We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Surf Popoyo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Brio(Playa Gigante)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aqua Wellness Resort(Playa Redonda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa(Playa Manzanillo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buena Vista Surf Club(Playa Maderas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
HulaKai Hotel(Playa Maderas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arte-Sano Hotel Cafe(San Juan del Sur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
111
15
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
15
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizzahis wifeplace to staytiramisuexcellent locationgreat foodair conditioningawesome staffevery mealpoint breakplace is greatwe loved our stayprivate bathroomfilippoboattripsspots
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Filippo is the man, and his surf camp is the best in Popoyo. He took great care of us, from the airport transfer to the putting us on waves every day via boat trips and 4x4. His crew is top notch, and they have the waves in Nica dialed, so you will always be at the wave that is working the best... They also have the best food around, with the best breakfast on the point and mad juices for the juice connoisseur in all of us. They have hammocks for you to lounge in and about a dozen coconut trees for you to feast on after a long session. I haven't been to a surf camp yet that matches what you will get at Club Surf. If you are thinking about going to Nica, check out Filippos place.. YWB

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dylan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Filippo, Yerrard and their crew showed us the best hospitality that we've ever gotten in a surf camp. Great food, great people, and great vibes. We surfed at least two sessions everyday on world class waves including Popoyo, Playgrounds, Lances Left, and Santana. The boat trips and 4x4 trips were efficient and quality. The air conditioned rooms with hot water were perfect for the traveling surfer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon_Early
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed by Popoyo point for two months and learned the area well. Out of all the hotel/hostel/camp options on the beach, Club Surf was the best. It is the only full service hotel on the beach. While Club Surf is a hotel, it is also a surf camp. The owner provides competitively priced surf trips guided by Club Surf's resident local surf expert. Their surf guide and photographer, Jerald, will put you on the right break at the right time. He will get great pictures; just catch the wave. Cheap boat trips and nature tours are also available, just ask! Don't get stuck miles away from the beach paying a surf camp close to $1000/week. Save hundreds of dollars and book your trip with Club Surf's owner, Filippo. He will take care of your airport transfers, make sure you have a clean air conditioned room, feed you well, and put you on the best waves Nicaragua has to offer. Do the full service camp thing for less money without being locked into a steep price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed in Popoyo for two weeks. We didn't live at Club Surf Popoyo but we ate there pretty much every night. The owners are amazing and the pizzas are really good ! Good food to a good price. Best in Popoyo !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hyllkant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We (me, my husband and friend, who came to visit us) stayed at Club Surf Popoyo for 2 nights to spend time at the beach and do some surfing. The hotel is wonderful - clean, neat, with nice air-conditioned rooms, so that we were enjoying our sleep and didn't bother for the heat. Owners - Filippo and Barbara - are a wonderful couple, very friendly and ready to help, give you any information you need and cook the most tasty pizza in whole Nicaragua (beleive me, I know what I say). When you're at Tola, you forget about the rest of the world, still free wi-fi was very helpful sometimes. We're certainly planning to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews