We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positives Outweigh Negatives”
Review of Verdanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Verdanza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Verdanza is an older hotel less than two blocks from Isla Verde Beach. The room rates were much less expensive than the newer beach-front hotels in the same area. It features four of its own restaurants, but is also located within easy walking distance of two grocery stores and several Puerto Rican and American chain restaurants, including some of the fast food variety. A large outdoor swimming pool is adjacent to a whirlpool and a children's water feature. The staff was extremely friendly and immediately found ways to accomodate our special needs caused by the nasty winter weather back home. Despite the very small bathroom and low water pressure we would return to the Verdanza again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkl004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

mkl004, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Verdanza. We take much pride in our staff and in providing a warm a welcoming experience without affectation. We look forward to welcoming you back; be sure to like us at Facebook/verdanzahotel to stay abreast of news, events and special offers - and be sure to let us know in advance when you visit us again! Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 929 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was my first time staying at a hotel in PR. we usually come in by Cruise ship. The hotel staff were very accommodating (esp MARLENE & GLENMARLENE). We had a lovely room on the 5th floor with a wonderful view. You don't have to pay the high price of a beach side resort, the Beach is a 5-6 min walk away but honestly the pool was wonderful and clean. They have a nice kiddy water area and a very nice out door hot tub as well.
There is a nice work out room on the 8th floor with a wrap around balcony. Their buffet breakfast was excellent and we took some fruit and baked items back to our room. There are a lot of 'fast' (but in PR expect slower service-- relax it's the culture) food restaurants in the area within walking distance - but do try some local eating places as PR like most of the Islands has very good multicultural food experiences.
Overall this was a great quick get-away and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RalphN302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Ralph N, it's rewarding to read how you had a chance to enjoy everything from our culinary options to our rooftop fitness room! Thank you as well for your kind words about members of our team who stood out for their service; rest assured we will share your comments with them so they can see how their efforts are noticed and appreciated. Be sure to like us at facebook.com/verdanzahotel in order to get our news - and to let us know when you get ready to visit us again (which you hope you will sooner rather than later) so we may welcome you properly! Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spent a week at this lovely hotel with friends of ours, and being our first trip to Puerto Rico, we were pleased with, not only the location, but the excellent service, and everything it had to offer, which included 4 restaurants, friendly staff (Tony and Angel) at the Home Sports Bar who made our cocktail hour most enjoyable. The food at the 80 20 Bistro and Asian Restaurant was excellent.
Once again highlighted by excellent service.
The pool area was wonderful, although a few more umbrellas would be recommended in the pool area for us fair skinned northerners.
Once again thumbs up for the Verdanza. Looking forward to our next trip.
The Duncan's

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Verdanza and it was exactly what my research indicated it would be, a 3.5 to 4 star hotel with 4-5 star service. I was a tad nervous at first though because upon our late arrival, we were put in a room with 2 double beds, in the tower, when we had booked a poolside king. When I called down, the front desk indicated some people had stayed over and there were none available but assured us that we could be relocated in the morning. They said the room we were in was actually an upgrade (I think because it was ocean view) and suggested we look at the other room before we move, as some people complained they sometimes smelled musty after rain. We viewed the room and found no problem. It actually was perfect for us. We had originally wished for one on the 2nd or 3rd floor but were put on ground level which ended up being SOOOOO convenient and we had NO problem at all with smell or noise like others mentioned. We were provided complimentary waters, a nice size safe, a cold refrigerator, comfy bed, a mini coffee pot, a good air conditioner and a nice size vanity area. If I HAD to list a complaint with the room, it would be the small size of the shower/toilet area and the low water pressure but I think that was necessary due to the odd door on the shower (high pressure would have caused overspray on the floor).

Staff – We had a positive encounter with every single person we came in contact with. They were very accommodating with the room issue, the housekeeping was good, the IT guy was there immediately when the printer wouldn’t print my boarding pass, the door person was always right there, and the list goes on! If you have an issue, talk to someone, I think they will take care of it.

Pool - Wonderful! It was beautifully landscaped, there were plenty of chairs, towels were provided with a standard card system, there was generally nice background music playing and the pool and hot tub were always clean. Others mentioned the mildew on the chairs but it really was only an aesthetic issue. There was not an odor or texture at all. If the cushions were grey you would never have known. The only suggestion I would have is, they could use one or two more umbrellas as there were only 5 and always utilized.

Location – We loved the location. Only 1 ½ blocks from a beautiful beach that was about 1 – 1 ½ mile long. It had nice soft sand, wasn’t crowded and I saw at least two areas where you could rent umbrellas and chairs. There was a nice grocery store behind the hotel within walking distance or a small market just down the street. There were plenty of nice and fast food restaurants in walking distance as well. We also loved the great walking trail right to the side of the hotel that you could access from the property. It was well lit and we felt safe even walking it at night. Also very close to the airport which was so convenient, only about a $12 taxi ride, yet we didn’t hear a lot of airplane noise.

On site restaurants – We tried J.H. Yees, Home and the Café. We both enjoyed our meals at Yees. Not large portions but tasty. The coffees and caps were good at the café. We enjoyed the pasta dish and the trifongo at Home, but were disappointed with the mariscada which was a seafood dish. It tasted fine but had only one shrimp and one muscle. The rest was fish and calamari.
Tour desk – we booked a ½ day Yunque Rain Forest tour and we really enjoyed it. The price was ok, the van had good air cond, forest was beautiful and the guide Robert was fantastic. He was so knowledgeable and pleasant and we learned so much from him.

Workout room – small but nice equipment with a great view. The cold water jug and hand towel rack was always full. I also liked the roof top tanning/lounging area right outside the door.

Nice touches – During the day there was a cold water pitcher flavored with fresh fruit in the lobby. Wednesday night there was a nice “manager’s reception” for an hour at the 80/20 Bistro where they had a few different free cocktails and a few light snacks. The Paws Park for those with pets was very nice. The computer center to print boarding passes from was great.

As you can see, we really enjoyed ourselves. We loved the fact that it seemed more like a resort than a hotel. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moopoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Staff very helpful and friendly, ample poolside seating picturesque. Great selection of wines, fun sports bar. Definite return for next winter! Great for family and dogs. Restaurant will do a lot to make you happy.
Phyllis

Room Tip: Main hotel gives you the easy of eating, clean gym and coffee cafe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Verdanza Hotel was a quiet hotel with excellent customer service, which was exactly what I needed at the time. Special shoutout to Glen, the woman at the front desk who assisted me with checking in and with my after hours rental car return. She was the best, although all the staff was friendly and helpful.

The pool was nice - not a resort-style pool with all the bells and whistles, but refreshing just the same. The beach is a short walk away. Restaurant was fairly priced and the food was delicious. Rooms were clean. It was nice to be within walking distance of Walgreens, restaurants, and a supermarket. The accomodations are very basic, but I enjoyed it just the same.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathryn275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenaJOrtiz, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

kathryn275, than kyou for taking the time to share your experience at Verdanza. it does sound as you a relaxing time with us. Thank you also for your kind words about our team; as an independent property, we have always made it a point to aim for making our guests feel welcome and at home at Verdanza and it is truly rewarding to read about it when guests notice and appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back - and please be sure to like us at facebook.com/verdanzahotel, so that you may receive our news on special offers, events, improvements and additions to our product and services (and also to let us know when you are getting ready to visit us again!). Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is a nice resort/hotel. The room we had was obtained through priceline.com, so we were put poolside, which was very noisy. The room was not the cleanest we've ever stayed in, but the amenities were pretty good. Pool was nice but the mold on the deck chairs was a turn-off. Complimentary breakfast was offered only to some rooms....ours was not one of them. Costs in the restaurants, etc. are very pricey, but there are very good restaurants within walking distance. Neighborhood is safe and only a block from the beach. With a little updating like more outlets and better lighting in the bathrooms, this would be an OK place.

Room Tip: Don't book through priceline unless you want the poorest room location possible. Value for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WIGramma60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Verde hotels
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#4 of 13 in Isla Verde
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
ESJ Azul
ESJ Azul
#11 of 13 in Isla Verde
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdanza Hotel

Address: 8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: £96 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verdanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm smiles lead the way at the relaxed, urban-inspired Verdanza Hotel,a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection. Steps from Isla Verde beach; near restaurants, clubs, casinos. Air-conditioned rooms offer pillow menu, iPod(R) docking station, LCD TV, organic bath products, 2-line phone, safe, fridge, iron/board, hairdryer. Facilities: pool area with whirlpool and SprayPark, three restaurants, cafe. Services: complimentary bike-taxi transfers to beach, Tour Desk, Dollar Rent-A-Car. Location places guests minutes from convention center, historical city, cruise piers, marinas, shopping, attractions, international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Verdanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Carolina
Carolina Holiday Inn
Verdanza Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing