We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Bums”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral by the Sea Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beach Bums”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This hotel is affordable and cute. The service was great. The location is perfect. Don José's Restaurant is around the corner and serves 24 hours; American cuisine (including breakfast) is on the menu. Piu Bello restaurant is next door and closes at 11 p.m. Parking was free! Room was clean and had awesome air conditioning, free WiFi, and t.v. with free cable (yes, English programming). Will go back next time I'm in Puerto Rico. Refuse to pay more when I have it all here at Coral by the Sea.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maritza V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    56
    97
    55
    114
See reviews for
66
92
43
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

dont expect a 5 star hotel for this price.. but it is a nice place...great location no pool but 3 min walking to the beach...clean rooms...a good..tv limited channels...free wifi... free parking great restaurant located on the bottom floor of hotel and across the street local cuisine and they do delivery to the room. Shopping via taxi is $7-$10 is ten to 15 min away..or u can take the bus for $1.50 ...Supermarket ten min from hotel and other hotels with casino and live music thurs/fridays right next door is ok does need a upgrade in decor... rooms are nice and clean.. no marriott but if your on vacation you wont be staying in the room all the time... corner rooms are the best...

Room Tip: choose corner rooms..larger and roomier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yasmine1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We booked a last minute cruise out of San Juan and needed an inexpensive hotel, preferably in Isle Verde as we were meeting some friends there. Read all the reviews, and booked Coral by the Sea. We arrived after a redeye flight and per Travelocity, check in was at 1PM. On arrival we were told that was incorrect, it was 3PM, and they had been trying to get Travelocity to update their information for the longest time. We had lunch and a few beers on the outside patio by the ice cream shop/bar and the staff got our room ready in record time - we were in there well before 3PM.

Room was what we expected (as was the Deliverance elevator as read about in other reviews!) - small, outdated - but clean and with one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on.

Security was a bit of a concern with no in room safe for documents, but we improvised and it worked out just fine. Staff was excellent - when my husband accidentally left his wallet in the restaurant/bar they held it at the counter and when he went to reclaim it everything was intact (for those wondering, we have different last names and the room was under my name - they did try to locate him but could not, but it was waiting when he went looking the next day).

Clean, comfortable, friendly and helpful staff, inexpensive compared to surrounding hotels, a short walk to the beach - what else could we have asked for?!

Room Tip: No room tips - but it helps to hit the button for the elevator three times to get prompter service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowrose028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2013

clean rooms and clean bathrooms. ac and tv worked perfect. its location is also very convenient. close to everything including the airport. i dont go on vacations to spend time in a hotel room so this modest hotel was perfect for me. very good value for its price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Only one good thing...Location. The rest is a nightmare! Believe me... You DO NOT want to stay here, unless you are Veeeery desperate. (short of money or stranded) The air conditioner is noisy and HOT! The rooms are old, smelly, dark and scary. The elevator, oh my God!...The elevator!!!
I don't know how the puertorrican goverment allow this place to be called an hotel and to remain open.

Room Tip: Sorry, nothing good. Oh yes...free parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Isla Verde hotels

New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Excellent location 2 blocks away from the beach, restaurants, bars, casinos, etc. The beach at the hotel is beautiful. The hotel itself was average. The rooms were clean, AC & wi-fi worked without problems. The service was friendly but a little slow (however, that is to be expected in PR.) Good place to stay for an excellent value! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chiumonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I have stayed in the hotel many times, and you can't beat it for the price and location. It has clean rooms, free parking and close to the airport . You can leave you rental car in their lot , walk to the beach or the Old San Juan Hotel besides other places on the Ave. It's not a palace so don't go there if that is what you are looking for. You get what you pay for, a clean bed in a area where hotels are twice or even more for the night. I classify this a good find. I have referred family and friends there and no one has complained , There are some people who complain even with a four star hotel. I don't get it at times,, some picky people who don't want to pay for the many stars in the rating of hotels...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Verde hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.4 mi away
Verdanza Hotel
Verdanza Hotel
#9 of 13 in Isla Verde
1,579 reviews
0.7 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#4 of 13 in Isla Verde
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa del Sol
Hotel Villa del Sol
#12 of 13 in Isla Verde
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
La Playita
La Playita
#10 of 13 in Isla Verde
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral by the Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral by the Sea Hotel

Property: Coral by the Sea Hotel
Address: 2 Calle Rosa, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7107, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Coral by the Sea Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral by the Sea is situated only steps away from many of the area's most popular attractions. A variety of recreational activities, including various water sports, as well as the historic Old Town San Juan are nearby. The Coral not only provides guests with an ideal location, but also with a variety of modern amenities. Enjoy complimentary wireless internet access, a modern business center and the on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coral by the Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel
Hotel Coral By The Sea
Coral By The Sea Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing