We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Convenient Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Verdanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Verdanza Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Warren, VT
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Convenient Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at the Verdanza Hotel for 1 night en route to home. We arrived about 3:30 pm and immediately went to our poolside room. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful to us. They printed our boarding passes for the next day.
A large grocery store was located nearby, along with restaurants. We went to Mi Casita as we wanted to try a Mofongo, a local plaintain dish. The airport was only 10 minutes away, which was convenient.
Very comfortable hotel and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were very comfortable in the poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrenVtTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJOValcarcel, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you, WarrenVtTraveler, for taking the time to share your experience. In addition to everything Verdanza has to offer for a welcoming, enjoyable stay, its privileged location in Isla Verde, a block from the popular Alambique Beach is definitely a plus. Tip: next time you stay with us and visit Mi Casita, try the Asopao! Hope to welcome you back soon - and be sure to 'like' us on Facebook, where you can let us know when you are coming back so that we may treat you with a special welcome. Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    494
    259
    106
    72
See reviews for
512
478
83
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The check-in time was listed as 3pm. We arrived at 3:30pm and were told that our room was still being cleaned. When I asked how long they estimated it would take, they shrugged and were extremely unapologetic and said there were other people ahead of me also waiting for a room. It was then that I noticed an entire lobby of people waiting for their rooms. We ended up waiting almost TWO HOURS for our room.

When we finally got into the room, I turned down the sheets and saw black hair. When I went into the bathroom, there was black hair all over the floor and tiny little bugs crawling around. Every time I unfolded a bath towel, guess what - more long black hairs that didn't belong to us. I'm not sure why it took them two hours to clean our room only for it to still be disgusting. To add to the uncleanliness factor, I know they didn't change the sheets each day. I know this because the same orange stain was on the sheets every day.

Aside from that, the door to the hotel room leads straight to the outdoors (much like a motel). This wouldn't be such a big deal if there wasn't a giant gap underneath the door for bugs (or even a lizard) to come in. That being said, I spent a great deal of time each night killing mosquitoes in our room.

If that wasn't bad enough, they tried to charge us for a long distance call we never even made. The staff here is lackadaisical and clearly don't know a thing about customer service. Don't let the photos of the lobby and pool on their website fool you. This place ruined my vacation and I will never go back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kirsten527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJOValcarcel, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Kirsten527, reading that Verdanza Hotel ruined your vacation is discouraging, but what is most disappointing is that you never gave us the chance to do right by you and ensure that your brief getaway was relaxing and enjoyable. If the room was not up to standards, it should not have passed inspection - and this we are taking up with the housekeeper responsible for the room, as well as the supervisor and the manager of housekeeping, as this is not acceptable.

You call our staff lackadaisical about service, yet you never approached us or alerted us in order for us to serve you. It's your vacation - your time! Why would you put up with any discomfort in silence? We would have gladly assigned you to a new room - and we would have appreciated learning that something required our attention. If there is one thing our guests, first-timers and repeat visitors alike, compliment is precisely the service they receive from our team, which we take pride in offering not just to VIP;s but to everyone, including those who have booked the least expensive room through a discounted rate. To us, each guest is our guest and equally appreciated. We would love to have a second opportunity to impress you favorably - and please, as you say, never ever again...wait until your vacation is over to vent, when a hotel no longer has the opportunity to address whatever requires attention and you can no longer get back the vacation days which should have been a time of enjoyment. Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Verdanza is a very nice hotel. We stayed in one of the rooms by the pool and jacuzzi and got a lot of use out of it in the three days we were there. The rooms were spacious and and the bathroom was clean. The location can't be beat; the beach is two blocks away, and there's plenty to eat around there. I would highly recommend going to Mi Casita (in the same plaza as Burger King) or Metropol...it's a 5 minute walk away, past the Intercontinental, next to the place where they do the cockfights. Best rice, beans and plantains I've ever had! We partied at some club called Brava, which is actually in the lobby of the El San Juan hotel, and that was cool, but the drinks are really expensive so be sure to pre-game lol.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Me and my husband and 2 other couples stayed at the Verdanza for 4 days and I can not think of anything bad to say about this hotel. We enjoyed ourselves the property was kept clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Love the bar down stairs of the hotel called "Home" great place just to relax and have a few drinks. The beach is less than a block away and there is a lot of restaurants right in walking distance of the hotel. The pool area is nice there were enough of chairs for everyone unlike most hotels. I would definitely recommend this hotel you can not beat the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shalonda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were able to get this hotel on price line for a good price. It is nice that it is off the strip where it is louder at night. Our room was clean and fine for 2 nights. The pool was fine although we never used it. Good coffee and fresh squeezed OJ in lobby cafe.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cld63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJOValcarcel, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
cld63, we're pleased to learn your stay was pleasant and enjoyable. We do hope you will have the chance to return at leisure to truly enjoy Verdanza and everything there is to see and do in Isla Verde and beyond in Puerto Rico. Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Our first family trip in several years. We were excited to be in Puerto Rico. We arrived a day late due to storms and a delayed flight in Pittsburgh but were charged for the previous night anyway. We didn't complain since we booked thru Travelocity and were just happy to finally be there. We quickly made our way to our room and changed into swim clothes and made the two block walk to the beach. It was already evening so my kids played in the ocean for a bit and then we made the walk back to explore our hotel and the area. My husband decided to shower to rinse off the sand and so turned the water on and as he stepped in he quickly removed his foot as he was scalded by the water. Long story short, we reported this to the front desk several times before they made a report about it. His foot had an enormous blister on it which they merely gave him a small packet of cream for. We walked everywhere on this vacation since we didn't rent a car so I know the pain he endured so as not to ruin the fun for his family. I found the staff quite insensitive to the problem. I later wrote to the hotel advising them of this incident and received an email from the General Manager who apologized and said he had been really busy but would review what happened and get back to me in the next week. That was last September. I just didn't think it was too much to ask that they show a little compassion. What happened to customer service? The scary thing about this is that the water was that hot! What if it had been a small child? When we returned and he saw his doctor, he had 1st and 2nd degree burns. That is what he dealt with the week of vacation. Walking everywhere, walking in the sand on the beach, sitting in the sun, trying to keep it covered from the sun. Was it too much to ask for management to recognize and offer us some assistance. The longer we were there, the worse it became. A truly unfortunate event that I wish could have been handled better If you're looking for a hotel with great customer service, I'd look somewhere else!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaLooHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJOValcarcel, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Lisa, I am genuinely sorry that you feel our staff was not sensitive enough. We take pride in a team that is often singled out for their friendliness and service attitude. The Guest Services Agent who served you felt genuinely sorry that your husband’s foot was scalded having accidentally stepped into the shower without testing the temperature of the water first. Her offer of an ointment was a gesture of goodwill and the polar opposite of insensitive and terrible service. According to your guest folio, a member of our Security staff took a statement from you when you stopped by the front desk a second time; had you desired medical attention, we would have gladly arranged it. I realize it must have been unpleasant for your husband - and for you to watch his discomfort, but by all accounts, this was an unfortunate isolated incident in what was otherwise an enjoyable and hassle-free stay at Verdanza. That said, you are absolutely right, we should have gotten back to you as promised, even if only to convey what I am writing now – and this will be duly addressed. Lisa, rest assured that we take our promise of hospitality seriously. Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The main level of the hotel was very updated and promoted the tapas and sports bar restaurants; however, once you get to your room very disappointing. Room was clean, but the bathroom was the size of a small closet. toilet paper holder dug into your thigh as you attempted to use toilet; I say attempted because toilet was broken for 2 days. Me and my other traveler used the lobby restroom the entire stay. Hotel did send maintenance who claimed it was fixed until we continued to complain.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJOValcarcel, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
evelyn p, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased that you liked the hotel and its offerings; while the bathrooms are not expansive, we would have gladly assigned you to a new room so that maintenance could address the issue you reported without disrupting your stay, so that you could have enjoyed it fully. evelyn p, we are terribly sorry you feel disappointed and can only hope to have a second chance to win you over next time your travels bring you to Puerto Rico. Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.3 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#2 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
ESJ Azul
ESJ Azul
#11 of 13 in Isla Verde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
3.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdanza Hotel

Property: Verdanza Hotel
Address: 8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#6 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verdanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm smiles lead the way at the relaxed, urban-inspired Verdanza Hotel,a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection. Steps from Isla Verde beach; near restaurants, clubs, casinos. Air-conditioned rooms offer pillow menu, iPod(R) docking station, LCD TV, organic bath products, 2-line phone, safe, fridge, iron/board, hairdryer. Facilities: pool area with whirlpool and SprayPark, three restaurants, cafe. Services: complimentary bike-taxi transfers to beach, Tour Desk, Dollar Rent-A-Car. Location places guests minutes from convention center, historical city, cruise piers, marinas, shopping, attractions, international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Verdanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Carolina
Carolina Holiday Inn
Verdanza Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing