We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Very very nice rooms with Adequate size, King size bed and nicely designed. The view, if you get a room with, is spectacular overlooking the palm tree lined beach of Isla Verde. Even the rooms with a partial views is also great. The rooftop pool is small but prefect for cooling off and stearing out at the ocean and beach from eleven floors up while enjoying a cocktail from The rooftop bar which is also awesome in the day and at night.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank I-like2GoNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hola! Glad to read your comments! Isn't Mist just awesome? The view, the breeze, the music, the cocktails! We could not agree with you more! Come back soon; we'll be waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    433
    108
    39
    20
See reviews for
145
756
86
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

First off, there is no "&" in the name - it's just San Juan Water Beach Club. The service is fantastic. They do everything they can to make you comfortable and happy. The style is all me - white and blue contemporary and chic. Right on the beach. Rooftop bar and pool is beautiful. My only complaints are: lighting in the room was very tough for applying makeup and shaving and there is a lot of noise outside at night from all the partiers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathleenTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hey there! Thanks for your drop-by and awesome review. We are happy that your overall experience was a great one! FYI, we do have a project in progress to work on lighting and mirrors so we hope to have that under wraps soon!
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hmmm....where do I begin?

Lodging:
Not very fancy but pretty comfortable. The blue light can be excessive, but it fits with the theme. The restaurant downstairs is pretty good. The lounge upstairs is nice as well. If you stay on the upper floors, prepare yourself to hear music in to the evening. The power went out a few times during our stay. Cable froze a couple times. On the merit of the hotel only, I would probably give this place three stars.

Service:
Everyone was super nice. We enjoyed being able to order drinks while sitting on the beach. The guys handling the beach chairs and umbrellas were great. The ladies working the hotel/bar/check-in service were :ahem:.... lovely (this is indicative of Puerto Rico really.) If you're married, be mindful of your eyes. Lol

Food:
So, room service is generally expensive and not that spectacular. However, I have reason to believe that the food is prepared by the restaurant downstairs (Zest.) It was delicious; Not just regular delicious, but possibly the best food we ate while in Puerto Rico. Best hotel food ever. The steak (dinner menu) was amazing. The only drawback is that they stop serving food at 10PM.

Location:
It's right on the beach, but not really close to much. Be prepared to take a taxi to everywhere you want to go. A taxi to/from Old San Juan is about $21.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Randmness86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your informative feedback. We are very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your gracious words are really appreciated We accept and use all comments offered- the pros and the cons- as tools to know what we are doing right and where we can improve, equally important is our ability to deliver to you what a true SJWB Club Hotel experience is all about, with that said; we hope to welcome you back!
All the best,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I enjoyed a short stay at this hotel last week and it was incredible. The staff was very welcoming and energetic. The decor had a Miami feel to it and the rooms were very modern. Most of the hotel lighting was neon which made the stay very fun. Mist lounge- the rooftop pool area has a stunning view of the area. The restaurant was the absolute best part of our stay! The food was spectacular and full of various flavors. We had the popcorn soup, the sea bass and haute chocolate dessert all of which were exquisite ♡. By far the best experience in isla verde! I will be making this my hotel of choice for future vacations and would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krodriguez7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
By far the best experience in Isla Verde is good enough for us! See you soon.
My best,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Magnificent hotel along with very contemporary decor. Walking into the hotel, you get a very modern vibe. The beach front view is stunning. Roof top pool and the lounge area is very relaxing. Zest- hotel's very own fancy and boutique restaurant is a must experience. Amazing food and desserts! Staff was very caring and friendly. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vabverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
And we love you more for the fiver stars and those amazing words! Thank you and see you soon.
My best,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Immediately upon entering you are stunned by the beautiful decor of the hotel. If you ask. E it reminds me a little of Miami.The staff was super helpful and explained everything the hotel has to offer. Our room was a partial ocean view which was surprising because I didn't choose that. But of course I'm not complaining because it was beautiful. The hotel is right in front of a beach so you just walk over get your complimentary towel, beach chair, and umbrella. Then you can spend the entire day on the beach frolicking in the warm water or tanning. While on the beach they have staff that comes by and serve you food if your interested. The food in the hotel is a little pricey, but I would suggest eating there at least once. Both the rooftop bar and restaurant downstairs are very popular.

If your looking for mostly relaxation and some entertainment I would definitely suggest this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Java S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking your time in writing this review. It is always a great feeling to hear positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please try and return real soon and let me know when you do; I want to try and get the fifth star on your next review!
Warm regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Loved the boutique, art deco feel of this hotel! The hotel was super modern, sophisticated, and sleek. We originally booked an ocean view hotel but once we checked in, we were not impressed with the poor closet space so we decided to upgrade to the suite which was SUPER. Even though it was on the expensive side, we fell in like with the amazing glass door closet with more than enough space for two people. The beds were so comfy and large. Sleeping at night on one of these beds to the sound of the ocean was magical. The only thing that my boyfriend and I did not like was the air conditioner-it was too strong and our first night we woke up to a freezing room! But once we figured out how to work the air conditioner it was okay.
Also, even though the blue lighting is a cool look for the room, after awhile, I thought it was a little too much (felt like I was going a tad bit crazy) and also not the ideal lighting for makeup!
Another thing we did not like at all was the BREAKFAST. The food was stale and over priced. My boyfriend tried to pick up a croissant and the entire tray of croissant lifted off the plate, essentially all being stuck together. That's disgusting! By the last day, we walked into town and had a decent Puerto Rican breakfast that was much more satisfying at a lesser price.
Things we LOVED: literally waking up and walking right on the beach was fantastic! Someone was there to provide chairs, towels, and an umbrella. Also, the rooftop was MY favorite part. Again, the art deco design was wonderful with views of the ocean. The tapas bar was also a plus on the rooftop. Only thing, the drinks were weak...
The staff were all young, good looking, and full of energy! Very friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel to a couple looking for a mini-vacation on the beach, with a relaxed, refined atmosphere.
My boyfriend and I definitely plan on coming back-hopefully they tweak their breakfast by that time.

Room Tip: Beware of very limited closet space in all the rooms except for the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and our attentive staff; our aim is to deliver just that experience. We look forward to your next visit and hopefully you may enjoy the tweaking on our breakfast menu.
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,206 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,058 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
3.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
18.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Property: San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel, a unique boutique property just steps from one of Puerto Rico’s hottest beaches – Isla Verde Beach, the ultimate playground for grownups. The perfect combination of comfort and style, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, MIST ROOFTOP Bar+Kitchen provides a unique rooftop experience for relaxing with friends and enjoying appetizing casual food and refreshing cocktails – all complemented by soothing lounge beats, fresh ocean air and breathtaking panoramic vistas of the Atlantic Ocean. ZEST Restaurant, where community, culture and local flavors mix with a relaxed atmosphere to celebrate Puerto Rican cuisine. A warm, vibrant decor combining the elements—earth, wind, fire and water— creates a sociable ambiance where you can enjoy delicious culinary delights and a creative selection of well-crafted cocktails and wines. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing