We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit for the spectacular view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnific Rock

Magnific Rock
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Popoyo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Worth a visit for the spectacular view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

If you manage to make it to Tola and the Pacific coast of Nicaragua in this location in most instances I am sure it is for the surfing. The Magnific Rock hotel is situated on a clift top overlooking the Pacific on three sides with two great beaches for surfing spread out on either side. Their bar/dining room loverlooks a fantastic view especially at sunset with the great golden sun sinking into the Pacific. The hotel is a home nest for the surfer boys and girls..so a little out of place fo a senior citizen on holiday and not a surfer. Service needs some improvement..maybe the 25 year old in the tiny bikini is more attractive than a senior but had to get up and go to the bar and chase the waitress for a drink more than once. Quantity of food was great..quality was so, so but then this is Nicaragua not New York!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donald R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    25
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Food, 2 adorable cats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This place had what I thought was the best view of the ocean of the whole beach.
The food prices were great and the wait staff attentive and friendly. Add to this scene 2 adorable little kittens who bask in the sun all day and it's a great relaxing open concept setting for a great lunch.

The addition of more beer selection compared to the other places on the beach made this another bonus.

I definitely recommend eating here, but where flipflops if you are coming from the beach as the makeshift stone steps that lead up the hill get very hot.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“breathtaking views a must see when in Tola”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Good food, nice guests, very friendly staff, good food, You must go and eat or stay there. the staff is extremely friendly and international, a very good plus for Nica Standarts.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank rafaelantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown
Level Contributor
166 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Spectacular sunset from Mag Rock”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had a wonderful meal at Mag Rock to celebrate my birthday. The view of the sunset from the restaurant is incredible. The staff were all very accommodating and friendly. The meal we had far surpassed my expectations. My filet was prepared perfectly with a very complex and wonderful sauce. My wife had lobster that was equally tasty. Finally they surprised me with a birthday brownie that had a rich and tasty chocolate ganache. They made my birthday unforgettable. Thanks.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jdg1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corolla
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunset at Magnigic Rock”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

American prices but the view from the cliff at sunset was worth it. We just had dinner, we didn't get a chance to stay there but would consider it th next time I go to Nicaragua.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CorollaSurfShop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magnific Rock also viewed

Popoyo, Rivas Department
Popoyo, Rivas Department
 
Popoyo, Rivas Department
Popoyo, Rivas Department
 
Tola, Rivas Department
 

Been to Magnific Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing