We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecto.”
Review of Soma Surf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Soma Surf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, AB
1 review
“Perfecto.”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

After the long drive in the middle of the night I must say we were getting a bit nervous... But when we arrived at Soma we were absolutely floored. Casey and Bill have created a beautiful, comfortable, and completely relaxing little spot. Delicious, fresh and healthy food... Yummy drinks... Friendly and helpful staff... The best of everything. You have absolute freedom to be as active or as lazy as you want to be... The pool, hammock/yoga rancho and rooms are gorgeous, Bill is a wicked surf instructor, and overall the two of them really know how to create a tranquilo environment. It was so hard to leave. Can't wait to go back... Hopefully soon!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
84
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We had lunch at SOMA today. The food was so, so good. Would have been the best lunch ever if it would have been anywhere. We toured the hotel and would recommend it to anyone. Very fresh, clean and well designed.

Room Tip: All looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Traveling to Nicaragua during the "down surf" season was a fabulous way to spend the Winter holiday. The SOMA Surf Resort and staff were thoughtful and extremely friendly (not to mention tremendous culinary professionals on Christmas). My wife and I were able to visit 99% of the sites with a 2WD Toyota; however, we'd suggest renting the more robust Hilux.

This is a worthwhile trip at a worthwhile resort. I hope to return soon!
We posted a video here: http://vimeo.com/34634955

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Landing, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We have just returned from a week in Nicaragua at Soma Surf Resort. Our goal was to be in a place that was comfortable and relaxing for a family gathering, and at the same time, to have access to activities that we could do together. SOMA exceeded our expectations. My eldest son had just returned from teaching in Mozambique, and my youngest son and his girlfriend were in the midst of a several month cycling trip. In addition to the activities arranged for us outside the resort such as yoga, riding horses up a remote river bed, and beach activities such as surfing, Casey also gave boxing lessons!! The food was fresh, local, and wonderfully prepared. Casey's staff are eager to please and share themselves with us. We felt more like pampered friends than guests. The accommodations were first class; both comfortable and private.
We rented a 4WD from the airport in Managua and my one recommendation to travellers would be to do the same. The roads closer to the resort are very rough. The signage is quite sparse the further one gets from Managua. Casey is extremely responsive to any questions you might have as far as travel and once you are at the resort, you are in excellent hands!
My son and his girlfriend have continued their travels, cycling in Nicaragua and south to Panama. We have come back to winter. Our visit to SOMA was my gift to my family, and it was a huge hit with all of us.

Room Tip: This is a boutique hotel. All the bungalows are the same and you can't go wrong with any one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We decided on a trip to Nicaragua (seventh visit) for a long weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday the first weekend in November. We had heard a lot of great things about Soma and decided to check it out. We picked up our 4WD at the airport and headed towards Rivas. Had a blast in the 4WD on the road from Rivas to the coast--road was a little rough due to all the rain earlier in the week.

The property itself was immaculate--contemporary, fantastic views of the countryside, large guest rooms and beautiful gardens. The restaurant was great and the staff did a fantastic job and were very pleasant. Casey and Bill were great hosts and seem to have a great handle on the local area.

All of the other reviews are accurate, so there's not a lot more that I can add. We'd definitely recommend this property to anyone that wants to get away from it all.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dd-atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Soma Surf Resort is a peaceful and beautiful place. We were to only stay one night but after we arrived and fell in love with the tranquility, we decided to stay another two nights. The owner, Casey, was fantastic. She helped us coordinate activities (horse back riding, beach adventures, massages, hot springs) and it was very fun to talk to her to learn more about her venture into Nicaragua. The rooms are spacious, super clean, comfortable and modern. They are top notch. One of my best trips ever was to Nicaragua and Soma Surf Resort helped to make it that. Food was good too. Try the hummus and the chicken pesto salad. The road to get to Soma (and the general area) may be trying, but the playa and the montañas are worth it! Highly recommended, excellent value. I would definitely visit again!!!

Room Tip: Several options to choose from. Air conditioning is nice and hot showers are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksimmonlowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I've never written a travel review until now, that is how inspired I was by my stay at Soma! I've travelled quite a bit at both ends of the travel spectrum, and for my tastes, that I would describe as adventure travel with Four Seasons sensibilities, Soma was truly top notch. Soma provided it all! Laid back luxury, with the perfect balance of privacy and attentiveness. Casey and Bill, the proprietors, are truly lovely people, that care deeply that their guests have the best possible experience while staying at Soma. One of my favorite experiences of my stay, was how pleasurable the other guests and staff were - I truly enjoyed getting to know everyone and sharing the experience with such authentic, interesting, open people. I found the local people we encountered to be nothing but kind, honest, warm and sincere. The tour of the volcano and horsebackriding on the beach were my favorite highlights. I was pleasantly surprised by how healthy, fresh and consistently delicious the food that Soma served was.. there aren't too many beautiful places left in the world where one can travel free of canned tourism, and this area of Nicaragua is one of them. My husband had a fabulous time fullfilling his lifelong dream of going to a surf safari, and I as a non-surfer had a fantastic time with many excursions to choose from as well as enjoying lounging around the pool and taking naps in our extraordinary bungalow.. I have truly not slept that well in years.. just perfect! I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Popoyo
18.4 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
9.4 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
589 reviews
10.8 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
419 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Jolla Hotel
La Jolla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Popoyo
39 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soma Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soma Surf Resort

Property: Soma Surf Resort
Address: Playa Guasacate, Popoyo, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Popoyo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Popoyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soma Surf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy world class surfing, expert surf lessons, guided surf excursions, yoga, natural hot springs, tidal pools and more. Soma has a full service restaurant serving fresh fare with a distinct flavor using natural ingredients where you will truly savor the "farm to table" experience. Enjoy our infinity pool an open air rancho with hammocks, free WIFI plus many more amenities. We are a resort sustainably built with a portion of our proceeds benefiting local charities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Soma Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soma Surf Resort Nicaragua/Popoyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing