We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited Verdanza hotel 2 years later”
Review of Verdanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Verdanza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visited Verdanza hotel 2 years later”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have read some review about this hotel that were not very positive. We were there Feb/12 and found the room and service excellent. They are re doing some of the older rooms, new carpet etc. We had a pool side room and it was older but clean and very comfortable. The pool is great, good food several restaurants and a good location. We would definetly go again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemacwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
littlemacwinnipeg, thank you for sharing your experience at Verdanza. We are certainly hard at work to continue improving our product and ensuring that guests are made to feel at home during their stay. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    501
    266
    108
    74
See reviews for
518
489
85
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed here 4 nights before our cruise. It is a beautiful hotel and the rooms are quite nice. The location is convenient being close to the beach and not far from the airport. The asian restaurant in the hotel has amazing food, very delicious. The staff at this hotel is amazlingly friendly and can help you with ideas on things to do and different tours to take. We had a wonderful time in Puerto Rico and only wish we had decided to stay longer. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piscesrmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
piscesrmt, thank you for your kind words about your stay at Verdanza. Rest assured that we will share it with our team, to share with them how their efforts are noticed and appreciated by our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Came in late on a Sunday night following a flight delay. Missed our connecting flight. Asked a local friend for a recommendation, and took the five-minute cab ride to the Verdanza. Professional and prompt service at the desk, a clean and comfortable room. Terrific dinner with attentive staff at J.H.Yee's restaurant on the main floor. Quiet place, with a deli on the lobby floor.
Very nice patio with very decent-sized swimming pool with good landscaping (and lots of coqui frogs in the bushes). Large and sociable hot tub. It's the kind of place where you won't be surprised to see the local television personalities on their own dime. Breakfast buffet comes with the price of the room - very well staffed and laid out with good quality food.

Lobby staff was attentive and professional on the way out. I was sorry we had to leave so early to make our connecting flight, and hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: I don't think they have a bad one. It's laid out so it doesn't actually front onto a bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavePorter090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
DavePorter090, it's a genuine pleasure to read of your pleasant experience at Verdanza following a friend's recommendation. We hope to welcome you back soon to enjoy a more leisurely stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We arrived from Canda, hot and tired and the staff was exceptionally friendly and helped us get through the registration preocess with ease and offered us a frozen treat as we were so warm. They were helpful and answered all our questions, such as where to find the taxis etc.,and told us here we could find the rest of our group as we came in a large group. We got hotel vouchers and a drink coupon. (great)
Our room was a large room with comfortable beds and a huge bathroom (very clean). They even had an enlarged mirrow for us blind !!! ladies to see in. Pool was beautiful although we did not have much time there.
Restaurants in the hotel clean and food good. The beach was a few minutes walk but the view was superb.
Drove to old San Juan for dinner and evening entertainment and was suprised to see how many people walked the streets at night.
All in all I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay in the tower where you register all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granny3girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
granny3girls, thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Verdanza! We work hard to make our guests feel at home - and your feedback rewards our efforts and stimulates us to continue going from strength to strength. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Great place. Nice little wine bar beside the lobby, close to the airport (but you don’t hear the planes), friendly staff and a big hot tub. For me this is a better choice than the El San Juan which is big, brash, and pricy. The Verdanza is slightly off the main drag and has a more chilled out feel. Be aware that the beach is a couple of minutes’ walk away. Food is good here but things close a tad early. There are plenty of dining options nearby and it is also close to the bus to Old San Juan. Recommended.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Harry2837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Harry2837, it's great to read how you enjoyed the Verdanza 'vibe,' which aims to offer guests a relaxed and welcoming experience. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed at the Verdanza for a long weekend in Feb 2012 and our overall impression was very positive. We had a room on the 8th floor, where there is a gym and a roof deck with excellent views of San Juan and the mountains beyond. The hotel is a block from the beach, but the sea was clearly visible from our small balcony. Our bathroom was small but everything was clean. The bed was large and comfortable.

The best thing abut the hotel was the pool and hot tub. It is possible to walk to the beach in five minutes, but as the beach was pretty windy, we elected to stay in the more sheltered pool area. Both the pool and the hot tub are a good size and the spray park was kind of fun too. I like the fact that they allow you to hang out in the hot tub at night.

The food was excellent. A special mention goes to the Risretto coffee bar, which has fantastic coffee, and the Di Vino wine bar. Owner Dario is a real character and has a fantastic knowledge of wine. The Asian bistro is also good. We didn’t have a bad meal at the hotel..

There were a couple of negatives. Remember that things take longer here, not least the water in the hotel room which on the 8th floor took about 10 minutes to become hot. Also, the elevators were a little old and tired and could do with an update.

Overall, this was an excellent choice for the price. We checked out the El San Juan and the InterContinental across the street, but were glad we opted for the more laid back atmosphere of the Verdanza.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKtraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
DKtraveller15, it is fantastic to hear from guests who have the opportunity to make the most of their stay at Verdanza! All feedback from our clients is genuinely valued because it helps us see our hotel through the eyes of our visitors in order to continue improving. We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

During a short trip to PR in June 2011 I was recomended to stay at The Verdanza Hotel by employee Frank R. What an excellent choice! My initial impression was fantastic. The gardens & lobby are beautiful. All the employees I dealt with, from Mr. Rapale, to the young man at the door (Mr. Betancourt) & including the ladies at the front desk where ALL super courteous, professional, AND absolutely CHARMING. They made me feel at home. My room was spotlessly clean, quiet & the bed was extremely comfortable. I loved that I could comfortably watch tv from the bed, or the sitting area. I ordered room service & it arrived promptly & was delicious. The wine bistro DiVino was really, REALLY good and the hors d'erves I had there were fantastic. I would recommend all my friends to stay there. It's a great location, so close to the ocean, but not nearly as expenssive as other hotels in the area. When I return to the island I will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8animals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
8animals, many thanks for taking the time to write about your experience at Verdanza. We are very proud of our team's dedication and it is truly rewarding to learn that our guests notice and appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.3 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#3 of 13 in Isla Verde
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
ESJ Azul
ESJ Azul
#11 of 13 in Isla Verde
272 reviews
3.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdanza Hotel

Property: Verdanza Hotel
Address: 8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verdanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm smiles lead the way at the relaxed, urban-inspired Verdanza Hotel,a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection. Steps from Isla Verde beach; near restaurants, clubs, casinos. Air-conditioned rooms offer pillow menu, iPod(R) docking station, LCD TV, organic bath products, 2-line phone, safe, fridge, iron/board, hairdryer. Facilities: pool area with whirlpool and SprayPark, three restaurants, cafe. Services: complimentary bike-taxi transfers to beach, Tour Desk, Dollar Rent-A-Car. Location places guests minutes from convention center, historical city, cruise piers, marinas, shopping, attractions, international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Verdanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Carolina
Carolina Holiday Inn
Verdanza Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing