We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$323
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Coral by the Sea(Isla Verde)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ESJ Azul(Isla Verde)
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$301/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
US$313
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$313
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$378
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$292
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
La Playita(Isla Verde)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,450)
Filter reviews
1,450 results
Traveller rating
808
461
111
43
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
808
461
111
43
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barblue lightingboutique hotelzest restaurantwater themesan juandead end streetliterally stepscloset spacechairs and umbrellasocean frontrooms are smallan umbrellagreat drinkspartial ocean viewfood and drinkstrip to puerto rico
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,450 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a small hotel....it's NOT a resort style however it perfect for a quick trip.
The staff very friendly. Its a busy hotel, lots of people. The rooms are small ...but don't spend time in your room, get out and see the island! Don't bring a car.
Puerto Rico is still recovering , support the island!

Room Tip: Don't stay in your room Get out and see the island
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank med122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Paul B, E-Commerce Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! As a boutique hotel, we strive to have our guests enjoy our beautiful island and it seems you did just that. Thank you for being a part of helping Puerto Rico!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

A special thanks to Victoria, Director Sales and Marketing, and her staff for a wonderful family vacation. It was my parents 60th wedding anniversary and we had 17 family members whose hearts were sent on coming back to Puerto Rico where we had spent their 50th wedding anniversary. Victoria, professionally aided in negotiating and coordinating a very complex stay (many differing arrival/departure dates for our 5 families). We couldn't have been more pleased with the property, from the roof top to the beach experience, and it's proximity to many attractions such as Old San Juan and all right on the beach in Isle Verde. The restaurant on the bottom floor of the hotel was perfect for family breakfasts beginning the day. The staff was extremely customer oriented and we felt welcome and at home. A perfect memorable experience for the beginning and ending of our family adventure thanks to WBC and staff.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank captainlg1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Paul B, E-Commerce Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for the great review! It was our pleasure to have your family stay with us. I will be sure to pass your words along to Victoria and the entire staff here at WBC. 60th wedding anniversary is something that is very special, and we are glad that we could play a small part in making it AMAZING! We wish them many more years of happiness, and hope to see your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

How can I adequately say thanks to Ms. James and the other pleasant lady at the front desk who checked me in... there are really no words to describe their professional, welcoming and courteous service!

If you are able, please do yourself a favor and get an ocean view room. If you follow my advise you will be able to enjoy a breath-taking sunset or sunrise.

The room is cozy and colorful. The bed is comfortable and faces the window. The choice of local coffee in the room was absolutely amazing. I hope I am spelling it correctly, ‘Yacoua” or something close to that spelling. The coffee was rich, bold and flavorful! There was a complimentary water in the room.

The decor of the to- deck was so wonderful. The food and entertainment was off the chain! There is free breakfast.

The management of this hotel goes beyond and above to make sure that your stay is not only comfortable but enjoyable.

The hotel itself seems to be old but renovated... however, you won’t notice after getting your bags in the room.

I can’t wait to return again and again!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank 1knowing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Paul B, E-Commerce Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you for the GREAT review! I will be sure to pass your words along to Ms. James and our other front desk staff. We love to hear when our guests have a great experience. We can't wait for you to return again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

This about sums it up: $28 for two drinks in the bar, but only single-ply Scott toilet paper in our bathroom.

This place is all about flash on the outside and then no substance on the inside. They seem to be targeting the trust fund baby wannabes.

We looked online and saw the high rating and beautiful photos on Trip Advisor and the hotel website and thought it was going to be great. It wasn't. The only positive things I have to say about it are that it has great proximity to the beach and the staff is very friendly and welcoming. If it weren't for that, I don't know how they would stay in business. It was the one blotch on an otherwise wonderful honeymoon to Puerto Rico.

The website says that on the beach you will find 'a bevy of Water Girls offering fast service with a “Cool-Off in the Sun” menu built on user-friendly foods accompanied by a “Mix It Up in the Sun” cocktail menu.' It also says 'Signature beach service includes: a dedicated Beach Concierge; fresh fruit kebabs, and our signature Puerto Rican frozen treats called “Limbers” made from fresh fruit for cooling off on the inside.' All of that is just flat out lies. There is no bar service. There are no water girls, fruit kebabs, limbers, cocktails of any variety, or a beach concierge. There is only a single guy out there handing out chairs, umbrellas, and bath towels (not even beach towels).

This makes me doubt that Trip Advisor really checks places out before they start handing out awards like this place got.

Up on the roof there is a really nice--and really expensive--bar/restaurant and pool area. The bass from the music there at night permeated all the way down to our third floor room. The pool is tiny and it's surrounded by clear plexiglass that is designed to give you a view of the beach and city, but in reality is too worn and cloudy to be able to see through easily. We got two drinks there on our first day and our total bill was $28--for two drinks! If you want to go up there, make sure you go during happy hour (6-8pm) because that's the only time to get reasonably priced drinks, and even those are very limited.

The rooms are not well designed and everything is cheap feeling and a bit worn, although the cool blue and white color scheme was relaxing. Walking in, to the right is an alcove containing the room safe, coffee maker/supplies, one medium drawer, one small drawer, a shelf, an iron, an ironing board, and a place to hang clothes--all crammed into one tiny niche. And even though there's a coffee maker there, there's no place to plug it in so you have to move it to somewhere else in the room to use it. Since there's very little room in the drawers or to hang clothes, we could never really unpack while we were there.

I tried to use the iron, but it didn't work and the ironing board is a mini version that doesn't stand as high as a regular one. To their credit, when I complained about the iron, they replaced it with a brand new one.

Moving farther into the room, there's the bed. It was okay, a typical hotel bed, but there was only a bedside table on one side. And there were no available outlets on either side, so you couldn't charge your phones or anything else there without either unplugging the phone or lamp on one side or stretching the cable across the walkway from the wall on the other side, creating a trip hazard. There were two reading lamps wired into the headboard and that was nice, but no outlets there either.

The only other furniture was the desk built into the back side of the headboard, its chair and an armchair near the window. The only pieces of art were two abstract prints awkwardly placed near the entrance door. Shelves that could've contained decorations were bare (and they weren't deep enough for storing clothes).

The bathroom was pretty much all formica. The countertop was small and a big area of it was taken up by the sink. The hot water was inconsistent, suddenly becoming cold for several minutes in the middle of taking a shower. That happened several times throughout the week. And there was no ventilation so take some air freshener with you. There was also nowhere to hang wet towels or swimsuits, not even a shower curtain rod. You're only provided with two bath towels and a single robe, so apparently they're not expecting more than one person to need a robe at a time.

About four days into our trip, we sent all the towels and washcloths for laundry to be washed. We had requested an extra bath towel the first day so that we could have three. When we came back to the room, they had only left us with two bath towels again, one hand towel and no washcloths. We only found this out after getting undressed. We tried calling housekeeping to get washcloths so that we could take showers, but only got a message in Spanish (which neither of us speaks). No one answered our two attempts to call the front desk. Out of desperation, we even called the valet, but still nada. Finally, after waiting about twenty minutes, we were able to get someone to answer at the front desk and got our washcloths.

There are no vending machines anywhere and no minifridges in the rooms. There's not even a sundries shop to buy drinks from. Your only option is to get dressed and go down to the restaurant or up to the rooftop bar to buy expensive drinks...that or order expensive room service.

Our last few days there were over the Memorial Day weekend when we were informed that they were having beach parties, etc. every day and that we would need to wear uncomfortable wristbands the entire time to get in and out of the hotel. Apparently, our room keys weren't enough. The music outside on the last night was so loud it was blaring through our room. Thank heavens for Benadryl!

I'm sure I could find a few more negatives to add to the list, but I'm honestly tired of writing so I'll stop here.

The gist of it is this: go somewhere else. They're almost as expensive as nearby hotels that are waaaayyyyy nicer. If you need to juggle your budget, shorten your trip by a day or two and spend a little extra money elsewhere. It will be worth it. Or better yet, find a nice little B&B and make sure your money stays local. Don't make the same mistake we did.

Room Tip: Get one as low as possible to get as little noise from the rooftop bar as you can.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LuziAnne68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Paul B, E-Commerce Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

This property is nestled on a quiet street that is literally 10 steps from the beach. There are a few signs of aging on the outside of the building, but the minute you walk in, it feels light and friendly. As soon as you get to the guest floors, every thing is drenched in blue lighting and white billowing curtains. It's an experience in itself. The room we stayed in was clean, smelled great and the view of the ocean was spectacular. The beach itself is gorgeous and they make sure you have a chair, umbrella and towels.

There are always cabs waiting outside and the in-house restaurant is pretty good. There is a CVS one block away as well as a few fast food places for a quick bite if needed. I would DEFINITELY stay here again when I come to PR...highly recommended.

Room Tip: ocean view - all the way!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Paul B, E-Commerce Manager at San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Ian thank you so much for the great review! We DEFINITELY hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews