We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Honeymooners!”
Review of Soma Surf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Soma Surf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Bill and Casey just get it. They've got the perfect balance of intimacy and conviviality, luxury and rustic, busy-ness and tranquility.
Soma is a great set up, geographically located 10mins from the shore, perched on top of a hill, with great views down the coast. The compact resort is centred round the pool and dining area, but this isn't like staying at a hotel, it's like staying at a friend's house. BIll and Casey have assembled a fantastic team, all the staff are so helpful and so friendly.
The food is great - it's always fresh, tasty and there's plenty of healthy options.
Bill is super-enthusiastic, knows the local breaks and is guaranteed to inspire you get back on your board. We were there the first week of November and the surf was plenty big enough for us (~6ft) but get a boat to Playground if you want more.
Get there whilst its untouched!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

Arriving at Soma is very much like stepping into the vacation home of some long lost friends... except that those friends happen to be incredible chefs, surf extraordinaires, and experts guides to the wonderfully untainted local attractions. On top of that, rather than offering you a couch, they are sending you off into a private bungalow of understated luxury; all the comforts of home in the middle of the rolling, wild hills that hug the Nicaraguan coast. We thoroughly enjoyed the days filled with surfing, swimming yoga, and beach hikes and evenings spent simply sipping drinks at Soma and listening to the tranquil Nica night. The experience overall was a beautiful balance and certainly one of the highlights of our two week trip to the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeni221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My friend and I stayed here for a week at the beginning of January and we were completely amazed by the excellence of the accomodation and the brilliance of Casey and Bill who run the place, not to mention the rest of the staff who are all very freindly and helpful. The food was super fresh and very tasty, the tropical pancakes for breakfast are a must for any Englishman! Not to mention the excellent Mojihto's!

We stayed in a deluxe room which was done to a very high standard with really nice furniture, fixtures and fittings and high ceilings. The bathroom was of an equally high standard and the towels were fluffy and nice.

The surf is great as well; we had a week of clean peeling waves that were the best I've ever surfed. They are really quiet, so you're rarely jostling for a wave with anyone else! All in all, if you are planning a trip to Nicaragua, you should definatley include a stay here in your itinerary, it will blow you away and you'll leave feeling super chilled, well fed and well surfed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This was my first trip to Nicaragua, and I didn't know what to expect. Soma, were we spent the first 1/2 of our trip, was from the beginning perfect. It could stand up to small resorts anywhere, but what made Soma extra special was the fact that it was build entirely with local Nica ingredients and is staffed with locals. Soma arranged for us to take surf lessons, take a boxing lesson, visit local tidal pools and hot springs, go fishing, and most amazingly, take a horseback ride to visit a local village. While I caution that you should be comfortable being a horse for approximately 2 hours, this is an opportunity not to be missed!

The rooms, three casitas and two rooms, were simple and luxurious at the same time. The beds were amazing and what can beat a walk in shower? Bring your own toiletries as only soap is provided. There are also no hair dryers or irons, but given the beach and how casual Nicaragua is, you won't need them. There is A/C but we preferred the local breeze.

Views are amazing, of the hills and the Pacific. There is a small infinity pool and plenty of places to lounge. The resident pets are very friendly. Meals are taken outdoors, and the food is fresh and local. Especially recommend the fish tacos and literally the best mojito in the world.

There is no doubt that Casey and Bill, the owners, will make any visit fantastic. I highly recommend Soma and hope to return!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explorer_from_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is a gem of a place -- only five casitas so it is private, simple but elegant, gorgeous inside and out. The meals were wonderful, and the hosts, Casey and Bill .... well, like old friends. I'm going back, for sure. But SOMA is so good .. keep it a secret!

Room Tip: We had a larger room with two queen beds. Very spacious bathroom. Didn't even need AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My husband and I spent the Christmas holiday ("off-surf season")at Soma and feel so lucky to have had this retreat - we don't know whether to spread the great news about this quaint, charming, comfortable, and accommodating retreat or keep it to ourselves. As a trip designer for one of the largest active travel outfitters in the world, I spend a great deal of time planning logistics and researching destinations. The staff at Soma was so helpful that I didn't even need to pull from my bag of travel tricks - from the start of our travel planning to the last day of our trip, the staff at Soma Surf Resort was informative, flexible, and friendly. The food was excellent, our accommodations were modern, new, and clean and the location is just remote enough that we felt we had the breaks and the jungle to ourselves, but close enough that we could bop around the immediate area to see other things we were interested in (even though we came to SURF.) Bill and his surf team were great at getting us out into the waves for multiple sessions each day, and their quiver of boards can accommodate surfers of all levels. We would repeat this trip in a heartbeat! Thank you Soma!

Room Tip: A/C unit and fan noise kept us up at night. We recommend a bungalow - the bathroom is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lentine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Soma is wonderful in everyway. The location is fantastic. This part of Nicaragua is uncrowded and beautiful. Soma sits on a hilltop about a mile from the beach. It is breezy and quiet and remarkably free of insects. The nearby beaches are stunning and virtually deserted. One of the most enjoyable things we did was gallop horses for miles along the empty beach.
Surfing was great, although in December the waves are fairly small. This was great for teaching my kids. Apparently if you are really good, it is easy to get a boat out to the huge waves about a mile out but that was not for us.
If you visit then don’t miss the turtle sanctuary. It is on a dessert beach. When we were there hundreds of turtles were hatching out of nests. The rangers collect them during the day and release them at night to stop the vultures eating them. My daughter dived in to help and filled her hat with baby turtles. It is hard to express the joy of watching the babies make it into the water.

Soma is absolutely perfect place to stay. There are only five rooms there, but they are huge and mainly made of local materials. The rooms are air-conditioned but we preferred to throw open the windows and enjoy the breeze. There is a beautiful pool but after hours of surfing we mainly preferred to relax in the hammocks (Don’t even attempt to read your book, you will be dozing in minutes!)
The food is fantastic. It is all fresh and healthy, although my kids seemed to eat breakfast for every meal. Dinner probably runs between $5-$9 per person.

The owners are great fun. They make your stay fantastic. The staff are great too. Although most of them don’t speak much English, it does not seem to be a big problem as they take the time to work out what you need.

It is a fantastic place to stay, in a fantastic part of Nicaragua. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Popoyo
0.5 mi away
La Jolla de Guasacate
La Jolla de Guasacate
#1 of 1 in Las Salinas
44 reviews
9.4 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
640 reviews
18.4 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
10.8 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
411 reviews
20.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soma Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soma Surf Resort

Address: Playa Guasacate, Popoyo, Tola, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola > Popoyo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Popoyo
Price Range: £109 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soma Surf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy world class surfing, expert surf lessons, guided surf excursions, yoga, natural hot springs, tidal pools and more. Soma has a full service restaurant serving fresh fare with a distinct flavor using natural ingredients where you will truly savor the "farm to table" experience. Enjoy our infinity pool an open air rancho with hammocks, free WIFI plus many more amenities. We are a resort sustainably built with a portion of our proceeds benefiting local charities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Soma Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soma Surf Resort Nicaragua/Popoyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing