We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a pleasure to stay at El Patio!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Verde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Patio Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 Isla Verde B&B and Inns
U.S. Virgin Islands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure to stay at El Patio!”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

This was my third time staying here and as usual the owner Dona Angela is a sweetheart. She is always willing to accommodate my needs since I am disabled, and she always has time to chat with me and my friend about areas where we should go and visit. She is always helpful, and I don't see her as the owner, I see her more like my grandmother part of my family. It is always a pleasure staying there and when we leave she always showers us with blessings and tells us how much she wants to see us back there again. Oh and the pool is totally awesome.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiyahsEmpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    16
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

My least favorite part of Puerto Rico is San Juan. That being said, when our flight was canceled last minute because of weather, we were in a frenzy trying to find a place that wouldn't cost an arm and a leg (chain hotel). Luckily, within seconds I was able to do a quick search on my phone, and found El Patio Guest House (only a 5 minute drive from the San Juan Airport). We called over, and a sweet bi-lingual older woman answered. She said the last minute accommodations wouldn't be a problem (at the time rooms ran from $60-$100, and we lucked out with the lower end deal).

When we arrived, the hostess was sitting in her chair by the gate along with her small friendly Yorkshire mix and parrot. She gladly let us in, and showed us to our room. We walked through the open common area / patio, were shown the community kitchen, and once we dropped our bags went straight to the pool area.

The rooms were nothing to write home about (quite small), but included a comfortable bed, small refrigerator and TV, air conditioner, and a clean bathroom. There were no bells and whistles, which was fine by our standards, but may be too little for some.

They had a ping-pong table, and I believe they had a volleyball area, as well as a basketball net set up. We also saw a few bikes, but I'm not 100% sure if they were for the guests.

The beach is "a short five minute walk" away. You have to walk down 2 or three blocks, and then over an overpass, then down a path to the beach. The beach seemed like a typical "San Juan hotel-beach" to us.

Taking the same route to the beach path, if you walk down the strip there, you'll find a handful of restaurants that won't be too scary to the average San Juan tourist. All seemed reasonably priced.

Come check out time the following day (1pm) we asked if we could stay on the premises until 3pm as our flight wasn't until 5. We we're told it wouldn't be a problem, and when we were ready, she would call us a taxi.

As I mentioned, I'm not a huge fan of San Juan as it's too much like any other city in the world. But if we're ever stuck there again, El Patio Guest House will be first on my list of places to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoirock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayey, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I stayed for 6 nights at this place. It is very clean. The pool was nice. The room was clean and the shower too. Small tv but great A/C. Good location. Sweet and nice people.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khefren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basseterre
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Very Love Owner. Very Quiet , Clean and cool place. I would be staying there any time i have to stay in P.R.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuniorB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. croix virgin islands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

My name is Maria I stayed at el patio in feb. 2010 for 4 days with a friend. We went to puerto rico to see the masso homes. The owner at el patio new english what a relief. She was very friendly she has a bird under the porch loved the bird and the little dog. The room, pool, and kitchen is very clean. The beds were made everyday, and we received fresh and ample towels. AC was nice and cold great litle place to stay. The owner doesn't try to kill you with little hidden charges. I went to St. Thomas one time and got one quoted price on the phone and in person I received all types of fees that were rediculous. I am planning a trip for the summer and I hope she has room for myself and my family. I went to puerto rico with siyahsfire. my best friend.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwia2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S. Virgin Islands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

I stayed at El Patio for four days, three nights and I would do it all over again. Price is great, adorable owner is friendly and very helpful, and the pool is great too. Room is very clean, AC is super cold and it has cable TV and a small fridge. Has a kitchenette outside the room, very clean too. They change towels and throw the garbage each day. Very nice, love it, and would be back there again soon....

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiyahsEmpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

It was only $69 for a double (twin beds) and $60 for a single. Walking distance to the beach (5 min). Only 10 rooms, so you have the pool to yourselves. The pool is small, but big enough to cool off after a hot day with a number of deck chairs to read and relax in. There is a small kitchenette to save on meals. The room looked like it hadn't been updated since the 50's, but it was clean and the bed was more comfortable than it looked. I gave my friend (he was on a stricter budget than me) on the twin beds, but I'm a big guy and I slept fine, so I saved the cash and they weren't bad. Angela, the owner, is friendly and helpful. It's a short walk (less than 5 min) to the bus to old San Juan and there are a number of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.4 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#3 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
3.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Patio Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Patio Guest House

Property: El Patio Guest House
Address: Urb. Ext. Villamar #23 Mar de Bering | Carolina, PR, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Patio Guest House is a modern inn, with Old World charm, and hospitality. Our goal is to make you feel at home. For more information, read the description and the general information. DescriptionEl Patio Guest House "A Short Walk to the Beach"El Patio Guest House is a modern inn, with Old World charm, and hospitality.... El Patio is only a short drive from Luis Munoz Marin International Airport. Is is close to shopping, beaches, restaurants, and the many things to do in Isla Verde. The poolside at El Patio is a favorite gathering place for guests. El Patio's conviviality and personal attention from Angela Martinez, your bilingual hostess, make it a favorite for both business travelers and vacationers. You'll appreciate the tranquility, the companionship, the modern comfort and old world charm. El Patio brings you the best of both worlds. Angela Martinez founded this two-story inn in 1960, now 52 years later, El Patio is still open for business and welcomes anyone who wants to enjoy the beauty and enchantment of Puerto Rico. Now at almost 87 years old, Angela does anything to make you feel at home along with her daughter and her granddaughter Daniela, that is our goal.Enjoy El Patio's many terraces. And don't forget, for sun lovers, one of Puerto Rico's most beautiful beaches is only steps away. Each tropically furnished room has a private bath, A/C, Cable TV (currently no cable available), a refrigerator, and a closet. You can use the facilities of the guest kitchen, the laundromat, and the pool. A FRIENDLY WELCOME AWAITS YOU AT EL PATIO. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Patio Guest House Hotel Isla Verde
El Patio Guest House Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing