We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING! Like staying with family!”
Review of Soma Surf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Soma Surf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2011

When I arrived I couldn't believe my eyes... I thought, "I left NYC this morning and I have landed in heaven." Not only is the place unbelievably beautiful, Casey and Bill (the owners) and their whole staff are so down-to-earth and make you feel like you are at home... a home in paradise! The food is delicious and such a great price. The drinks are unbelievably good. Anything you want, they make it for you. Everything is so fresh. They are so knowledgeable about the local produce and were great at suggesting things I might like to try. The private bungalow was so clean and comfortable. Activities we did were surfing, hot springs, Mombacho, horse back riding, getting massages, shopping, and of course being lazy in the hammocks and by the pool. We were only there for a week, but I could have stayed forever. It is a great place to stay if you are traveling solo, with friends, or with a significant other(it is very romantic)! It is also great for a variety of activities- if you want to just lay around or if you want to do something physical everyday. They are very flexible- whatever you feel up to. On our last day it felt like leaving family... I was very sad to leave. I will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

Just finished our trip and we are sad to leave. Soma (Casey and Bill's baby) is awesome. This is a wonderful place that allows you to be yourself. From the wonderful views (perfect for chill'n out, reading a book or yoga) to the AWSOME food [gotta try the plantains with fried locally made cheese...out of this world] to the inviting pool while sipping on a cool drink (great mojito's). This is THE place to stay. Casey and Bill make you feel like you are part of the family. Great location for a surf retreat or a point of departure for other local adventures. The rooms are wonderfully decorated and quite spacious. HUGE walking shower was something I did not expect.

Can't wait to see them again in November when we come with Roy and Linda!

Muchas Gracias!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2Travel_696969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Soma was the perfect resort for my much needed surf vacation. This being my first trip to Cental America I was a bit unsure as to the logistics, quality of supposed "luxury" resorts, and of course the food. Well I must say that all of the planing / activities was handled (after hearing my discerning needs) with the utmost in details by the truly caring owners and their most competent staff. From the airport pickup/dropoff, to the comfortable upscale bungalows, to the amazing views, gardens and fauna, to the expertly prepared and great tasting artisan foods & beverages (utilizing grown-on-site herbs & spice, vegetable & fruits), to the perfectly planned boat - to-surf excursions, and, most imporantly, Bill's (owner) kowledge & experience in suggesting the right surf spots at the optimum times (allowing to enjoy 5 days of world-class surf in 84 degree water with a low crowd factor). For a high quality, relaxing, activity-filled (if you desire) vacation in Central America, Soma Surf Resort is the way to go.

Room Tip: the roomy bungalows have comfortable beds, excellent air conditioners & fans, hi-end sinks, fauc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reidg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Popoyo is known mainly for perfect waves year round, but also it offers a variety of other points of interest besides, and Soma is the perfect place to make it happen. Whether it be yoga, visiting Chacocente Turtle Reserve, hiking Mombacho, ziplining, horseback riding, taking a day trip into Granada or just reading a book all day long drinking the best Mojito of your life while hanging out in a hammock, Soma Surf Resort will make it happen - and they'll make it happen in style.

Soma Surf Resort is an upscale, but simple and elegant resort set in the hills of Tola, 10 minutes from some of the best surf breaks in the world. And it's hosts, Casey and Bill Morton, will make your stay perfection. The on premises restaurant offers some of the best food in the area, and they'll even insist you take a ride to the beach with someone from their staff to purchase the day's fish offering freshly caught, a must-do when visiting Soma.

Definitely a great place to visit and chill out, and ladies, if your man is looking to go surfing and you're worried about having nothing to do while he's out in the water, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristinFitGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Nestled among the greenest mountains in Playa Gussacate is Soma Surf Resort.
Soma is the amazing creation of Casey and Bill Morton, who are truly committed to every need of their guests.
We just returned from 5 fantastic days where my 15 year old son was able to surf all the different famous surf spots, and chase after the waves with his surf guide. I, on the other hand, prefer the 2 feet on land, was able to sightsee and relax by the gorgeous by pool overlooking the exquisite landscape that Soma offers.
I left there feeling terribly spoiled, as every need and whim was met by the local staff, as well as inspired by the amazing talent and dedication of the owners at Soma.
Already planning our next trip back!
Something for every family member!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbh7775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I have travelled extensively with my young son to many areas of the world . Our experience with Soma Resort was one of most amazing. The location and amenities can not be matched. The attention to detail, knowledge of the area, kindness and hospitality made it difficult to leave and insured our return in the near future. Thanks Casey, Bill and staff for helping us catch great waves and build a lasting fondness for Nicaragua, the land, people, animals and surf. We will always remember and always return.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pbull96959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

20 miles off the paved road through the Nicaraguan countryside brings you to what can only be described as a small miracle of a boutique resort. Located a short drive from the world class surfing beaches of Guasacate and Popoyo lies Soma surf resort. Although conceived as an upscale surfer's accommodation, Soma can satisfy the interests of all kinds of guests. My wife and I have traveled the world and have never stayed in a more peaceful and relaxing place.The grounds are beautifully landscaped and have a 360 degree view of the surrounding countryside.You can float in the small tiled infinity pool and see and hear the Pacific Ocean. There are several well designed spaces for guests to sit and relax separately from other guests. Each has it's own unique appeal from a small bar to comfortable hammocks. All this on one hilltop acre. Our bungalow was spacious and simply, but tastefully, appointed. The staff is very friendly and eager to please. While the choices are limited, the menu offers a nice variety of meals and drinks. Every meal we had was delicious. You must try the mojitos. Getting there is an adventure but absolutely worth it. We highly recommend Soma.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Popoyo
18.4 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.5 mi away
La Jolla Hotel
La Jolla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Popoyo
40 reviews
9.4 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
384 reviews
20.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
427 reviews
24.8 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soma Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soma Surf Resort

Address: Playa Guasacate, Popoyo, Tola, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola > Popoyo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Popoyo
Price Range: £113 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soma Surf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy world class surfing, expert surf lessons, guided surf excursions, yoga, natural hot springs, tidal pools and more. Soma has a full service restaurant serving fresh fare with a distinct flavor using natural ingredients where you will truly savor the "farm to table" experience. Enjoy our infinity pool an open air rancho with hammocks, free WIFI plus many more amenities. We are a resort sustainably built with a portion of our proceeds benefiting local charities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Soma Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soma Surf Resort Nicaragua/Popoyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing