We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service and stay”
Review of Dog and Partridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dog and Partridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Wretham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Arrived on Friday 23rd may at about 7.30pm which was just after the kitchen was shut due to a charity pub quiz being held. Karen the owner said that she would make us up something especially regardless which was a nice touch. Food is of a great standard and portions are big. My wife had the game pie which she said was excellent but the size of it meant she could not finish it. We ended up joining in the quiz with the locals who along with the owners martin and karen made us extremely welcome and part of the pub atmosphere. We stayed in room number 1 which looked to be a recent build. Very spacious with access which would accommodate wheelchair users. Bathroom is like a massive wet room although it has a shower and no bath. Everything you want in there including tv, coffee making facilities , biscuits , bottled water, etc. Breakfast next morning was again excellent with good quality bacon and sausages. We were even warned that that night would be really busy so were able to reserve the pigeon in Guinness special in advance in case they sold out. Would highly recommend using here again if in the area due to the level of customer service and good location to go exploring around the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triphunter74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We recently spent a weekend at The Dog & Partridge and found it very pleasant if you like a quiet place, extremely clean, excellent service and good value pub grub, then this is one of the best.
With easy access to Sneterton Raceway, Thetford Forrest walking trails and about 60 mins. drive to the coast, Yarmouth and Lowestoft.
Breakfast was extensive with the usual choices of hot or cold more than enough for anyone, evening meals were basic pub grub well cooked plus a range of game foods, complete with a range of Real Ales and Lagers to satisfy any thirst. Accommodation is separate from the main building so an early night is no problem no disturbance from the pub.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just returned home after a weekend at the Dog and Partridge and we both really enjoyed the break.
Firstly the pub is in a small village near Thetford so easy to reach any of the coast areas in Norfolk, the pub is very old but has great character inside although small it has both a bar and dining room with an excellent choice of draft beers etc. The food is top quality and we enjoyed the game items available on the menu, this is quite unusual for a pub.
The rooms are separate form the pub in a part of the car park so quiet and the size of the rooms is very large with good facilities and a large walk in shower.

Would highly recommend as value for money and we really enjoyed our time there.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms so we think they are all very acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yorkie186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Very welcoming and warming pub, Karen the landlady couldn't have been more friendlier. As we where staying at the camping and caravan site (Thetford Forest) we wanted a local pub for food and drink and we found this fantastic place. Even though we had no dog or children with us they where welcome and during our visits seen them accepted. The food was great as we where part of a group of 4 we tried several dishes during our visits. Nice pub and i can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Micheal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We found this lovely pub quite by chance. We wanted to take our daughter out for dinner, we arrived too early so sat in the pub and had a lovely restful drink before picking her up at the local army barracks where she was stationed for a couple of weeks. Very good food and very nice landlords.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the dog & partridge on Saturday and had a family meal for 16 of us, we loved it. The accommodation is as good as you'll see anywhere, this was our second time staying & eating and we've been delighted both times. I really enjoyed the game pie, it was gorgeous and there are plenty of drinks to choose from. Karen & Martin are great hosts and their prices are very reasonable, I plan to stay again.
Reading the previous review I can only assume that they'd caught Karen on a bad day, she chatted to our kids both times and I've found her really friendly, she must have been exhausted.
I wish I lived closer to this lovely pub/b&b, or that we had one as good nearer to Cardiff.
Diolch yn fawr!

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Pete_man70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Very welcoming pub, friendly locals and owners. Locals moved to accomodate my dog who was warmly welcomed and fussed. Lovely food unfortunately didnt try the game menu as a quick lunch stop on our walk along Peddars way.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dog and Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog and Partridge

Address: Watton Road | Wretham, Thetford, Norfolk, Wretham IP24 1QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wretham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wretham
Price Range: £60 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional country pub on the edge of Thetford Forest and directly on the Peddar's Way. Close to Snetterton Race Circuit, The English Whisky Distillery, Centerparcs, Go Ape, High Lodge & Puddledock Campsite. Wholesome, home-cooked food - try one of our Game Specialities. Large, south facing Beer Garden and large Car Park. Three very large and modern (three years old) letting rooms in a separate building to the pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dog and Partridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dog And Partridge Wretham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing