We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral by the Sea Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

After reading all the other poor reviews, I knew not to have high expectations. The rooms are okay. They were clean and spacious. I've certainly seen worse. The main problem was the staff. They were SO slow with check in and they were not very helpful, at all. They did not allow me to use the phone to make local calls or help me book an excursion. Upside: Rooms are spacious (somewhat), AMAZING location (located between expensive hotels), Close to the beach (2min walk) and amazing breakfast and dinner restaurants attached to hotel. If you have a little more in the budget to spend on a more expensive hotel than please do it. However, this hotel is good for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sab S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    56
    97
    55
    114
See reviews for
66
92
43
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Great location. Hotel is showing its age, though, and could use some serious renovations. Great for anyone on a budget. Again, we booked a package deal online. So it was site unseen. Next time we will spend a few more bucks and step up a bit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank curtaingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This is the worst place I stayed at in Puerto Rico actually I'd have to stay I've had cleaner and more comfortable hotels in India and throughout Asia. What a dump, the room was damp and smelt moldy, I'm guessing and if the decor is anything to go by, this place hasn't been cleaned since 1972. The bathroom was smaller than your average closet, the power points didn't work except for the one behind the bed, which meant pulling out the bed from the wall and jiggling the lead around until you got a current, very dodgy. The door to the room was made of cardboard and the key, well, it sort of worked. The walls are paper thin, best over heard comment heard through the walls was a women in the room next to mine and I quote "Hello this is ... In room 416 (4th floor) I've just checked in and the toilet is blocked and over flowing". I'd have checked out instantly but it was too late for that. I chose this hotel because it was really close to the airport & and I had a really early fight the following morning & it was close to the beach but really my advice would be pay a few extra bucks and stay anywhere else you can find!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank jeninfreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Isla Verde hotels

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel is perfectly located less than 100 yards to the beach and a 2 minute walk to lots of great restaurants and convenience stores. Smooth check in, room was ready, accomodations very clean and while its a little bare bones its HALF THE PRICE of other area hotels. Not the Ritz or the Hilton but a fraction of the price for the bargain hunter. I use it often when transiting through San Juan to other Caribbean destinations or cruise ships. Far from perfect, but pretty darn good and CHEAP.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

General nice. Great localization. Poor commitment of the cleaning staff. I'm allergic to dust. I remove and clean air condition filter. I left it in the bathroom to dry and no one take care of the issue. I have to put it back. Beyond that great food in the area and the dinner staff at Pio Bello Gelato is great. Good gelatos there!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Jannette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Coral by the Sea is a very centrally located hotel in the isla verde area of san juan. it is on a strip with lots of food establishments, casinos etc so there is lots of activities going on and night life.
This hotel is not a 4 star hotel. It is comfortable enough to stay for a night or so. There is all the amenities and the room are clean and comfortable. For persons who are renting a car, there is complimentary, hassle free parking for guests so that is a plus. There is a restaurant adjoining the hotel that sells great food and they open late. Don't expect much when booking this hotel, it is just an inexpensive place to stay that is comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vacaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I made the reservation on booking.com and added a note that we would be arriving late (after midnight). We arrived at the hotel approx. 1:45 am and there was NO one to check us in. I even stood in the lobby and called 3 times. I could hear the phone ringing, but no answer. Finally we just left and went down the road and got another room (of course spending three times as much, but we were exhausted and wanted to sleep). I called the hotel the next morning to make sure they didn't charge us. The lady tells me they will have to "investigate" why no one was there. A few days later I check my account and sure enough they charged me. I called again, gave the same info, and was told the manager was unavailable but would return my call. Never got a call. Not impressed with the management AT ALL if this is how they treat people. Don't waste your time OR your money. Since I didn't actually stay there, I can't really comment on any thing else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Verde hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.4 mi away
Verdanza Hotel
Verdanza Hotel
#9 of 13 in Isla Verde
1,570 reviews
0.7 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#4 of 13 in Isla Verde
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa del Sol
Hotel Villa del Sol
#12 of 13 in Isla Verde
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
La Playita
La Playita
#10 of 13 in Isla Verde
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral by the Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral by the Sea Hotel

Property: Coral by the Sea Hotel
Address: 2 Calle Rosa, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979-7107, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Coral by the Sea Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral by the Sea is situated only steps away from many of the area's most popular attractions. A variety of recreational activities, including various water sports, as well as the historic Old Town San Juan are nearby. The Coral not only provides guests with an ideal location, but also with a variety of modern amenities. Enjoy complimentary wireless internet access, a modern business center and the on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coral by the Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel
Hotel Coral By The Sea
Coral By The Sea Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing