Playita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Playa Hotel
La Playa Carolina
La Playita Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing