We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay in paradise”
Review of Soma Surf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Soma Surf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

After 3 nights in Granada, it was a fun change to be in Popoyo. The Soma property is beautiful, and Bill made us feel right at home. The food is cooked by chefs in-house and was excellent. It is worth nothing that this is not a resort on the beach where you can just walk to go surfing or to local restaurants. However, Bill was extremely flexible - he drove us to the beach for surfing lessons and dropped us off by the beach to walk to Mag Rock and picked us up when we were ready. We really felt like we were staying at a friend's house - very comfortable, well taken care of, and good conversations. It also helps that the setting, the rooms, and the pool are all absolutely beautiful. We stayed at Soma off a recommendation from a friend, and after staying there we keep telling everyone how amazing it is. I have never felt more content and relaxed. You need to go!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilylc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Soma Surf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

I had a great time at Soma! I spent three nights there in June of 2014 and had a great time taking surfing lessons from Bill - and got pretty good by the end! I also enjoyed horseback riding, swimming in the pool, and the local community tour. I highly recommend exploring the local community and going on a tour. Eddie gave us the local community tour and did a fantastic job. The food at the resort was great, and Casey and Eddie were very hospitable hosts. Their dogs were fun to play with too. The only downside to the resort is that it is owned by Americans, not Nicarauguans.

Room Tip: Our casita was great
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

After a long internet search for a beach focused vacation, we were lucky to run across Soma. Soma Resort is a little piece of heaven; beautiful, clean, amazing staff (we miss you & thank you for everything), friendly pets and unforgettable food. Casey and Bill are a genuine, down to earth duo who instantly make you feel like family.

Soma can be as low key or as active as you want to make it. We took full advantage of yoga on the beach, horse back riding at sunset, volcano trips and learning how to surf. I cannot say enough good things about Soma and the Soma family. Already planning our return in November.

Thank you for the amazing memories
~ Sierra & Lauren

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sierra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Yes Soma ticks all of the boxes, perfect location, spacious bungalows, ecologically friendly design, immaculately clean, delicious food, fantastic staff HOWEVER...

Be aware of a couple of things;

Did you know that the average wage for the locals is between $5 and $8 a day. This is just enough money for food and fuel to get to work. This is NOT enough money to build a proper house with concrete walls not plastic, and a paved floor, (not a dirt one)
This wage does not (as Casey claims on her website) provide enough money for DECENT shelter, and medical needs.

Also the owners can be very pushy and want guests to spend all their time (and money) enclosed in their resort. This is fine if you wish to have that kind of holiday. However if you wish to see a little more of the area, on your own....you have to work it out yourself as the owners want you to eat and surf when and where they want.

I had to ask a local if there were any good authentic Nicaraguan restaurants to go to. I was recommended a restaurant called Yolandas in Limon which is about a 10 minute drive away and it is amazing! Now that is what I call supporting the local community!

Soma is stunning, so enjoy your stay as you deserve it!

My only advice is if you have been pleased with your stay, then it is thanks (in a large part to the low payed local workers)

If you wish to leave a tip I highly recommend that you give it DIRECTLY in the hands of the chef who cooked your wonderful food or the cleaner who made everything immaculate.
DON'T leave tips in the hands of the hotel owners/managers as this money seems to get lost along the way to the staff! This applies for most of the hotels in the popoyo area!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dr Lex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomaSurf, Owner at Soma Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us 4 months ago. We take all feedback seriously and are always striving to improve the Soma experience.

Yes, you are correct. The legal minimum wage for the average Nicaraguan worker ranges between $5-$8. Unfortunately, Soma is not part of the government of the “Republic of Nicaragua” and does not have the legal power to change the country’s minimum wage.

All Soma's employees are paid 40 to 400 percent over that of the national minimum wage. Soma's monthly contribution of 50% for each employee for their national health insurance program, double time pay for all national holidays worked, paid holidays for those holidays not worked, and 5 days of paid vacation and Christmas pay earned for each month worked adds on an additional 46% to their total basic salary . That is why the positions at Soma are so sought after and that is why we have earned such high ratings, which you so graciously gave Soma perfect scores on: “perfect location, spacious bungalows, ecologically friendly design, immaculately clean, delicious food, and fantastic staff”. Employees who are not well treated and not well paid are usually not happy, do not perform their jobs well and would not be able to give you the level of services that you enjoyed during you stay.

Good working conditions, a low stress atmosphere and tips are another big reason why employees enjoy working here. Tips are paid directly to the workers twice a month. Some clients prefer to pay the workers directly, however this is not always possible as they might be off the day the client departs. In that case, normally the client requests that the tip be put on their final invoice and distributed to the workers. This is a similar practice to the US where one puts their tip on the restaurant bill and it is divided between the kitchen and restaurant staff. Nothing more nothing less.

Soma is one of the few hotels that encourages their clients to explore the area and the country. It is one of the few places left where one can see horses roaming freely, working ox-drawn carts, or walk through a herd of cattle in the middle of the road. This is why we have devoted an entire page on our website to additional activities and off-site excursions and why they are listed in a Soma activity book in every room.

Soma is located in the middle of an indigenous community with no stores, banks, ATM’s, gas stations, and few local restaurants. We always suggest other restaurants in the area to our guests none of which are within walking distance. We realize every guest’s restaurant expectations are different and unique. Nicaragua is a third world country with different standards. Many times when a local restaurant is suggested and visited by the client comments we receive are the lack of service, the time it takes to get served and disappointment in the quality of the food.

We totally understand the in-depth knowledge you must have gained during your 5-day stay in regards to national Nicaraguan industry standards for wages, providence and alcadia legislation for Nicaraguan workers, local business practices, and most importantly the inherent cultural and traditional characteristics of the Nicaraguense people. Your newly acquired information must far outweigh our seven years of living, working, teaching, training, volunteering and employing people from our indigenous community in rural Nicaragua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I consider myself well-traveled. When I decided to book a solo female trip to Nica, I searched blindly in different surf break locales. I was extremely fortunate to book a nice long stay with Soma Surf Resort. This place has it dialed from the food, to the surf excursions/ local knowledge of the breaks in Popoyo in addition to the luxurious accommodations all at a fraction of the cost you would pay anywhere else for the same package.

The most alluring factor of Soma is the owners, Bill and Casey in addition to the incredible staff like Eddie, Jose, Elsa and Juan. They treat you like family and are passionate that you experience the Nica surf and culture the right way!

I already booked two more trips back and will be staying a Soma as they were a big part of why I fell in love with Nicaragua and Popoyo.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Spectacular holiday spent with my son approximately 3 weeks ago in Nicaragua and stayed at SOMA. The proprietors, Bill and Casey, were welcoming hosts who attended to all our needs. They have diverse backgrounds, were engaging and interested in their guests well being. Communication prior to arrival was prompt and informative. The resort was spotless and food was fresh and tasty. The room had air conditioning and we had restful sleeps as a result. Bill was our surfing guide for the week and he was an enthusiastic instructor who took us to appropriate surf breaks for our skill level. The surf in Nicaragua is amazing and the water was warm. Casey helped with coordinating other activities including a trip to Granada and yoga. Besides the surfing, the yoga was a highlight for me and the instructor was superb. In addition, Casey ensured food was appropriate for my son who had some food allergies. Two of their employees, Eddie and Julio, made us feel at home and attended to any of needs as well. I am missing Nicaragua and would like to return again soon. I would have no reservations staying at SOMA again and would highly recommend this resort to everyone, including families.

Tom and Tim Ruta
Victoria British Columbia

Room Tip: Room we stayed in was great. Check with Casey and Bill if you have any specific needs.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tom r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I can't say enough positve things about Casey and Bill's hospitality, the warm and gracious staff, the incredible lodging and layout of the resort, and the outstanding food. Casey and Bill have created a space where you can truely enjoy what Nicaragua has to offer while also honoring the locals and their community. Don't miss this place! Sandy

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Popoyo
18.4 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
10.8 mi away
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
Mukul Beach Golf & Spa
#1 of 1 in Playa Manzanillo
382 reviews
9.4 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Jolla Hotel
La Jolla Hotel
#1 of 1 in Popoyo
40 reviews
20.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
426 reviews
19.8 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soma Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soma Surf Resort

Address: Playa Guasacate, Popoyo, Tola, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Tola > Popoyo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Popoyo
Price Range: £110 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soma Surf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy world class surfing, expert surf lessons, guided surf excursions, yoga, natural hot springs, tidal pools and more. Soma has a full service restaurant serving fresh fare with a distinct flavor using natural ingredients where you will truly savor the "farm to table" experience. Enjoy our infinity pool an open air rancho with hammocks, free WIFI plus many more amenities. We are a resort sustainably built with a portion of our proceeds benefiting local charities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Soma Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soma Surf Resort Nicaragua/Popoyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing