We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Florida City, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The sea is clear in this great place.
The Club Hotel , one of my best experiences, in Puerto Rico!
I hope in few I will return with the kids to this nice place!
Food is ok,
I wish for all my friends this place ! :-)

Room Tip: Nice place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you...We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed our staff and service. I hope to see you again soon. Let me know when you are coming back so I can give you a warm welcome back.
Warmly,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    432
    108
    39
    20
See reviews for
144
756
86
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with family in mid August. Affordable hotel only a 5 min drive from the airport, directly on the beach. Staff was super helpful, friendly and took care of all our needs. Rooms are not huge, but was clean and had nice décor. Rooftop bar is nice with amazing views of the ocean and city. The pool is small, but the beach is 50 yards from the hotel. Beach attendants were great with setting up chairs and umbrellas, as well as getting us waitress service. Hotel is a short walk to El San Juan Hotel (Starbucks), Walgreens and a good bar/restaurant 'El Alambigue' along with many other options. Overall it was a good stay, was very cost effective and would return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time in writing your review. We always appreciate the feedback. We are so happy to hear your enjoyed your stay. We hope you have a chance to come back and see us again.
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent a few nights here and overall it was a great hotel. Nice easy access to beach and walkway right next to the hotel that brings you down by the street area where you can walk the city. Our room was ocean view so it was spectacular to sew first thing when you wake up in the a.m. they even give you beach towels and have a guy set up the chaira and unbrella for you. My only gripe is that our toilet ended up not flushing and had the guy come in not once but twice in one day. The smoke detector was out of it's place (fire hazard?) and the walls were a bit thin. We could hear the family's conversation next door clearly. It was a bit loud..The rooftop had a nice little dipping pool that overlooks the ocean. Overall we would be back..

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank leiskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you back, hopefully next time you can fully experience what the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel has to offer. Please contact me at vconcepcion@waterbeachhotel.com on your next return; I will be happy to be your WBC ally and make sure you have the best stay ever.
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

What a great Hotel. From the beginning we experienced nothing but pleasure. Juan was so responsive and helpful when we made our reservation and remembered us when we checked in. Lola, the concierge, was so helpful. Always full of ideas and always with a beautiful smile.
The location is perfect on one of the best beaches in San Juan. You simply walk out the door and there you are. The Beach Staff was always attentive and Mildred was always available to place your drink and food orders.

For those of you expecting the lap of luxury you need to know that this is a beach hotel. The rooms are cement and tile. The views are amazing. But they are clean and very hip...stylish.
The roof top bar was great. You're a block away from two Casino's and there are plenty of restaurants very near.

I can't say enough about our stay here. It was really one of the best vacations I've ever had and the staff was a big part of that.

As for the cost...this is an exceptional value in my book. To be literally on the beach...the price was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you so much! It was a pleasure to have you here and I hope you can make it back to The WBC very soon for another stay. I love it that you enjoyed our property, service and best of all our staff.
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I rely quite a lot on trip advisor reviews and this was my first big disappointment. I just don't understand all the great reviews.

On the positive side the location is great and the staff were good.

It is right across the road from the beach and the beach is beautiful. From what I saw I'd agree it's the nicest part of the beach in Isla Verde.

We booked a partial beach view room and I think were upgraded to a full view on check in. The view was amazing.

The room layout was a bit silly and net curtains all along the walls was strange and annoying. They were just in the way and were a bit grimy.

While settling in to the room we noticed a regular drip of water against the window that seemed to be coming from the air conditioner in the room above. There was an ugly brown smear on the window which suggested it wasn't just a temporary drip. The idea of listening to the sound for 5 nights wasn't fun so we called the front desk and asked for it to be looked at.

When it was determined nothing could be done we moved rooms. The second room was a bit bigger and the wifi worked much better so we were happy however both rooms were old and run down and not very clean. We kept our shoes on because the floors were so gritty.

The unusual decor in the rooms seems to be there just to distract from the condition. If there weren't the wacky blue lights and the random net curtains on every wall, aside from the amazing views, nice bed & flat screen tv it's pretty much like a cheap motel but at resort prices.

Both rooms, I assume all rooms had it, had a random pile of 3 books. Another silly decor distraction. I guess some people think it's cute and boutiquey but it sort of just highlighted the complete lack of storage in the room. I'm not someone who unpacks generally but this was really lacking even for me.

The lifts were really slow which was frustrating and they had a bizarre water feature thing in them which again was grimy.

The clock in the room was wrong and we couldn't work out how to change it. It's details like that that I think would be better to sort out than having random books in the room.

One of the most annoying things was that there are NO spare power points in the room. To plug in chargers, etc we had to reach behind furniture and unplug lamps.

Again, location and service were great but we just couldn't stay there for the full 5 nights, especially at the price we were paying. We checked out and moved to a hotel further from the beach that was better and cheaper.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank jayarbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello Jayarbee, Your title for this review is disturbing to us; it is not who we are. It's always off-putting to hear that we have missed the mark with one of our guests. We apologize that your experience did not go over as well as either one of us would have hoped. Boutique hotels offer a particular style, feel & vibe that are not always to everyone likes; we understand that. We will share your comments with our team to check on the areas where we can improve. On a better note, we were happy to hear you appreciated our location and staff.
All the best,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here for one week in August. We were supposed to stay for 13 nights, but we opted to change hotels after 7 nights. We had chosen this hotel based on the reviews we had read. On the plus side, the property sits on a very nice beach. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Our biggest complaint was the uncleanliness of our room. The floor was gritty and dirty and had not been swept nor mopped until we complained to management. On our last night there, it was nice to feel a clean floor under our feet. There are no "grounds" to this hotel. No place to sit or hang out really unless you go to the rooftop bar. There is no real lobby. One of the elevators was out of service during our entire stay and sometimes the wait to get up to our room was quite long. The staff here really do try to impress and accommodate their guests but we felt they could benefit from quality control. Our window leaked every time it rained and we had to use our bath towels to mop it up to avoid slipping. I am not a negative person and I don't like to write negative reviews. I just have to say that this was not a great choice for us but we did not let it ruin our trip to Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: Stay away from the upper floors on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights. The music is very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Marla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback, while it was unsettling none the less. I would like to discuss this in more detail personally with you at your convenience. Service is the cornerstone of WBC's success and we are driven to follow up relentlessly. Please contact me anytime at vconcepcion@waterbeachhotel.com. I'll look forward to hearing from you.
Yours in hospitality,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My mama and I stayed here from aug 11th- the 25th. When we arrived the staff was so friendly and warm. The beach is a five step walk from the hotel lol. The house keeper Lourdes Jimenez is amazing!!!!! She kept our room so clean. And she is very friendly. If you plan on staying here stay on the 8th floor so you could experience the wonderful service of Lourdes Jimenez. Bring a lot of money you will need it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frozenheart11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virna c, Guest Services Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks for the FIVE STARS; we loved it when we get superb reviews on trip advisor. We strive to add a personal touch and give the genuine and friendly service that hits the hearts of our guests; we’re so happy to hear that our “Star” Lourdes Jimenez did just that!
Warmest regards,
Virna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,203 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,036 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
3.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
18.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel

Property: San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Address: 2 Tartak St, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#2 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the San Juan Water Beach Club Hotel, a unique boutique property just steps from one of Puerto Rico’s hottest beaches – Isla Verde Beach, the ultimate playground for grownups. The perfect combination of comfort and style, 80 guest rooms including stunning suites feature ocean front views, partial ocean views, and city views. Renowned as the hot spot for local residents and tourists, MIST ROOFTOP Bar+Kitchen provides a unique rooftop experience for relaxing with friends and enjoying appetizing casual food and refreshing cocktails – all complemented by soothing lounge beats, fresh ocean air and breathtaking panoramic vistas of the Atlantic Ocean. ZEST Restaurant, where community, culture and local flavors mix with a relaxed atmosphere to celebrate Puerto Rican cuisine. A warm, vibrant decor combining the elements—earth, wind, fire and water— creates a sociable ambiance where you can enjoy delicious culinary delights and a creative selection of well-crafted cocktails and wines. Also known as the Water Club, The San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel is located in the city’s stylish Isla Verde, five minutes from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, and just 15 minutes away from the cruise docks, business district and the famous Old San Juan. For business travelers and small groups they offer an intimate venue for up to 120 guests reception style, an elegant boardroom, an ocean front business center, and a 24-hour front desk service. In addition, the San Juan Water and Beach Club Hotel boasts some of San Juan’s most beautiful beachfront and newest dining options. The Water Club was recently voted #4 on TripAdvisor’s Top 25 Trendiest Hotels in the Caribbean. It was also the recipient of the prestigious 2012 Certificate of Excellence award. The hotel is the latest addition to Dallas-based Aimbridge Hospitality’s growing resort division. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Water And Beach Club Hotel
San Juan Water Beach Hotel
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing