We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for adventurous traveler wanting someting more than just perfect waves!”
Review of Soma Surf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Soma Surf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Popoyo is known mainly for perfect waves year round, but also it offers a variety of other points of interest besides, and Soma is the perfect place to make it happen. Whether it be yoga, visiting Chacocente Turtle Reserve, hiking Mombacho, ziplining, horseback riding, taking a day trip into Granada or just reading a book all day long drinking the best Mojito of your life while hanging out in a hammock, Soma Surf Resort will make it happen - and they'll make it happen in style.

Soma Surf Resort is an upscale, but simple and elegant resort set in the hills of Tola, 10 minutes from some of the best surf breaks in the world. And it's hosts, Casey and Bill Morton, will make your stay perfection. The on premises restaurant offers some of the best food in the area, and they'll even insist you take a ride to the beach with someone from their staff to purchase the day's fish offering freshly caught, a must-do when visiting Soma.

Definitely a great place to visit and chill out, and ladies, if your man is looking to go surfing and you're worried about having nothing to do while he's out in the water, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristinFitGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

Nestled among the greenest mountains in Playa Gussacate is Soma Surf Resort.
Soma is the amazing creation of Casey and Bill Morton, who are truly committed to every need of their guests.
We just returned from 5 fantastic days where my 15 year old son was able to surf all the different famous surf spots, and chase after the waves with his surf guide. I, on the other hand, prefer the 2 feet on land, was able to sightsee and relax by the gorgeous by pool overlooking the exquisite landscape that Soma offers.
I left there feeling terribly spoiled, as every need and whim was met by the local staff, as well as inspired by the amazing talent and dedication of the owners at Soma.
Already planning our next trip back!
Something for every family member!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbh7775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I have travelled extensively with my young son to many areas of the world . Our experience with Soma Resort was one of most amazing. The location and amenities can not be matched. The attention to detail, knowledge of the area, kindness and hospitality made it difficult to leave and insured our return in the near future. Thanks Casey, Bill and staff for helping us catch great waves and build a lasting fondness for Nicaragua, the land, people, animals and surf. We will always remember and always return.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pbull96959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

20 miles off the paved road through the Nicaraguan countryside brings you to what can only be described as a small miracle of a boutique resort. Located a short drive from the world class surfing beaches of Guasacate and Popoyo lies Soma surf resort. Although conceived as an upscale surfer's accommodation, Soma can satisfy the interests of all kinds of guests. My wife and I have traveled the world and have never stayed in a more peaceful and relaxing place.The grounds are beautifully landscaped and have a 360 degree view of the surrounding countryside.You can float in the small tiled infinity pool and see and hear the Pacific Ocean. There are several well designed spaces for guests to sit and relax separately from other guests. Each has it's own unique appeal from a small bar to comfortable hammocks. All this on one hilltop acre. Our bungalow was spacious and simply, but tastefully, appointed. The staff is very friendly and eager to please. While the choices are limited, the menu offers a nice variety of meals and drinks. Every meal we had was delicious. You must try the mojitos. Getting there is an adventure but absolutely worth it. We highly recommend Soma.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

My mom and I decided to take a girls week and spent five days at the Soma Resort. It exceeded our expectations, amenities are comparable to boutique luxury resorts in the states and Europe which was a pleasant surprise. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and the eco-consciousness of the resorts construction allows it to blend into the Nicaraguan landscape. The restaurant is also spectacular with very affordable but delectable dishes that highlight the produce and ingredients available in the country. Since there are limited options in the area, many residents and other travelers frequented for lunch and dinner while we stayed. As far as activities went we were never bored, the owners have a wide range of options including Yoga, Boogie Boarding, Surfing, Kickboxing, Tours of Mumbacho, ziplining in the jungle canopies, visiting coffee farms, touring Granada and horseback riding on the beach. The highlight for us though was being able to come back and rest our minds and bodies, lounging by the pool and listening to the sounds of the jungle around us. Great first vacation to Latin America, beyond rejuvenating!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cryork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We had an amazing trip to Nicaragua. Soma Surf Resort made our trip that much better. If you are a surfer , its right in the heart of the best breaks in Nicaragua but Soma brings the best of both worlds together. Great surf in a peaceful, relaxing and very upscale resort. I dont think anything else could come close.

The beauty of Soma was that you could go play hard all day (surf, hike, horseback ride, take day trips to Granada or the volcanoes) and return to a high class resort to eat, rest and hangout. Soma is located in the quiet hills above Guasacate Beach break and Popoyo Reef, two incredible waves. It's a 5 minute drive to the beach.

The bungalow we stayed in was top notch and very comfortable (brand new). You will find that this resort and the staff ( Hola Casey, Bill, Danny and crew!) are one of a kind - 5 stars for this part of the world for sure.

Tip- Because this resort is located in the rural Pacific coast, we would recommend you rent a 4WD truck and hire a driver (which can be arranged by Soma).

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JJluvTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I traveled to Nicaragua with my family without high expectations but was pleasantly suprised. During our week long vacation I most liked the lack of tourists and therefore relativelly unspoiled coastline and nature. Soma Surf Resort also offered more than we expected! It is classy, clean, and inviting,and blends in with the surrounding landscape. And what incredible views to the back and front. We are not surfers, but had lots to do including a great spot for R & R. The owners, Casey and Bill, are really friendly and went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable and that we had things to do when we felt like more adventure. They provided a driver for us, which was a real plus! It took the stress out of the fact that none of us spoke Spanish or, of course, knew our way around. They also have very fresh and tasty food, great Mohitos, and juice elixirs with a hint of ginger. This resort and part of Nicaragua is worth the trip. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Popoyo
0.5 mi away
La Jolla de Guasacate
La Jolla de Guasacate
#1 of 1 in Las Salinas
44 reviews
9.4 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
637 reviews
18.4 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
10.8 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
410 reviews
20.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soma Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soma Surf Resort

Address: Playa Guasacate, Popoyo, Tola, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola > Popoyo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Popoyo
Price Range: £109 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soma Surf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy world class surfing, expert surf lessons, guided surf excursions, yoga, natural hot springs, tidal pools and more. Soma has a full service restaurant serving fresh fare with a distinct flavor using natural ingredients where you will truly savor the "farm to table" experience. Enjoy our infinity pool an open air rancho with hammocks, free WIFI plus many more amenities. We are a resort sustainably built with a portion of our proceeds benefiting local charities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Soma Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soma Surf Resort Nicaragua/Popoyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing