We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
lti Louis Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glyfada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have just returned from an excellent week at the Louis Grand in Glyfada. Even though we arrived at 4am the check-in service was efficient and staff were friendly. Our room was lovely - very spacious and cleaned every day, even though some days the housekeeping staff didn't get access til midday! There was a great selection of food - never boring - and the waiting staff were attentive and always ready to help. The hotel had a very talented entertainment team (Joy, Chip and Sita) who were always willing to organise games for adults and children, without making you feel pressurised into joining in. Sun loungers were always available, nbot matter how late we surfaced! We would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to anyone considering Corfu, even with the wasps, which didn't bother us too much, as we chose to eat indoors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floors 4-6 if possible - these give the best view and the balconies are a decent s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear guest,

Many thanks to you for having decided to spend your holidays at the Iti Louis Grand and for leaving such a charming note online. We are thrilled to hear that you had an excellent week at our hotel and that you very much appreciated our friendly, attentive and helpful staff, your lovely, spacious and clean room, as well as the great selection of tasty food on offer. Thank you also for praising our talented entertainment team. We are so happy to hear that you would definitely return and are grateful to you for recommending the Iti Louis Grand to anyone considering beautiful Corfu. See you soon for another fantastic break!

Yours truly

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,342 - 1,348 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have just returned from the Loius Grand Hotel. We were welcomed by friendly efficient staff. Our room was lovely, very spacious & clean. It was ready for us upon our arrival.
The food was excellent, with plenty of choice. The public areas were spotless, tables were cleared away very quickly to avoid the wasps becoming a problem. a few people had taken sprays which seemed to work well.
The staff were all very friendly & helpful.
The beach is lovely, very private & clean. The sea was so warm.
The Simply Corfu trip offered by Thomson was excellent, really enjoyable. The tour guide "Elena", was so knowledgeable & very friendly.
The Sundowner trip was not very good value for money, we felt that it was overpriced!
Our Thomson rep Allie, was also lovely & again very knowledgeable & helpful.
Corfu town is worth a visit. The coutesy bus is a great bonus!
There were people of all ages staying at the hotel, all of whom appeared to be enjoying their holiday.
We would definately recommend it & would love to got back again, but next time for 2 weeks instead of 1!!

Room Tip: Level 6 has excellent rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharonbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear guest,

On behalf of the Iti Louis Grand we thank you for your charming review as well as for staying at our hotel.

What better review could we expect! We are delighted to hear that you felt very welcome when entering our premise and that you appreciated the friendliness of our efficient staff, our lovely, spacious and very clean room, as well as the excellent food served. In addition, we are glad that you found the beach lovely and clean and that you truly enjoyed the 'Simply Corfu' trip, which was offered to you by Thomson.

Thank you very much for recommending the Iti Louis Grand and we would also love to see you back again, and next time for two weeks instead of one!

Very kind regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Louis Grand Glyfada review
We travelled in peak season with 2 children aged 5 and 1 and with 2 grand parents, this was our first time to Corfu, first peak season holiday with kids and first time as an extended family unit.
When we arrived we had to wait a while for the rooms to be allocated and it did look really busy for the 4/5 reception staff so although very tired we calmly waited patiently. When allocated rooms on the 7th floor I was not happy with my apparent sea view room which also overlooked noisy industrial style air conditioning units. I paid for a sea view room and had emailed them before arriving to make a point about having a 'good' seaview room. True if you looked to the left you could see the sea but look straight you overlooked the car park and to the right was the road and hills. I complained at reception and after being told the room I had was a sea view room they said they wanted us to be happy so would look into it but the room could only be changed the next day after I had inspected it. I was happy with this, but know of other people who weren't and made official complaints about losing a day of holiday. Being unreasonable on holiday is not a good way to relax and so I played along, and it paid off. Although a floor down we ended up with a double balcony room with amazing sea views, a lot more space, everything better laid out and working well, it was perfect for us. The grand parents who had been placed near us originally were also happy with there room which was a corner view top room, so happy days. And happy days it certainly was. The location is fantastic, an amazing sandy beach, beautiful sea extending from the hotels landscaped garden. Sunbeds umbrellas are free, just get there early if like us you needed 2 sets of beds and umbrellas near each other and want to be near the front. We're not swimming pool people but I think the same applies here too, just got to say I can't understand why you would want to go the pool with such a great beach 20ft behind you but all to there own. We had some lovely days playing in the rich stone less sand making fortresses, tunnels, digging ourselves in the sand, swimming, looking for shells etc, it was so lovely. For information this side of the island is more exposed and we did have very wavy days but we also had very calm sea days. The standard water sports facility is to the right of the hotel, 10 euros for an hour on the pedalo, not bad. Further up the beach to the right is a small holiday area where people rent apartments on the sea and a few shops a taverna and bar are located there. Aloha white, the bar can get noisy from late afternoon to sunset when the music stops. It is very much for the young people and expect to find lots of italians, Italy is not far from Corfu. To the left of the hotel there is just empty beach and rocks, a nice walk.
Food is good to very good but sometimes it was not good too. Variety is always very good, found it funny on the Greek night when one bald headed tattooed English 'gentleman' complained the food was all Greek. It wasn't but we were in Greece! Most nights have themes but there is always food that will keep the English happy, meat chips pasta etc and lots of dessert! One day the souvlaki was undercooked and so we quiety complained to the kitchen manager, problem fixed straight away. Some of the workers are foreign (not Greek), they are nice but clearly the Greek staff really knew what they were doing. I must say the staff generally were very helpful, friendly and polite. Wasps are found in outside areas but unlike some silly people, don't run away from them just shoo them away. Like I said we have small children and I am not scared of wasps so the first few days I was being quite forceful with my getting rid of the wasps, which was unnecessary as they are not aggressive at all, just persistent. They never attacked me and just needed shooing away. If its a problem for you make sure to sit inside for breakfast and dinner. Bad points were you have to pay for the safe 3.50 euros a day and wifi is not free costing 5 euros for a card for 90 minutes in total (so can be used over a long period if you remember to log out each time) or 10 euros for unlimited 24 hour period. Internet is ok, not superfast and signal was poor in the 6th floor but good closer to reception on the 3rd floor. The free bus is handy to town but book at least a day before to not be disappointed. We used the public bus service too as the hotel bus although did run in the morning quite often the last bus back was at 2pm. But it only cost 2.20 euros from town to Glyfada. It is a 25-30 minute journey from airport/town to Glyfada but 45 minutes on bus. We also got a cab from town which cost 50 euros for the 6 of us in a small minibus type cab. From the airport I think the rate should be a bit more than this so 60 euros but we got a free transfer so I am not sure. Be aware the roads can be very windy, hilly and narrow so those who get travel sick, this is not a pleasant journey, otherwise enjoy the views, they are beautiful.
Generally speaking we absolutely loved this holiday, the hotel and location made it maybe the best holiday we have had. We are well travelled around the Mediterranean Iberia and north Africa and although for quality of hotels Cyprus is better, for location travel distance from the UK, quality of hotel the Louis Geand at Glyfada is amazing and I can see us returning many many times 5 stars for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akaponem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear guest,

Let us thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays at the Iti Louis Grand and for leaving such a gorgeous comment on Tripadvisor.

It gives us great pleasure knowing that you were very content with the second room you were allocated to, in particular because it was spacious and had a stunning view overlooking the sea from the balcony. In addition, we are pleased to hear that you found our hotel's location absolutely fantastic, the sandy beach truly amazing, and the sea refreshing. We are happy that our food as well as its variety was to your liking and that you found our staff members very helpful, friendly and polite. We would like to apologize one more time for the first room that was allocated to you and which did not fully meet your expectations, but are pleased that the second one suited you perfectly. We realized that only a small percentage of our guests actually make use of safety boxes/Internet, and have thus excluded the charges for them from the room price. Like this we can be fairer to our clients and offer them even better value for money and make those pay for it who want to utilize those services.

It cheers us up when reading that you absolutely loved this holiday, our hotel and the location and that all those factors probably made your holiday the best one you have had so far, what an honor! We are grateful to you for highly praising our hotel and for considering it 5 star rather than 4 star! We are looking forward to seeing you again at the Iti Louis Grand, the sooner the better!

Kindly yours

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Sept 2012 spent 7 days at the hotel stayed in a swim up room weather was very good although bad storm on last night and airport closed for two hours next day when flying home. Billed as 4 star, room was okay, but air con poor, bathroom was disappointing as it was in need of a refurb and constantly smelt of drains. Food was okay bit similar, staff generally good, had to laugh when we went to the Thai restaurant as we had Sushi on offer, and sweet and sour pork, not Thai but it was nice food. Corfu town and the shops are worth a visit. Beach and sunsets fantastic, generally clean hotel, reasonable Gym and activities. from 14th Sept begins to wind down would not return, but enjoyable, graffiti on road approaching hotel and rubbish on the roadside a bit off putting but ignore this as it is not a bad hotel.

Room Tip: Take key of fob and run air con 24/7 slightly cools room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear guest,

On behalf of the Iti Louis Grand we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday accommodation and for a review on Tripadvisor.

Your comments are very helpful and we are glad to see that you had an enjoyable time, admiring your nice swim up room, the very good weather, our friendly staff members, our good gym and activities, as well as the fantastic beach and sunsets, and the cleanliness in our hotel. We are sorry to hear about the fact that there was a bad storm on the last night, resulting in the airport having to close for two hours next day when you were flying home. Also, we would like to assure you that the air-conditioning will be taken into consideration and changes will be applied if found necessary. Finally regarding the Asian restaurant please be aware that we do not advertise it anywhere as a Thai restaurant; on the contrary we have given it the general name of 'Asian' in order to provide as wide a variety of Asian cuisines as possible.

Thank you for considering the Iti Louis Grand a good hotel and we hope that we can one day welcome you back to our or any other hotel for another enjoyable holiday, away from the bad weather in the UK.

Yours faithfully

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Just returned from a week at this resort. All in all we had a lovely time lazing in the sun. Before we flew we had seen the comments about the wasps and were fearing the worst. There are a great many of them but, at least away from the outside restaurant we found them to be very docile, similar to flies in this country and easy to bat away. It would have been better had they not been around, or if we had been warned of the problem when we booked as I understand they are connected to the grape harvest.

The restaurants offered a good quality and reasonably diverse selection of food and we never had a problem finding somewhere to sit. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and didn't mind our faltering efforts to communicate in Greek. We had one of the swim up rooms which was an absolute god send. It is possible that the wasps were more of a problem in the main pool area, but having access to a small restricted access pool (swim up pools run half the length of the hotel and all the suites on each half open up onto their respective pool) was a real treat.

Transfer from the main airport was about 30-40 mins with the route we took with only one stop on the way and check-in was speedy. Beach towels were available for the week following a 10 euro deposit per towel and a room safe was present but getting the key cost an additional 3.50 euro per day. Rep on site was extremely helpful and easy to get hold of. Room was comfortable, although bed very firm.

There is some room for improvement though. Aside from the wasp issue... We had some nesting birds in the balcony two floors up from our level, they had produced a spectacular pile of droppings which didn't appear to have been dealt with. No smell it just looked a bit grim and as the young had flown could have been dealt with periodically to reduce the amount present. There was a three inch deep pile to the left of our room which I'd rather have not seen.

From a general hotel facility point of view... There are no toilet facilities on the same level as the main bar and restaurant, it might seem a bit petty but I found this bizarre having to spend time going up and down stairs and then waiting as there were not enough facilities available. We tended to take wine and beer to our room in the evening to get around this but if we hadn't had our private decking area we'd have been less inclined to do so. Bar staff were mostly present, no self service of drinks.

In short: avoid wasp season and get swim up room

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are worth the extra, if only to (largely) avoid the wasp issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxedchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Iti Louis Grand and for taking your time to share your opinion with the online community.

It gives us joy hearing that you admired our restaurants which offered a good quality and reasonably diverse selection of nice food, that you found our staff very friendly and helpful, and that you were very content with the comfortable swim up room, you calling them god send. We are grateful to you for your suggestion concerning the nesting birds as well as the addition of toilets. We are already in process of implementing specialized fans to decrease the number of the wasps as good as possible. Your remark concerning toilet facilities will be taken into account and changes will be made if and where necessary.

Thank you once again for taking your time and we hope that you will soon surprise us or one of our other beautiful Louis Hotels with a return visit, next time not in the harvest season.

Best regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Check in was quick friendly reception staff, the room was not ready this was not a problem just went for a drink whilst we waited. Room was clean and spacious.

The food was very good you can always find something to eat. I was not impressed with the Asian restaurant, we went in there to celebrate our wedding anniversary, we had to clear our own plates between courses the food was very average in there.

The pools and beach are very clean and the childrens pool has a huge parasol over it to protect them from the sun.round the pool music is played for about an hour would of been nice if they played more music.there is also no music in the main indoor lounge/bar area,


We were here for 2 weeks and was starting to get board with not being able to walk anywhere for this reason and the wasps we would not return here i got stung as our friend did in the day you cant get away from the wasps . That aside we met some lovely people here and we all have our own opinions of what makes a good holiday .we would return to greece but would try another island.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotansunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen to stay at the Iti Louis Grand and for taking your time to write a comment on Tripadvisor.

Firstly, let us congratulate you and your partner on your wedding anniversary and may your following years together be filled with love, health and happiness. It gives us great pleasure reading that you found the check-in efficiently done by our friendly staff members, and that you admired your clean and spacious room. Also, it pleases us seeing that our very good and varied food on offer was to your liking, that you enjoyed the very clean pools and beach, and that you met some lovely people here. However, we are saddened to hear that you were not fully impressed with the Asian restaurant and would like to inform you that future plans/changes/ideas are under discussion concerning the menu. We are grateful to you for your suggestion of playing more music in the pool area as well as the main indoor lounge/bar area; we will take it into consideration and apply changes wherever found necessary. Finally, we regret hearing that you got stung by the wasps. We absolutely comprehend your annoyance; however we hope for your understanding that especially during August/September, the amount of wasps is the most, due to the harvest of grapes. Nevertheless, please rest assured that the introduction of secondary specialized fans is in sight.

It was our pleasure having you here at the Iti Louis Grand and we hope that the issues with the wasps will not prevent you from returning. You have mentioned yourself that you would love to come back to Greece. If you prefer an island with fewer wasps, let us suggest you our other beautiful Louis Hotels that are located in Zakynthos, Rhodes, Mykonos, as well as Crete. Hope to see you soon!

Kind regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

we have just come home from 11 lovely days here we had a problem when we first got there they put us in a side room with little sea view which we had paid for but we did have a view of the delivery area and a giant boiler room a few feet which made an awfull lot of noise 24 hr room number 410 we asked to be moved they said they could maybe move us in 4 days time and that was the best they could do in the end i had to ask to speak to the assistant manager who was not very nice but offered us another room nearly as bad as the last in the end we were moved to a lovely room( perfect) the wasps were dreadfull my partner got stung badly but the hotels doctor was very helpfull i will try to show a photo they only seem to be a problem at lunch time it is a shame they could not drop down some nets during lunch time the food was lovely the rooms spotless not a lot of entertainment but we were there for a restfull time and thats what we had i would love to go back again but sadly we will no be able to due to the wasp problem but if that should get sorted we would love to go back

Room Tip: room 410 avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at lti Louis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear guest,

Let us thank you for visiting the Iti Louis Grand and for sharing your comment with the online community.

We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your last room and that you found it perfect. Also, it pleases us seeing that you admired our food on offer, the spotless rooms, and that you would love to come back to our hotel whenever the wasp problem is sorted out. We are sorry to hear that the first room did not meet your expectations and that you got upset with the wasps. We inform you that Corfu is generally a 'hive' for wasps in August/September due to the harvest of grapes, which takes place all over the island. However we are doing our utmost to reduce this problem by using specialized fans.

We are confident that the fans will have a positive impact on the wasp issue and therefore hope that you will gratify the Iti Louis Grand with a return visit. If you prefer a place with no wasps, please have a look at our other beautiful Louis Hotels, either in Greece or Cyprus. Our other hotels are located in Zakynthos, Crete, Rhodes, Mykonos, as well as in 5 other places in sunny Cyprus.

Yours faithfully

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glyfada
4.9 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
8.3 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,474 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
14.5 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#2 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to lti Louis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lti Louis Grand Hotel

Address: Glyfada Beach | Pelekas, PO Box 44, Glyfada 491 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Glyfada
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glyfada
Price Range: £101 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — lti Louis Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your lti Louis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Louis Grand
Louis Grand Pelekas
Lti Louis Grand Hotel Corfu/Glyfada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing