We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful and very noisy”
Review of Coral by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coral by the Sea
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We spent the night there because we had an early flight out of PR the next morning. We paid way too much for what we got here -- unpleasant room and a horrible, horrible air conditioner that cranked out about 100+ decibels of noise along with cool air, making it very hard to sleep. The roar of landing aircraft (it's right next to an airport runway) was the icing on the cake. Finally turned it off at 3am just to be able to get some rest, although it started warming up in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath84098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

This hotel is really run-down and is in need of maintenance. The black-out curtains in my room were torn and let light from the floodlight outside in at night. The bed was not comfortable. The lock on the door wouldn't function properly either. I'm glad I had the chain engaged, otherwise someone would've barged into my room. Even though the staff was friendly and the hotel wasn't very far from Playa Isla Verde, I wouldn't stay here again because of the safety aspect.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

We were in Puerto Rico for two weeks. We spent 9 days here. We were very happy here. It was a place to rest our heads at the end of the day. It costs about 100 usd after taxes and its a typical Puerto Rican hotel. Most of the staff was friendly and helpful, although there was a stuck up man working there at times. The housekeeping was not great. We just learned to ask to have our rooms cleaned and for supplies that they never seemed to leave. But there is a great little restaurant at the ground floor (Piu Bello) that was super nice and friendly. It was about a five minute walk to the beach. It had wifi. I never saw any bugs and the ac kept us ice cold. Within minutes you can walk to all kinds of bakeries, restaurants and shops. Puerto Rico is ungodly expensive for a long term stay and this was a great compromise for us as Americans. It wasnt what we were used to, but it met our every need. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebekah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We decided to stay here for a night to see some of San Juan before heading out to visit Palmas del Mar the next day. We stayed back in Aug of 2010 (sorry for the delayed review). After reading some of the reviews, it seems as if their service has gone downhill. When we arrived, it was around 2:00pm, and we couldn't check in until 3:00pm or so and they guy at the desk was quite friendly and told us he would hold our bags for us until we could check in. That was a relief and we decided to walk over to Denny's for a bite to eat. When we came back, there was a room ready for us on the 5th floor and it was a one bed suite. We got to our room, and while it was nothing fancy, it was nice for us to stay for one night. The bed was comfortable, the shower worked, tv worked, WI-FI worked, and phone worked. I really liked the tile floor. The AC was not on and we had to turn it on when we arrived. It was a little hot, but this is how they do it in Puerto Rico. The room was clean and the hotel was within walking distance to a Walgreens and Denny's 3 minutes away. There is also a Pueblo grocery store around the corner to get food if you are staying longer. The hotel served its purpose and we were two blocks from the beach!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We ended staying at this hotel as as a precaution in case Storm Isaiah would hit the island hard, this hotel is super close to the airport, beach, walking distance from many restaurants, and is a a very well secured area with police everywhere, which i believe is safe for families and even just girls only vacation. we did have to move the beds from one side of the room to the other because i dont know who that rocket scientist was that placed the air conditioner where it did not reach us, and it was hot during those days. other than that i would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viviana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We got stuck in SJ because of Hurricane Isaac. Our flight was cancelled and we booked this hotel from the airport through the AA partner company. I knew it was not the best from reviews I read before but I did not think it was this bad. For $85.00 a night plus taxes comes to ~$100.00 so do not be fool. There is a Hampton Inn across that is much much better and not far off with the price. The hotel should be down graded to a lower than motel category. It is in need of a major repair,renovation. It looks like a prison from the outside. The rooms are filthy, stinky and horrible. Do not walk bear foot there. I was afraid to get in the shower so bugs won"t crawl over me. We did not encounter any luckily. I would never ever stay here again. We stayed at the Holiday Inn express before the trip and it was excellent but it was booked this time.

Room Tip: We were in room 208 on the second floor with Ice machine around the corner and the laundry machines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1105Nadiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The remote control for the tv did not work and the phone did not work. The restaurant and food was great. The furniture was sticky and old. The bed and pillow was great. The staff was helpful. The tv without the remote worked fine. Police provided security in the general area. Felt really safe.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ghostwriter3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
26 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,000 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Villa del Sol
Hotel Villa del Sol
#12 of 13 in Isla Verde
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
6.6 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#30 of 48 in San Juan
610 reviews
0.7 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#3 of 13 in Isla Verde
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral by the Sea

Address: 2 Calle Rosa, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7107, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Price Range: £73 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Coral by the Sea 1.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral by the Sea is situated only steps away from many of the area's most popular attractions. A variety of recreational activities, including various water sports, as well as the historic Old Town San Juan are nearby. The Coral not only provides guests with an ideal location, but also with a variety of modern amenities. Enjoy complimentary wireless internet access, a modern business center and the on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coral by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel
Hotel Coral By The Sea
Coral By The Sea Hotel
Coral By The Sea Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing