We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
lti Louis Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Glyfada Beach(Glyfada)(Great Value!)
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Georgia(Glyfada)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Levant(Pelekas)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aqualand Resort(Agios Ioannis)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,621)
Filter reviews
1,621 results
Traveller rating
943
498
132
30
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
943
498
132
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsasian restaurantswim up roomsea viewcorfu townrelaxing holidaybeach barevening entertainmentcourtesy busbottle of red wineplenty of sunbedsmain restaurantanimation teamhotel buslarge bottle of waterfamily roomwater polothree tenors
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,495 - 1,500 of 1,621 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This is a nice hotel with a super location on the beach, but there are some buts..... Thanks to Thomson delaying our flight to take out some parts to Corfu (not the hotels fault I know) we missed our evening meal. Despite being on all inclusive we were just sent to the bar to see what was left on the snacks trolley....there wasn't much, a couple of small rolls. I don't think that is good enough on a £3500+ holiday for a family of 4..That didn't set us up well to find the 2 seaview rooms we'd booked were on separate floors. I'd emailed the hotel 2 weeks before arrival (Thomson were suppose to aswell but I'm not impressed with them and will never use them again as a tour operator), advising that we required adjoining rooms as one was for our children, youngest aged 12yrs. This email was acknowledged by the hotel. We were allocated one room on the 6th floor and in the morning we found this was a nice beach/resort/seaview. Our children on the 5th floor, technically had a seaview, but it wasn't great. Your immediate eyeline was onto the vast green flat roof in front edged with hideous flower troughs and then further out the sea meeting the horizon. It wasn't a great view sitting on the balcony and not worth the extra £70. To be fair later in the stay we were offered 2 rooms on the 5th floor but declined as the view was awful and the kids had survived with us a floor apart although inconvenient.
It seems they just didn't have room allocations sorted whilst we were there with other people not getting what they paid for. IMO floors 6 and 7 are the only ones worthy of the seaview supplement.
We also had booked a late room checkout (£60) but had to move to a room on the 2nd floor which slightly defeated the object and was a bit of a pain. So those aspects irritated me and my expectations for a 4 star hotel weren't met.
With regard to the refurbishment, superficially it looks nice but I think it will deteriorate quite quickly.
Now the good stuff..........fabulous location right on the beach. Good size swimming pool. Always able to get umbrella and sunloungers without having to get up at the crack of dawn. Staff very friendly and work hard. No problem finding table for meals and tables well spaced for breakfast and dinner. I found lunch a less pleasant experience as it was more cramped, hot and WASPS.
Food did become a bit predictable but was always served at the correct temperature and regularly replenished so no food poisoning!
No problems with mossies. Generally clean.
Entertainment was average but we weren't that bothered as we wanted a quiet relaxing week. Made good use of tennis court. If you want to book the courtesy bus be quick as there aren't many seats!
No drunken behaviour, too expensive for the yobs!
Overall we enjoyed our holiday but its not quite 4 star.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview floor 6 or 7 you might get one if you're lucky. Family rooms are quite small if children are 12yr+
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuliaJ132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Dear guest,

First, thank you for visiting the lti Louis Grand and for taking the time to share your impressions.

We were pleased to read that you were happy with the location of our hotel, the size of the swimming pool, the friendliness of our staff members and the restaurant service.

We believe that our hotel merits at least a 4 star rating, especially after investing million of euros in its renovation this year. The rooms are spacious, the restaurants are numerous (3 in number) and in general, the facilities and gardens of the hotel are of a very high level. Some guests have even gone so far, as to say that the hotel is underrated at 4 stars and it should be 5.

We are sorry for the misunderstanding that took place between our reception and yourself, it was an honest mistake, and one which we hope not to repeat.

Thank you once again and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Just back from a week at the Louis Grand. The hotel is right on the beach surrounded by wooded hills and once you get away from the busy part of the beach it is a beautiful area and the sea is very clean and safe for swimming.
Our room was smaller than we are used to in other hotels but nicely decorated and furnished with plenty of storage space and apart from the beds being a bit too hard very comfortable.
The food at all meals was of a high quality with a great selection - have put on 4 lbs in a week! The staff were very friendly,helpful and hard working. The dining room is divided into 3 areas - 2 outside and 1 inside. There is plenty of space between tables and it never felt crowded. We loved the area overlooking the gardens and the sea and ate most of our meals there. However one thing that spoilt this for us was the fact that the adjacent area was a smoking area.It seems such a shame that the best place to eat should be spoilt in this way .
We did not use the hotel pool as were prefer to spend our time on quiet beaches but noticed that a lot of guests, of all nationalities, were putting towels on sunbeds in the best positions very early in the morning. A lot of hotels have now addressed this problem by removing towels if people do not use the beds within a reasonable time.
We hired a car for the week and spent some time exploring other parts of the island. It is a beautiful island and would specially recommend visiting Pelekas and Lake Korission further down the west coast. You do need to be a very competent and confident driver though as most of the roads are poorly maintained,steep,narrow and winding and the rules of the road seem to be rather different from the UK.
Although we had a great holiday we are very concerned about what happend to us and other guests we met with regard to not getting the rooms we had paid for.We had paid a supplement for a seaview room and had emailed and phoned the hotel before we travelled requesting a room on the 6th or 7th floor.When we arrived we were given a 6th floor room but with no sea view. We were told that this was because the hotel and our tour operator had overbooked seaview rooms. Although we were moved to a sea view room on a lower floor for the next 2 nights we did not get the room we had asked for until the 4th night. We appreciate that it is not always possible to grant requests but if we have paid a supplement for a seaview room we expect that to be honoured. We met 2 other british families that this happened to including one who had stayed at the hotel 6 times before and a rep from another british company said that she had guests in the same position. We travel a lot and this has never happened before and it would make us think twice about returning. We would particularly like to thank Eleftheria for her part in sorting things out for us. She was friendly ,helpful and professional and a pleasure to deal with .We would also like to thank Sandro in reception for his cheerful and helpful service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KathyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting the lti Louis Grand and for sharing your impressions.

We are pleased to read that your overall stay was enjoyable and that you enjoyed your meals appreciating the views over the sea and the gardens.

Regarding the issue you had with your upgraded room, we would like to reassure you that this is not common for us to allocate different rooms to our guests. In general, this has been a problem in the whole of Greece this year and not just at our hotels. Basically, the summer has been much busier than expected and as a result, many Tour Operators have found it difficult to accommodate the increased and sudden demand. We feel however that we have learned from our mistakes and are confident that we will not face the same problems next year.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

GREECE . . .
with many, easy to get on with english speaking locals, and its generally sunny weather
CORFU . . .
the nearest Greek island with a fair number of UK departure airports. Green and varying landscape it's easy to get around with a wide variety of scenic or modern resort types. Its 'history' is limited, predominantly 18c onwards - but virtually nothing 'ancient'
GLYPHADA . . .
is a quiet and tiny purpose-built resort; like many west coast beaches at the foot of a ravine, but you are rewarded by wide sand and clear warm waters.
The LOUIS GRAND . . .
like others in the brand leaves virtually nothing to chance. Although we arrived after a 30 minute transfer at gone 9pm, the restaurant was still serving with plenty of hot and cold choice - had we been later there's a lounge with snacks and drinks - and you should soon feel rested with welcoming staff who work long hours and keep the place clean and sand free with excellent range of food and perfectly adequate drinks on hand from 7am to midnight
TIP: email direct with your reasonable requests in advance - we asked for two neighbouring rooms on a higher floor, which is what we got, thank you! If you're high enough, the rear facing rooms face steep trees, and there's no passing traffic.
Inside ranges from quiet corners to comfortable public lounges and courtyards,
In the main evening restaurant, FOOD is copious and the choice is far wider than most other hotels (and what you might get at home!) - you'll be offered a sea view on the open balcony, a closed area, or a floral courtyard with shaded tables. TIP: gents/familes DO NOT look as if you've come straight off the beach and smile at the staff and they'll fetch you drinks and clear your tables happily and promptly. Also, an Asian themed restaurant is available once per stay - choice is limited but it's really good. TIP: start early in the Asian and if you've not found the pudding of your choice then go into the main restaurant later on for a wider range of sweets.
The lifts reassuringly never failed, the stairs are a bit steep. The cool bedroom/bathrooms are very clean having had a recent refurb - sadly with the hardest matresses I've ever encountered! TIP: put the two spare blankets under the lowest sheet. The air-con and fridge is free as is the TV but the latter only views BBC world news in English.
Outside, the green areas are not huge, however, even at the height of August we always found room in the outside bars, in the shady and sunny gardens, or round the huge, but never crowded warm pool. The blue flag beach has free loungers/shades and just walk 70 yards or so to be by yourself, or 150 yards for great snorkling around shallow rock pools with an array of colourful fish. There is some boating or parascending, it's not cheap, but it's never noisy nor dangerously close.
The animation staff work hard throughout the day, but they're not in your face - there's a good quality activity club for toddlers 4 hour a day. Daytime music is not on all the time, and you won't find it hard to avoid; and the evening music or themed entertainment varies and 'professionals' are brought in as well, three nights a week
Inland, if you've not been to Corfu you might like a car as there is so much to see. TIP: Ask for a packed lunch by 6pm the night before.
Without a car you can repeatedly use the free hotel bus into/from Corfu town, which ran to time dropping at an easy to find, shady location just off centre (ALSO It'll drop you at Aqualand on the way, but I don't think it offers a return pick up - but the local public buses do come to Glyphada). TIP: Cabs can be spendy, probably 30euro in the evening - agree a price before you commit.
Returning home via the airport appears to have improved over the years with shaded queing by day; but even in the early hours it can still be busy where it seems to cope with snacks and enough seating.
To sum up, our party of 5 (from 6 to 60yrs) were highly pleased with all inclusive at The GRAND which resembles the Louis Family Resort (ex GOLF) on the east coast with its larger grounds but with no beach to speak of; it too is quietish and reliable but closer to the main town. Either should provide you a highly satisfying rest. I would return to either without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dorsetshireboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear guest,

Your comments about the lti Louis Grand are more than welcomed and we are very pleased that your all inclusive holiday was much enjoyed.

We are happy that the great selection of food catered for all of you, as well as our services and facilities. We are sure that your suggestions and tips will be much appreciated by the readers of Tripadvisor.

As you can testify, our company has built a very good relationship with our customers during their stays in our hotels. Tripadvisor has enabled us to prolong this relationship by giving both parties the opportunity to exchange opinions and information over the internet. Now, we would like to take this relationship one step further, by giving our guests the opportunity to stay in touch with us everyday for the rest of their lives if they want to...

This step comes in the form of social media platforms and all you have to do is follow us on them. Our Quality Manager is posting inside information and fun stories on a daily basis, which makes for an interesting read.
Above all, it proves that behind this 75 year old company, there are human beings who take immense pleasure in making others, like yourself, happy.

So we invite you to follow us, for an extra spice in your life!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

To be honest we were all very disappointed with this hotel. We booked with Thomsons and paid the upgrade for sea view rooms. On check-in at 2 oclock in the morning we were given the keys to our rooms to find that they were not sea view, we advised reception immediately and was told that they would sort out in the morning. Our view was lovely (not) - over the car park and if you stuck your head over the balcony and looked left there was the sea.... There were 3 people in our room, the third bed was about 2" off the ground and not suitable for a teenager and the room was obviously meant for 2 beds not 3 because there was so little space. The following morning reception told us that we did have sea view rooms.... and that if we did want to move then it would be on the Thursday - and we checked in from the Monday. Needless to say we were not happy but had little choice which meant that we couldnt unpack until Thursday. We moved to a proper sea view room from the Thursday and the room was much better, furnished exactly the same but with more space and a suitable bed for our teenager.
Now onto the food....which is very average. There was very little variety, all very much of a muchness and we were grateful that we didnt have to endure for 2 weeks! You could pretty much second guess what would be on the menu and as another reviewer mentioned the drinks are ALL watered down.
On the plus side there were always sunbeds available and plenty of shade offered under the trees, on the downside the grassed area is infested with wasps which the hotel dont seem to bother about which is made worse by the fact that there is very little staff clearing up.
The location of this hotel is lovely, direct onto the beach but there is nothing else and you end up staying at the resort as taxi fares and food prices are very very expensive. We took an 5 minute taxi journey and they wanted €23 - rip off city. As there is nowhere else to go at night it means however that you are in the hands of the animation team whose evening entertainment can only be described as appalling. It was funny on the first night but when you are stuck in a resort and theres nothing else its not funny for long. There is nothing on at all in the evenings for teenagers so all in all very, very poor.
The other thing to be aware of is the late check out. We again paid to keep our room until 6 oc on our departure day but were told that we would have to change rooms which kind of defeats the object. We again argued and kept the room but you should be aware of this. The hotel will offer a courtesy room free of charge on your check out day so you can have a shower so paying the extra seems pointless. All in all would we go back - NO, would we recommend to a friend - NO, I would suggest if you havent booked then dont, there are far better hotels out there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denise Crompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Dear guest,

First, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the lti Louis Grand.

We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not enjoyable in our renovated lti Louis Grand Hotel.
It is disappointing that due to a misunderstanding at the reception you were forced to endure 3 days of your holiday in a different room than the one you booked. Mistakes happen, but it is not an excuse, and we apologize.

Regarding the food, on one hand, we are surprised because the theme dinner changes every night. This allows us to satisfy a variety of guests' preferences. On the other hand, we also feel that there is room for improvement and the management of the hotel, as well as the Head Chef, have been informed accordingly. Our expectations of them are very very high and we feel confident that our comments and suggestions will be put to good effect.

Regarding the drinks, we would not say that they are watered now, however we have the responsibility to protect our guests from getting drunk, therefore our cocktails may sometimes not seem so strong.
Nevertheless, guests are still aloud to drink as much as they want and our staff is encouraged to make the drinks stronger if the customer so requests.
We ask for your understanding on this matter because it is easy to make a weak drink stronger, whereas it is impossible to make a strong drink weaker.

Regarding the taxi, we are sure that you appreciate that we have no influence on its prices, as with every destination, guests need to always be weary of being charged over the top.

Finally, regarding the location as well as the entertainment, our hotel is much appreciated for its quiet nature and if you were looking for a more active holiday, we would suggest the Louis Kerkyra Golf in Corfu or the Louis Phaethon Beach in Paphos, Cyprus.

Overall, we feel that you expected something different from the holiday you booked, and this is why you were left unsatisfied.

We would kindly like to advise you to contact us directly in the future before booking any one of our hotels, just to make sure that the holiday you book will be aligned with your expectations.

Thank you once again and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and the fact it’s a ‘Louis’. Going in August we were worried that the place would be heaving. It was busy but never crowded although we did tend to eat at the beginning of each sitting to avoid crowds.
Location – For us, it was a great location as we did not want to be in a resort.
Reception - Arrived just after 9pm, tired and hungry. Really impressed with the staff who gave us our all inc wrist bands along with directions to the restaurant and told to come and book in properly once we were fed and rested. Had e-mailed them directly before asking for rooms on a higher level.
Rooms - Got 613/614 (non sea view) which are refurbished ones. Clean and modern. Loads of storage and hangers. Only niggle –rooms are narrow and we kept stubbing toes and scrapped legs on beds. However, a minor point. The wooden floor is a bad choice on noise terms! People arrive and leave the hotel 24 hours a day and for the first two nights that’s all we heard but funnily enough not much after that. Boils down to other guests being considerate..... The beds are hard even by my standards but the pillows were very comfortable.
We always hire a safe and although they are small, there is room for passports, papers, tickets, cameras, phones, purses etc. I did think 3.50 Euro a day is a bit steep but it’s in line with what we have been charged elsewhere.
Outside areas – We sat under pine trees on the grass for the first few days until we realised we were being covered in droplets of sap! Plenty of loungers to choose from though.
Pool - There is a tiny pool for babes but the main pool is the biggest one I have ever seen at a Greek resort. The pool got busy at about 5pm (after water polo finished and everyone needed cooling off)
Animation team – did a good job. They were the least ‘in your face’ team we had come across. We were informed about all the activities as they were about to start but were not made to feel we were being dragged in to it. Between us we did archery, water polo and water aerobics. Our daughter asked to go to kids clubs and did three mornings at the end of our stay. It was a god send for a rapidly tiring child. Having somewhere she could sit quietly and do colouring, cutting and sticking (her all time favourite activities) made her a changed child.
Evening entertainment – kids mini disco is 9-9:30pm. Entertainment is what you expect, a bit cheesy but absolutely fine and. There was a quiz night, beach party (not attended), magician (cheese personified, but he obviously really takes it seriously and the kids loved it), Greek dancing, singers.
The food - was the most authentically Greek we have ever had at an all inc. Yes some meat was a bit over cooked, but generally it was all very tasty, well presented, kept piping hot and replenished regularly. Lots of seafood dishes. I can be fussy but tried lots of the vegetable dishes that wouldn’t be my normal thing and I loved them. The in between meal snacks was the best we have seen. Proper sandwiches made from wraps, French sticks and regular sandwich loaf bread. Also chips, burgers etc. Staff walked around outside at 11am with melon which was lovely.
Beach – It’s pretty clean, the sea is clear, fish to see around the rocky areas at the far end of the beach. Loungers/umbrellas free to the beach guests or go further along the beach and its empty.
Shuttle bus – the hotel runs a complementary bus in to Corfu town, book in advance. We took the 9am out with return at 12:45pm.
The shop - I assume privately operated. Staff a bit rude and items expensive (clothes/jewellery mainly) but if you want drinks, crisps etc just go the beach shops.
I shall try to address some of the negative comments people have made
Wasps – yes, agree, there are quite a lot of wasps, although we did see ground staff trying to deal with them. If people were to be a bit tidier in the outside areas there wouldn’t be such an issue. They do come on the balcony of the main restaurant as well though so eat inside or in the shady court yard and don’t drop food in the floor.
Rude employees – we didn’t experience any problems. No doubt when guests are rude to them to start with they won’t be too friendly. Cleaning staff did not make eye contact but were not rude. There were strikes going on while we were there (that did not impact us at all) so perhaps the over- all mood was not good. We noticed that many of the catering staff worked from breakfast (7am) though lunch to dinner closing (10pm) for the full 10 days we were there. They must be shattered so all credit to them for keeping going.
Water – yes, you get supplied with one bottle on arrival and it can be refilled at any bar. Tourists creates loads of rubbish so I was very pleased to only have one bottle. Plus, we had bottles from the plane. Most of the time during the day we had drinks in glasses so didn’t need the bottles anyway.
I agree that more staff are needed at the pool/beach bar and I think the staff know that too. In other hotels we have been to you can self serve hot and soft drinks but being so close to the beach I guess non hotel guests may come and abuse it.
Air con – we had no problems although we found you did have to jiggle the patio doors a bit to get them in the right position to get the connection that allows it to kick in.
Generally we never go back to the same place twice as we think there are so many places in the world to visit but we love Corfu and would definitely consider it as a venue to return to.

Room Tip: email hotel directly if you have a request
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank needaholiday726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Dear loyal guest,

We thank you for choosing the lti Louis Grand and for taking the time to write a detailed review about us.

It is pleasant to see that you enjoyed our new refurbished rooms, our facilities and our services. We are glad that you loved Corfu and that you had an excellent family holiday. Your positive comments regarding our staff members are much welcomed and will be shared with them.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in another Louis Hotel.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews