We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahh...Amazing and relaxing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portobello By The Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We found this to be the best self-contained place we have stayed at in a long time! It was clean, relaxing, conveniently located. Dicky Beach is located right across the road and the concrete walkway right round the coast made for beautiful photos, calming wanders and gentle morning bike rides. The pool area was our children's favourite place to be. We found the hotel to be extremely well cared for right down to the beautiful gardens, clean pool area, and very friendly staff from reception to maintenance. We stayed in the three bedroom/two bathroom apartment which was well appointed and extremely clean. We loved the way it was laid out and found that it was nice and spacious. These things made it a completely relaxing week away. We would definitely recommend this to anyone, and we will definitely be having another holiday here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moss698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Right from my initial booking via the internet, it was a pleaseure to stay and deal with all at Portobello By The Sea at Dicky Beach Caloundra. Value for money I could not fault it. location location location. Clean, spacoius, ample parking , great pool and gardens, friendly staff, right near, supermarket, bakery, bottle shop, surf shop, eateries and a short stroll to Dicky Beach. wish we could have stayed longer, definately our first choice next time we visit Caloundra

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marksquizzytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a one bedroom apartment. It was very spacious, very clean, comfortable on the ground floor and surrounded by lovely tropical gardens and the pool nearby. We were late arrivals and the keys were there as we had been notified by email. The pool towels we hired for $2 each the following day. We kept these for our stay. The self catering option appealed to us. There was a microwave, an electric hotplate with 2 plates and a full size refrigerator and a full laundry (behind cupboards). There was plenty of implements in the kitchen and bathroom was enormous. The bedroom was very comfortable and for most of the time very peaceful apart from one night where there was a group of rowdy out of control guests who had returned from a wedding…..somewhat noisy. The outside balcony was quite private which was very welcome. The pool was really lovely and warm. The beach was just a walk across the road. A great walk to Moffat Beach. There is a great little group of shops just outside Portobello which offers a grocer, pharmacy, restaurants, fish and chips x 3, bakery and butcher. They are all great and very handy. Just be prepared when arriving late as there is no bathroom pack or tissues so BYO all. We were very grateful to have room in the middle of the complex and not on the roadway. Our experience may have been quite different had we been on the road side of the complex.

Room Tip: ring the facility personally and speak with the owners about reservations rather than use a booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had a 2 bedroom apartment, good location right across the road from the beach. There was not much around, although a free bus to the Caloundra RSL in the evenings, and a short (but expensive $5.20) bus ride. The pool was also nice for a swim. The apartment was clean and spacious, just what we needed for a week away from Sydney.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLS2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a 1 bedroom spa suit. Very clean, roomy. Had nice modern furnishings. Across the road from the beach, although no view. The pool was really nice and it was heated. Beside the Portobello is an IGA, takeaway shop, bakery, coffee shop, chemist & surf shop.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Loved Portobellos, great service on arrival & throughout our stay. Apartment (like a house really!) perfect for a family of 5/6. Perfect location & amazing rates. Great value for $$$... we'll be back for sure

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Portobello By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Hi Sonya, thank you for taking the time to review us. We loved the family holiday shots of the apartment and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Those 3 Bedroom apartments really are the size of a house and are a fantastic size for a family of 6.

Looking forward to seeing you and your family for another holiday!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My daughter and I stayed here recently and we were extremely disappointed with the cleanliness of the unit. The door to the shower/spa had not been cleaned for sometime, there was thick black mould on the bottom of it. The air conditioner was not strong enough to cool down the entire unit, even after having it on constantly for 3 days. The fridge could not keep milk cold even when I changed the setting. The picture of the pool is very deceiving as it is no where big enough for the size of the complex, there were 24 people in it a few days while we were there. Overall, I would not recommend Portobello by the sea and I would never go back. The other fact that there is only a lift to the third floor and only on one side of the complex is a worry for people trying to cart luggage up flights of stairs. The one good thing was the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Portobello By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Hi Natalie, let me start by saying how disappointed we were to hear that you and your daughter did not enjoy your stay in Caloundra and at Portobello By The Sea.

We do however appreciate your feedback and glad that we had the opportunity to discuss your concerns that you bought to our attention upon check out. All matters have been attended to.

Unfortunately though the size of the swimming pool can't be changed but it was our busy holiday season and yes we do have quite a lot of families who stay with us who love to use the pool. Once again thank you for taking the time to review us and we wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dicky Beach
1.6 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
2.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
544 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ocean Views Resort
Ocean Views Resort
#11 of 16 in Caloundra
248 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
876 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sails Resort on Golden Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello By The Sea

Address: Portobello 6 Beerburrum St, Dicky Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra > Dicky Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Dicky Beach
Price Range: £69 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello By The Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable 4 star luxury Caloundra Holiday Accommodation, just an hour’s drive north from Brisbane. Portobello By The Sea is located opposite beautiful Dicky Beach, an unspoilt stretch of sun-drenched white sand, on Queensland's magnificent Sunshine Coast. With a superb patrolled beach at the front door, excellent for both swimming and surfing, a holiday at Portobello will be both refreshing and memorable.The spacious one, two and three bedroom Caloundra resort apartments are set amidst landscaped tropical gardens and feature an open-plan design with large timber decks or private balconies to enjoy the sea breezes whilst enjoying your Caloundra holiday. Laze by the lagoon style heated pool with wading area perfect for the children, or enjoy a sizzling BBQ by the poolWith local shops, restaurants and cafes nearby, just park your car and relax whilst on vacation on the Sunshine Coast. And when it's time to take in the sights, Portobello is only minutes away from the heart of Caloundra and close to all the major tourist attractions on the Sunshine Coast - Australia Zoo, Underwater World, Montville, Maleny, The Glass House Mountains, The Hinterlands and so much more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portobello By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing