We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place brilliantly run”
Review of Soma Surf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Soma Surf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“An amazing place brilliantly run”
Reviewed 20 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three days in April 2012 and have absolutely nothing other than the most positive things to say about Soma.

From the moment we got there we were welcomed by the owners and managers, Casey and Bill - who are the most lovely couple who have designed, built and operate a stunning resort.

Food is amazing, accommodation is new, modern and luxurious and it is a wonderful resort if you want to surf, go on the various activities or, as we did, just totally chill out and relax.

We miss being there and make sure you get a cuddle from Rudy, one of the hotel's biggest attractions - Casey and Bill's beautiful dog!!!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
84
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I won a trip here. Neither one of us surf, but after visiting I found out you don't need to surf to have a great time.

The resort itself is beautiful. We stayed in one of the private bungalows, 2 queen beds, 2 sinks, huge shower. We weren't exactly sure what to expect for food, but were pleasantly surprised. Everything was fresh - for breakfast I loved the tropical pancakes. For lunch and dinner my wife and I would have to choose whether to start with the ceviche or the hummus. By the end of our stay we just gave up and ordered both. We don't usually eat meat but we did try the hamburger sliders which tasted just as good as they looked. For the most part we stuck with the fish (which was delivered in the morning by the fisherman down the road). always fresh and always delicious. Also, I learned to love Yucca fries -- less greasy than potato fries.

For activities, we went shopping in Grenada (we rented a car and used a driver (Eddie -- be sure to ask for Eddie :-) )from the resort to get us around), one of the oldest cities in the Americas. It's about 1 1/2 hours from the resort. Lots of local crafts and shops.

Another day we went sportfishing. We actually each caught a fish (jack fish). The fisherman filleted them for us and packed them in ice. we took our catch back to the resort where they made fish tacos for us!

A third day was spent horseback riding. They bring the horses right up to the resort. We spent about 3 hours riding down along and on the beach. That evening we drove over to Magnific Rock for drinks and a spectacular view of the sunset.

On our final day, we had Eddie drive us to the Mombacho vocano where Adrienne went zipling and I did not. She had a great time, as did I waiting for her at the base where there was plenty of beer...

I know this is a surf resort, but I was just as happy not to surf because there was so much more to do :-) We couldn't have enjoyed they stay, the hospitality and the experience anymore than we did. If you go, say hello to Casey and Bill for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave and Adrien... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Soma is perfection... located among blooming flowers and swaying palms, it overlooks the pacific from a well situated perch. Spend your days pool side with a mojito in hand (literally the best mojito I've ever had), or freshly prepared iced jamaica tea. Or, lounge in a hammock, cooled by the off-shore winds, and watch the ever-changing sky. Craving activity? Brian will take you to the best surf breaks, and afterwards you can soak in the local hot spring pools (and I mean authentic -- no tourist traps here). We didn't stay long enough to enjoy a horseback ride along the beach, but the horses are healthy and well cared for, so I imagine this would be a pleasurable ride. And when it's time to eat, the food is fresh and tasty-- wash it down with a cold Tona!

My husband and I have traveled to Nicaragua several times, but this was our first time in the Tola region. It's gorgeous, like the rest of the country, but there's something special at Soma. It's a secluded oasis, yet a few minutes drive to the beach for surf and breathtaking pacific views. It's low key and inviting, yet nicely appointed and very comfortable... All the fixings without the fuss. Tola has an untouched charm, and at least while we were there in February, the tourists were few and far between and you never felt one bit crowded. In fact, we hiked to the nearby tidal pools along a sprawling empty beach-- nothing but crashing waves. Sunsets are stunning-- ask the Soma crew to take you to "Magnific Rock". And I can't rave enough about the staff-- they are fantastic! Casey was a fabulous, accommodating host, and on top of her gracious hospitality, she made our day (twice!) with an upgrade and free ride to Tola. (Thank you again, Casey!) Brian, Eddy, Will, Gloria... and everyone on the staff was very friendly and really made us feel welcomed. It's a small place, so every guest is treated with care. We left the place completely smitten - I hope we can return in the not too distant future!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with anything here-- the bungalows are very well appointed, and from what we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelestialChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Soma is the best-kept secret of relaxing getaways in Nicaragua. Since we stayed at Soma for the last 3 days of our trip we were a little hesitant that it wasn't going to be the perfect ending to our wonderful vacation. But as soon as we arrived our minds changed. The resort is set up with an infinity pool and dining area in the middle and rooms/ bungalows surrounding. Soma seemed a lot more personal than a regular hotel. The location is the perfect distance from the beach and we loved driving around and seeing how the people in Nicaragua lived. The staff was absolutely wonderful and Casey made us feel so like we were right at home. They have so many activities to choose from so we couldn't fit them all in, but we went surfing, hiking by the beach, horseback riding and visited the natural hot springs. We planned to pack our days with activities, but it was so hard to leave the resort once you are laying by the pool your mind goes into complete relaxation. The food was absolutely delicious and being that I am a vegetarian places usually don't have that many options and they had a ton! They use the freshest ingredients to create the perfect, yummiest meals. By the end of the day it was such a delight to lie in a resort that actually has comfortable rooms and beds! The whole experience was everything we dreamed of and so much more... We felt rejuvenated and NEVER wanted to leave this paradise. We are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieBee Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My daughter (age 12) and I, as part of a small group, spent four fabulous days in January at this gorgeous, relaxing, yet invigorating spot, high on a hill, with stunning views everywhere you looked. Bill and Casey, Eddy, Will, and the rest of the staff were tireless and welcoming hosts. Our itinerary was full, with surfing lessons (patiently conducted in the whitewash for us beginners!), horseback riding to an indigenous homestead where they have been tanning leather in the old tradition for generations, sunset hiking on the beach, a fabulously sculpted bonfire on the beach, hot springs, and playing in tidal pools (where my daughter could have spent days.) The beauty of it all was that after all that activity, we could return to the serenity of Soma. There, we could dip into the infinity pool, read or nap in a hammock, or just sit and soak up the atmosphere up in the open-air dining room while listening to the wind and to the soft, happy voices coming from the kitchen. Speaking of the kitchen, the food was divine: fresh fish anytime we wanted it, exotic fruit juices, tropical pancakes, "secret recipe" burgers, yuka fries, and a delicious squash soup, flavored with cinnamon that I could eat everyday. Not to mention the Mohitos! And for my daughter a Mockhito! Bill and Casey have such knowledge and understanding of Nicaragua, and they love to share this with their guests. Our bungalow was lovely, very spa/zen- like with crisp white sheets and downy comforters and a gorgeous shower built from local stone. There was plenty of space, and it was very clean. Anyone thinking of traveling to Nicaragua should choose Soma. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: There is a combination of rooms and bungalows. I only know about the bungalows, or casitas, as that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
a
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Bill and Casey just get it. They've got the perfect balance of intimacy and conviviality, luxury and rustic, busy-ness and tranquility.
Soma is a great set up, geographically located 10mins from the shore, perched on top of a hill, with great views down the coast. The compact resort is centred round the pool and dining area, but this isn't like staying at a hotel, it's like staying at a friend's house. BIll and Casey have assembled a fantastic team, all the staff are so helpful and so friendly.
The food is great - it's always fresh, tasty and there's plenty of healthy options.
Bill is super-enthusiastic, knows the local breaks and is guaranteed to inspire you get back on your board. We were there the first week of November and the surf was plenty big enough for us (~6ft) but get a boat to Playground if you want more.
Get there whilst its untouched!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Arriving at Soma is very much like stepping into the vacation home of some long lost friends... except that those friends happen to be incredible chefs, surf extraordinaires, and experts guides to the wonderfully untainted local attractions. On top of that, rather than offering you a couch, they are sending you off into a private bungalow of understated luxury; all the comforts of home in the middle of the rolling, wild hills that hug the Nicaraguan coast. We thoroughly enjoyed the days filled with surfing, swimming yoga, and beach hikes and evenings spent simply sipping drinks at Soma and listening to the tranquil Nica night. The experience overall was a beautiful balance and certainly one of the highlights of our two week trip to the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeni221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Popoyo
18.4 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
9.4 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
589 reviews
10.8 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
419 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Jolla Hotel
La Jolla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Popoyo
39 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Punta Teonoste
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soma Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soma Surf Resort

Property: Soma Surf Resort
Address: Playa Guasacate, Popoyo, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Popoyo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Popoyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soma Surf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy world class surfing, expert surf lessons, guided surf excursions, yoga, natural hot springs, tidal pools and more. Soma has a full service restaurant serving fresh fare with a distinct flavor using natural ingredients where you will truly savor the "farm to table" experience. Enjoy our infinity pool an open air rancho with hammocks, free WIFI plus many more amenities. We are a resort sustainably built with a portion of our proceeds benefiting local charities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Soma Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soma Surf Resort Nicaragua/Popoyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing