We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing, peaceful boutique hotel on the Gold Coast”
Review of Soma Surf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Soma Surf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Even tho I am a home owner at a nearby resort, Soma is my favorite destination! Great food, beautiful ambiance, and Kacey and Bill are most gracious hosts. And their staff is very accommodating. Can't wait until my return in early Dec.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marteeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

I went with two friends (we're all 30 year old American women) in September of 2013, and had a WONDERFUL time. Because it was near the end of the season, we basically had this boutique resort to ourselves (it is a small operation - they can accommodate 17 guests in total). The owners, Casey and Bill, are a lovely, retired couple from California, who really go out of their way to attend to their guests' every need. We were able to customize our trip due entirely to their flexibility and desire to make the experience as enjoyable as possible. For example, Bill would watch the weather patterns to make sure the next day would be a good day for surfing. He'd choose beaches that were appropriate for our skill level as well. Bill also taught kick boxing classes whenever we requested it. They have great relationships with a homeopathic massage therapist, yoga instructor, and horseback riding company that will all come to the resort to provide services to guests. The resort staff are very attentive and aim to please. The resort itself is located in a very remote and poor area of Nicaragua, but the resort property is quite secluded and meets, if not defies, American standards/expectations. You can't really walk anywhere, but the resort staff are happy to take you wherever you need/want to go whether it is the hot springs or a bar on the beach to watch the sunset. It really was a fantastic getaway and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone (including if you are an amateur at any of the activities that I've mentioned, like myself).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blmahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I could not have asked for a better vacation than the one I had at SOMA. The resort is beautifully situated to take advantage of the breeze and the lush surroundings. The days were spent learning to surf, taking yoga classes and horseback riding - all of which Casey and Bill (the owners) arranged for us. After a long day nothing beat an hour in the hammocks. The food was spectacular and the staff was incredibly kind. My friend and I stayed in a bungalow which was more than enough room for the two of us. If you are looking to vacation in this part of the world, you can't do better than SOMA.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

First time in Nicaragua, and Casey, Bill, and their staff made the entire experience absolutely perfect. Friendly, welcoming, and down-to-earth, they made us feel comfortable and relaxed the entire time. The property is just the right size, with a beautiful infinity pool and plenty of space for lounging solo or with other guests. Great food, delicious drinks, and Bill is an awesome DJ in the evenings. It was one of my favorite vacations - can't recommend them more highly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbtravels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at Soma for our 20th anniversary. Casey and Bill Morton (owners) have set up a tranquil, tasteful, and luxurious resort (the "diamond"). The countryside is minimally developed (therefore the "rough") and so very peaceful and beautiful. The nearby beaches are amazing, clean, safe, and nearly deserted. From the minute we got out of the airport, to the time we left, we were pampered but in a very unobtrusive way. Bill and Casey entertained and educated us, the staff was attentive, rooms comfortable yet upscale, and food delicious. Eddy was our chauffeur, guide, teacher, concierge, and personal shopper. Elsa and the kitchen staff were fantastic and the kitchen is open all day. No getting out of bed to catch breakfast - you can have whatever, whenever! We enjoyed yoga, massages, and just unwinding. We went further south to pick up our family, and decided to skip the other resort we had booked on the way back and came to Soma again! Our teenagers enjoyed the hammocks, surf lessons under the expert and patient guidance of Bill and KeeKay, and the infinity pool. Casey was very involved with the smooth operation of the resort and very friendly and accommodating. We truly enjoyed Soma and would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: There are 3 bungalows with 2 double beds and a spacious bathroom. There are 2 rooms with 3 twin beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adshaikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

SOMA Surf Resort is truly awesome, great, comfortable & large rooms, We have been there twice and prefer the bungalows. Casey & Bill make you feel at home & make every effort to meet your every need. Very nice people & the staff is very good & friendly. Eddy is a great driver, tour guide & all around great guy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobynnRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

One of the most memorable vacations ever. First time in Nicaragua for my wife and I so we didn't know what to expect. The resort is small but first class - rooms tastefully furnished and beds were welcoming for our tired bodies. The food was fresh and delicious and served by a very friendly staff. Highly recommend the ceviche. Mornings/afternoons were spent surfing world class breaks while my wife enjoyed a massage or yoga class or just hanging out at the pool with other guests. We're already planning our next trip to Nicaragua and Soma!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlaparanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Popoyo
0.5 mi away
La Jolla Hotel
La Jolla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Popoyo
40 reviews
9.4 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
600 reviews
18.4 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
299 reviews
10.8 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
385 reviews
3.0 mi away
99 Surf Lodge
99 Surf Lodge
#6 of 14 in Popoyo
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soma Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soma Surf Resort

Address: Playa Guasacate, Popoyo, Tola, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola > Popoyo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Popoyo
Price Range: £114 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soma Surf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy world class surfing, expert surf lessons, guided surf excursions, yoga, natural hot springs, tidal pools and more. Soma has a full service restaurant serving fresh fare with a distinct flavor using natural ingredients where you will truly savor the "farm to table" experience. Enjoy our infinity pool an open air rancho with hammocks, free WIFI plus many more amenities. We are a resort sustainably built with a portion of our proceeds benefiting local charities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Soma Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soma Surf Resort Nicaragua/Popoyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing