We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Sachse, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed her for our 20th anniversary! We didn't want to stay at a resort, we wanted a boutique hotel on the beach! This was a great choice! The people we super friendly and helpful. The "cabana" boy on the beach was awesome, and they come around to take drink and food orders. We stayed on the 5th floor, the first night we could here some music from the roof, but it wasn't horrible. We stayed in a room with a partial ocean view..if you want to see the ocean, choose the ocean view rooms. The partial was really more of the roofs of the buildings below...the ocean part was minimal. The beds were a little hard, and I like down pillows, which the didn't have. :(
The hotel has a very mini W vibe...we enjoyed it.
We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Choose the ocean room, wish we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherCalvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hola Heather:
We love to hear from our guests and really appreciate your feedback.
We are so happy that you chose us to celebrate your 20th Anniversary; THANK YOU!
Enjoy many more years to come and come back to visit whenever you want to create more memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    433
    108
    39
    20
See reviews for
144
756
86
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I am so happy that I chose this hotel over some of the other larger, resort style options in the area. From the moment we walked in, we were met with a friendly front desk woman who not only allowed us to check in early but also upgraded our room free of charge since there were unexpected availabilities with a partial ocean view. The decor of this hotel is adorable and similar to that of the South Beach, art deco style. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The "Wish Board" is a creative idea and one which the staff follow through on daily.
The food both upstairs on the pool deck and downstairs in the nice, sit-down restaurant have great food and throughout the hotel I was also impressed with all of the bartenders.
The pool lounge area is smaller with only 6 chairs, but the view is spectacular and it is a nice alternative to the beach.
***I would highly recommend this hotel for the unbelievable customer service**
Every time we encountered a staff person, either in the hallway, elevator or other location, we were ALWAYS greeted with a smile, asked if we were satisfied and offered assistance if needed.
I have traveled quite extensively throughout my life and cannot recall ever having experienced such consistent customer service and genuinely pleasant hotel staff. They were exceptionally accommodating and very helpful in offering local suggestions. The concierge in particular was great. I cannot remember her name but she took the time to show us all of our options and mark a map of various attractions and restaurants, as well as local gems.

I really feel this hotel helped make our stay even more enjoyable and would absolutely return to this hotel, my next time in PR.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirena2992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hola Sirena:

What can we say? WOW! What beautiful words! You definitely lived what we want each guest to live: "THE WBC GUEST-CENTRIC EXPERIENCE". That's what we strive for each day.
Happy to hear you'll come back!

Drop-by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

my husband and I found a good deal online and booked this hotel for our 5 day trip. Great service, the entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Nice view of the beach from our room too! We really enjoyed our stay here and our trip to Puerto Rico. Whenever we get to go back again (hopefully soon) we will def be staying here!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rida R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hola Rida:

Thank you for your fabulous comments! We are always happy to hear that we did our job in terms of making your stay great! You and your husband come back soon!
Drop-by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you can get a deal via 3rd part site, then this is a great deal compared to area properties. Hidden, with a boutique feel, very hip & "modern" setting. But in a great location right on the beach. Rooms were clean and service was good. The rooftop pool and lounge is a great place to relax if you don't want to hit the beach. Only complaint was the "creative" set up of the room we had...the bed was essentially in the middle of the room. I guess it's an issue of preference...but made the room cramped. Best for couples/younger folks. Don't stay on upper floors if you have kids or expect to sleep before 12am. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldwideSauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hola! Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It always makes us happy to read our guests' take on our hospitality! Welcome back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a boutique hotel with clean rooms, but certainly not 4 star. They nickel and dime you for everything. and it is not a hotel for families. They will charge you extra for more than one bed in the room, and they will charge you for parking saying it is not operated by them. Their roof top pool is a joke, to get an additional star. No major hotel flag would classify them as 4 star. Stay away!

If however you are in a rush and need only a single bed, the smallish room will probably suffice, although you will wonder why they claim to be 4 star.

Room Tip: If you are with family, pls ask for a room with 2 beds - ofcourse expect to pay extra 25-40%
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beachbuddy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Jay:
We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize if your stay with us did not meet up to your expectations. It's sad for us to read that because we certainly strive to deliver our very best to all our guests. Although families are very welcomed, we are a boutique hotel and we do recognize that our style and ambiance may not be the most adequate for children. Rooms with 2 Beds are limited and we do charge a premium for this category. Regarding the valet parking prices, as with most hotels, if not all, in Puerto Rico, parking lots are outsourced to a third party and the hotel does not administer their pricing. That said, we do conduct frequent price comparisons to ensure that our provider remains competitive in our market. We apologize for any inconvenience; Our doors always open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My boyfriend and I started our 10 day Puerto Rico vacation with a two night stay at the San Juan Water and Beach Club. We opted for this hotel because we wanted a boutique hotel experience on the beach. While the Miami club vibe theme isn't really our thing, we did appreciate the modern touches and friendly staff.

The rooms are a good size with a TV and modern bathroom. The rooms could use a little updating, and the bathroom, while updated, could have used a more thorough cleaning. There is a blue light that illuminates the entire room, and it can be turned off if it's distracting.

The beach was amazing. Their helpful staff set up chairs and an umbrella for us (included in the price of our stay), and there are a few beach front bars nearby to get a snack or drink.

Their restaurant Zest was a particular highlight, with a great wait staff and delicious entrees. The sea bass was amazing, and my boyfriend really enjoyed his steak. They have a beautiful rooftop bar/restaurant that we didn't have a chance to enjoy, but definitely a highlight of the property.

Thanks to their concierge for helping us find a reputable rental car company for the next leg of our trip and for offering additional travel planning advice.

If you're interested in visiting Old San Juan or Condado, keep in mind that Isla Verde is a $20 cab ride away. The advantage of Isla Verde is the great beach (which the other two neighborhoods are lacking), but something to consider if you're planning to do a lot of exploring.

Room Tip: Based on other Trip Advisor reviews we requested a room on a lower level to avoid the rooftop noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mz164802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hola! Thank you for your review; what great recommendations for us and to other travelers! We'll definitely share your fantastic comments of the cuisine at Zest with our staff. We are happy to have been a part of your 10 day trip to Puerto Rico. Hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is very nice hotel, chic in design, the room was very nice and the STAFF was the BEST!!! There were two things I didn’t like that was the location, we had to take a 40-50min bus ride to the other locations like Condado and Old San Juan AND the air conditioner on the top level was leaking causing a dripping noise. But other than that it was worth the price paid. There is a club on the top level with a nice lounge and pool, easy ocean access. There is a Bar/ restaurant on the first floor that had a good bartender ( Jose').

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betsy M, Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Danielle:
Hola! Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are happy you had a great stay. Our staff is always here to assist you! On your next visit, we will gladly make recommendation on the best times to avoid traffic to help you out with your off-property plans and make sure you do not spend that much time on commute. Drop-by again, real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,206 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,050 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
3.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
18.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Property: San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel, a unique boutique property just steps from one of Puerto Rico’s hottest beaches – Isla Verde Beach, the ultimate playground for grownups. The perfect combination of comfort and style, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, MIST ROOFTOP Bar+Kitchen provides a unique rooftop experience for relaxing with friends and enjoying appetizing casual food and refreshing cocktails – all complemented by soothing lounge beats, fresh ocean air and breathtaking panoramic vistas of the Atlantic Ocean. ZEST Restaurant, where community, culture and local flavors mix with a relaxed atmosphere to celebrate Puerto Rican cuisine. A warm, vibrant decor combining the elements—earth, wind, fire and water— creates a sociable ambiance where you can enjoy delicious culinary delights and a creative selection of well-crafted cocktails and wines. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing