We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Verdanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Verdanza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Isla Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very clean rooms, service was fantastic and quality of food was very good. Convenient coffee shop, lots of flexible meeting space and the pool is terrific.
Overall, tremendous value. Close to airport and super friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Thierry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

First time in puerto rico best choice for a hotel. The price was excellent the beach was 2 blocks away. The pool was clean and enjoyable food and drinks can be purchased at the pool area which works perfectly so you dont have to leave. We arrived way before check in about 10:30 am a room was ready so they checked us right in. Staff was very helpful and friendly excellent customer service. The room was very nice with a balcony over looking the pool room was very clean and comfortable. Over all I loved this hotel location is ideal plenty of restaurants and stores in the area and bars. I would love to go back simply for how great this hotel was.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great Hotel, great staff very clean. Walking distance to the beach, nightlife very close to the hotel and three restaurants. My favorite was the coffee place at the lobby, best coffee I have ever tasted. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Yanice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Better than expected stay for family vacation-first time visit to Puerto Rico. The location was great, with a 5 minute taxi from the airport. The fair is standardized, and the cost was $10 plus $1 per bag.
Check-in went very smoothly, no drama or delays. We were given some fruit ices (coconut and mango) while our room and keys were being assigned. Staff was VERY professional, and offered to assist us with directions or recommendations during our vacation.
The location was right next to the airport, with only the Embassy Suites blocking our view of landing aircraft- but don't be concerned, the rooms were sound insulated quite well..no trouble sleeping or relaxing.
The room was clean and comfortable, with complimentary bottled water for the first night. The room was a bit tight with two double beds for the wife and I, and our fifteen year-old son. The bathroom has a split toilet/shower area separate from the sink-made it easier for families to get ready more quickly in the morning.
Issues: The in-room safe quit working after the first night. The toilet was a bit difficult to flush.
That is really it!
Pool and hot tub were clean and well maintained.
Wednesday night is a Manager's "Mixer". Free beer, wine, and soft drinks. Appetizers as well, but they went quickly.
Overall, a very good deal for the amenities and location (beach is two blocks away, easy walk). If you rent a car, don't do it at the airport. Enterprise is a ten minute walk (in parking area of competitor hotel), and saved $100 on a 4-day rental vs. best on-airport price. Take your car to the public beach at Carolina (between 5 and 10 minute drive, depending on traffic). AWESOME facilities and great swimming.
Would highly recommend this hotel based on price vs area hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank martinmil2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

When we first walked in the host at the front desk (Taryn) was extremely sweet. She explained everything to us and offered us complementary coquitos. The coconut coquito was AMAZING! Also they have freshly fruit infused water daily. Super refreshing! When we got to our room it was very cozy and clean! We had a balcony view over the pool and it was gorgeous. The hotel is literally not even 2 minutes away from the beach. It's also surrounded by a supermarket Wendy's Burger King Taco Bell. The first night we went to Mi Casita. The prices were perfect 4 margaritas and 2 dinner entrees came out to 40 dollars! The drinks were strong too! The beach is gorgeous absolutely stunning. You rent a chair for 4 dollars and it's yours the whole day. They also bring it to your selected section of the beach. For extremely good rice and beans go to platos which is only a short walk but by far amazing food and passion fruit sangria! We also traveled to Old San Juan the bus stop is right outside the hotel (bus T5) it doesn't have a specific schedule which was a little frustrating. But the bus was 75 cents ! And if you take it to the last stop you are in old San Juan . Take the ferry (50 cents) and then a 3 dollar cab and you go straight to the Bacardi factory which is a FREE tour and your hotel will charge you 50 dollars to go there! (The bus is a better experience and you see all the wall art) the Bacardi factory is nice you get two free drinks when you enter and two more shots during the tour! Also in front of the ferry stop you can catch the free trolley which takes you straight to El Morro (STAY ON THE TROLLEY) because it gets packed. Then when leaving El Morro walk around Old San Juan it was a beautiful site to see with all it's culture music people dancing and food!


When leaving the hotel they will hold your bags for you incase your flight was later than checkout like ours was . Plus a free coquito from Taryn was lovely!!!!

Excellent staff at The Verdanza ! Def recommended. Pool is 24 hours ! Breakfast was delicious ! Not a party hotel, but it was relaxing !


Very nice ! Thanks Taryn!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gabrielle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Ok, so I didn't stay at this hotel. BTW it is not a beachfront hotel as the pix may suggest. HOWEVER, the restaurant "Home" is superb! If you love puertorican food, this is the place to hit up. Try the "trifongo", yes it is not just Mofongo. Awe it was delicious. Also lookout for the friendliest bartender Angel. Can't wait to go back to PR and eat more of that tri-fongo.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

When I first arrived I was fascinated by how beautiful the lobby and exterior of the hotel looked. I thought this would be a nice trip. I arrived at 2PM (check-in was at 3) and was told that my room would be ready in an hour. When I came back to the hotel 2 hours later the room was STILL not ready. I was given 2 complimentary drink tickets for the wait.

I finally arrived to the pool side room and wasn't wowed, but wasn't too concerned because I was here to have a good time. It was a basic room, kinda old-fashioned but it was whatever. After partying that night I came back to the room at 4AM ready to crash, when I discovered a pair of disheveled sheets and dirty socks under the comforter.

I called room service who told me housekeeping wasn't available and that there was nothing he could do. I expressed my disgust and he said he could bring me up spare sheets and that he would notify the manager. The next morning at 10, the bed still wasn't change, so I went down and notified the manager of this. She said she would take care of it. 2 hours later, the nasty bed was still not taken care of!

With that said, I would stay away from this establishment. It looks pretty on the outside but the inside is very ugly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJOValcarcel, Public Relations Manager at Verdanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Ricky S, while we personally extended our sincere apology during your stay for the shortcomings in the service you received, allow me to reiterate our concern with your experience as it is not reflective of the standards of service we aim to provide our guests. It was entirely unnecessary for you to have to follow up more than once in order to receive a service your requested - and this incident was addressed immediately with the departments involved.

That said, when you arrived to your room after check-in, the room had been fully serviced and everything was in order for your arrival. Please understand that after you left your room that evening, having used the bed, Housekeeping would not have automatically serviced your room a second time that day, unless you specifically requested before you went out that the room be refreshed in your absence - and as a result, you found your bed on your return as you left it before going out for the evening.

Ricky S., we hope to have a second chance to impress you favorably next time your travels bring you to San Juan. Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Verde
0.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#4 of 13 in Isla Verde
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
17.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Caguas Real Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdanza Hotel

Address: 8020 Tartak Street, Isla Verde, Carolina 00979, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Carolina > Isla Verde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Isla Verde
#5 Family Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Romantic Hotel in Isla Verde
#7 Business Hotel in Isla Verde
Price Range: £131 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Verdanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm smiles lead the way at the relaxed, urban-inspired Verdanza Hotel,a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection. Steps from Isla Verde beach; near restaurants, clubs, casinos. Air-conditioned rooms offer pillow menu, iPod(R) docking station, LCD TV, organic bath products, 2-line phone, safe, fridge, iron/board, hairdryer. Facilities: pool area with whirlpool and SprayPark, three restaurants, cafe. Services: complimentary bike-taxi transfers to beach, Tour Desk, Dollar Rent-A-Car. Location places guests minutes from convention center, historical city, cruise piers, marinas, shopping, attractions, international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Verdanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Carolina
Carolina Holiday Inn
Verdanza Hotel Puerto Rico/Isla Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing