We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhygienic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marco Polo Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summer Hill
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Its almost been a year since i last visited Marco Polo. We travelled as a family of 6 and stayed for 6 nights in early Aug. We arrived extremely late on the first day at around 11pm local time as Aus is 3hrs ahead of Malaysia and were greeted by their staff which i found was encouragingly pleasant even at this late hour. Throughout the stay, staff were quite friendly but did not approach us as maybe it was a cultural thing. The place has a secure car park with its doors locked at night so it is safe. U also need a key card to enter the premises. There is also a self service dryer and washing machine with soap available for purchase at the front desk. The real factor we choose to stay here was the cheap price away from the city and the relative ease of public transport nearby with buses at the front and Summer Hill station just 5 mins walk up north of the Inn. There is also a petrol station with a convenient store just opposite the inn. If your okay with a short walk, there are quite a few bistros across Summer Hill station. I would recommend a cafe at the centre with a Malaysian Chinese owner by the name of Kenny( if i'm not mistaken) which is where we went for most of our breakfast. The room was a bit disappointing. It has all the basics but there is no room service throughout our stay which include no cleaning and change of bedding causing the place to smell and the bed to be filled with hair on the last day. Really unhygienic if you think about it. But for the price you could argue it could be tolerated. Overall, it was a good place to use as our base as we made our way throughout both Sydney's CBD and also explored the suburbs to experience the Aussie lifestyle.

Room Tip: Request a room on the lower floors and nearer to the stairwell as there are no lifts available in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SpikyBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear sexking,

Thank you for staying at Marco Polo Motor Inn – Sydney, Summer Hill one year ago.

We value our guests and their patronage and strive to provide the best service we can so that their stay is a pleasurable and positive experience.

Because of our commitment to customer service, feedback is most important to us and we would like to acknowledge the review that was posted on Trip Advisor.

The Marco Polo team apologises if we have failed to meet your expectation, and we would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

If you would be kind enough to provide us with the date and name that your booking was made under, we can then try to retrieve our housekeeping event log and investigate this matter further.

Our key focus at Marco Polo Sydney, Summer Hill is providing clean rooms at all times combined with great customer service. The role of our housekeeping team is to clean the entire room daily unless a guest requests not to have their room cleaned.

All rooms are thoroughly cleaned by our housekeeper on a daily basis, regardless of whether it is for new guests that are checking-in or making up the rooms for existing guests. Following that, the housekeeping supervisor inspects all clean rooms before our team leader gives his final approval. Because of our reputation of clean rooms and friendly staff members, we have been attracting regular short and long stay guests who return to stay with us after many years.

Nonetheless, we are disappointed and surprised to learn from you that your room was not clean and even had a smell after our thorough standard procedure of cleaning and followed by two separate checks. Moreover, our team would have immediately rectified this matter to your satisfied expectation if you had brought this matter to our immediate attention. All our guests who have stayed here would know that we do not compromise on the standard of cleanliness of all rooms.

Everyday, we strive to ensure that our guests have a wonderful stay and a marvellous time at Marco Polo Motor Inn - Sydney, Summer Hill.

Our commitment to the satisfaction of our guests requests and making sure their stay enjoyable in a friendly environment with clean and hygienic rooms is never compromised.

Thank you for taking the time to share this with us as it really means a lot to our team

Kind regards,

Calvin

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We chose this hotel/motel to be near relatives living nearby and found it convenient and comfortable with good parking. It is a short walk to the railway station and the train trip is about 15 mins trip to Central station. I expect bus services to be good also.
Room was small and clean with comfortable bed. In our room the furnishings were old and we didn't have bed lights but perhaps the helpful staff would accommodate on request. There was a microwave oven and some crockery and cutlery plus generous supplies of tea/coffee/chocolate/milks.
The free with-fi worked well.
We would chose to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanCba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback, we are glad to have been of service to you.
Although we are a budget motel, the facilities which we provide are far from it. As you had already mentioned above, our facilities include free Wifi, onsite parking, kitchen utilities, coffee, tea and hot chocolate, and Foxtel Cable Television. All of these utilities we provide are complementary to improve your experience with us. Our friend staffs are always eager to assist you, ensuring your stay with us is as comforting and accommodating as possible.

The motel itself is also located at a very convenient location. Only recently the government has installed brand new light rail tram tracks situated less than 350m from the motel; this takes you to some of the most popular tourist destinations such as The Star Casino, China Town, and Paddy’s Market. Situated a 5 minutes’ walk from our motel is the Summer Hill Train Station and can take you directly to Town Hall Station and Sydney Opera House.
We humbly appreciate your feedback, and hope to see you again in the near future. Until then, all the best!

Warm Regards,

Calvin

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The key question is would I stay again? The answer; a definite no. I only stayed here because every hotel I usually stay at we're booked out (I'll be glad when the summer cruise ships stop disgorging thousands of passengers).

Everything about this hotel is cheap. Other than being convenient to Summer Hill train station and city buses, there is little else to recommend. I always try to find something good to say so I will compliment the reception staff (although it is quite disconcerting to have them behind substantial metal bars) and the man who cleaned my room as I waited. Maybe it would be worth accepting the low standards if it was considerably cheaper but that wasn't the case for me. Unfortunately, while it seems the owners are making an effort to present a reasonable product, I can't recommend Marco Polo based on the rate I paid ($125 for a single).

Room Tip: If you really need to stay, ask for a room well to the back. The extremely busy Parramatta Rd is unf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dooragan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Marco Polo Motor Inn – Sydney, Summer Hill.
As you probably already know, the cost of living in Sydney is one of the highest in the world. At Marco Polo Motor Inn – Sydney, Summer Hill, we do our best to make our guest’s stay as comforting and accommodating as possible with competitive rates. Thus, our accommodation includes free Wifi, parking, Foxtel cable television, small kitchenette facilities, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, sugar and milk, bathroom amenities and roof top view. At our motel, all these facilities are complimentary with the room, whereas parking alone in other accommodations can cost up to $50 a day in Sydney.

Our location is extremely convenient; we are 6 -7 km from city, Olympic Park and the airport. We are 5 minutes’ walk from Summer Hill Train Station and its breakfast café, shops, pubs, gym, supermarkets, and restaurants as well as 6 minutes walk to Red Rooster and 8 minutes walk to McDonald’s restaurants. Furthermore, new Sydney light rail network, Taverner’s Hill station, has been recently installed, 350 meters or 4 minutes walk from our motel; it takes you directly to Wentworth Park, Fish Market, John Street Square, Star Casino, Pyrmont Bay ,Convention, Exhibition Center, Paddy’s Market and Central Station.

Please feel free to contact us at (02) 9037 9888 if you have any further questions or comments regarding your stay.

Warm Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Wasn't willing to pay an arm and a leg for rooms in D/T Sydney, Parramata is the next best thing as it is about 20 minutes to CBD of Sydney. Free parking, the room we had was clean and at the rate of AUD$100.00 a night I have nothing to complain. Good size fridge, microwave, hair dryer, toaster, kettle, dishes plus tea and coffee. Would I stay here again....YES I would.

Room Tip: We had room #1 on the second floor, double bed and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristineandMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Ms. Christine and Maggie,

Thank you for your recent stay at Marco Polo Motor Inn - Sydney, Summer Hill and for taking the time to log your review. It is very heart warming to receive such positive feedback.

We are very pleased to learn that you find our motel “cheap stay in Sydney” and a “room was clean and quiet ”. Also we are happy to hear that you found our motel to have well equipped rooms.

We are sure that a lot of potential travellers will find your experiences and recommendations very useful and we appreciate you sharing them with us. We are also glad that you had such a memorable stay and had the opportunity to enjoy so much of what makes Marco Polo and the surrounding area so special.

Once again Ms. Christine and Maggie, thank you for your post and we hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us the next time your travel plans bring you back to Sydney.

With best regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Very easy to get to, bus and train to the city centre. Also close to major shopping centre at Burwood. Rooms have been reburbished. Will stay there again on next visit to Sydney. Good for families, couples etc.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vonhist88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Valued guests,

Thank you for your recent stay at Marco Polo Motor Inn and for your wonderful review. It is very heart-warming to receive such positive feedback.

We are especially pleased to learn that you in particular enjoyed our “great location”. Thank you for your lovely description regarding our location, with “only a 5 minute walk to the train station and bus stop out front”, “close to major shopping centre at Burwood” and “Good for families, couples etc”.

Our location is extremely convenient; we are approximately 6 -8 km from city, Olympic Park, the airport, R.P.A hospital, U Of Sydney and more. We are 5 minutes’ walk from Summer Hill Train Station and its breakfast café, shops, pubs, gym, supermarkets, restaurants as well as 6 mins walk to Red Rooster and 8 mins walk to McDonald’s restaurants. Furthermore, new Sydney light rail, Taverner’s Hill station, has been recently built, 350 metres or 4 mins walk, from our motel; it takes you directly to Wentworth Park, Fish Market, John Street Square, Star Casino, Pyrmont Bay ,Convention, Exhibition Centre, Paddy’s Market, Central Station and more. Situated a 5 minutes’ walk from our motel is the Summer Hill Train Station and can take you directly to Town Hall Station - Darling Harbour, Circular Quay station -Sydney Opera House, Sydney Bridge climb, Central station – paddy market and city, Bondi and manly beaches, Olympic Park, S.C.G., other entertainment and sporting venues.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back to Marco Polo Motor Inn – Sydney, Summer Hill in the near future.

With best regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

the worst hotel I have ever stayed in on the first day the sheet was not changed and had blood stain and by the doorman changed at my request, although not its fault. and the noise bothers to sleep. ain con old, and was drifting frm another floor. I really do not recomend.

Room Tip: I really do not recomend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tredici45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at Marco Polo Motor Inn, Summer Hill.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and give you our sincerest apologies.

In regards to the bed sheet, we have investigated into the matter and discovered that the stain on the bed sheet was in fact a marker stain. Furthermore, the housekeeper servicing the room was new, and thus, did not pick up on this issue. We have retrained that staff member to ensure they follow the correct cleaning procedure in place. Please be advised that we take hygiene very seriously, and this not our usual standard.

Sound barriers are installed in our rooms to minimize roadside noise; many of the guests staying here have informed us this has been very effective. Our guests have also found that closing the door or windows is sufficient to cancel the noises. Nonetheless, we have taken your feedback into consideration to prevent future incidents such as this one from happening.

We have recently implemented changes across the property, and these include new air-conditioners, brand new flat screen TVs in stages, beautifying the front garden, and creating parking lots for mini coaches and vans at the front yard. This is all to enhance our customers' experience at the motel.

We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback, and it means a lot to our team. It is only through the feedback of our guests that we are able to improve the Marco Polo Motor Inn, Summer Hill. We wish to make it up to you the next time you visit Sydney.

If you have any further questions or comments concerning your stay please feel free to contact us at 90379888.

Management
Marco Polo Motor Inn – Sydney, Summer Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Let me start by acknowledging this is a budget hotel and presents itself as such. I was therefore expecting nothing more than clean and comfortable accommodation when booking to attend a local event nearby.
Sadly I cannot offer any positives. Service was appalling, the clerk who checked us in could not be less interested in dealing with us. We were friendly and polite but had clearly encountered her at a bad time as she was completely disengaged and disinterested. No instructions on car parking, wifi or anything similar were offered and when we requested information she made it clear we were bothering her. A simple friendly request for directions to the closest coffee shop were met with equal disdain. I was very surprised as reviews had stated the excellent service here and having stayed in many hotels of differing ratings, I have almost never had such a poor experience. Perhaps we caught them on a bad day?

The room appeared basically clean at first glance although due to rain, the entrance was a huge puddle and quite dangerous in the dim lighting. After climbing three flights of stairs with our bags, getting wet on the way to our room wasn't ideal.
The bathroom could have done with a proper clean as it wasn't of the basic standard I expected. Loose hairs and significant mould.
The sheets and pillows smelled awful- like stale sweat. On both beds we had the same issue. Perhaps they were not dried properly when laundered? Unfortunately my friend and I also both barely slept that night due to huge itching from the bedding. We also had a room facing the main busy road which to be fair wouldn't have helped with a good nights sleep.

So in short, it was a highly unpleasant stay and this was despite us travelling widely and entirely expecting a budget experience. Sadly would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Good friendly service and clean linen is not too much to ask at any price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swampy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Marco Polo Motor Inn.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, please accept our sincerest apologies for the unpleasant circumstances you have experienced. We can assure you; this is not our usual standard.

We always strive to ensure our guests leave fulfilled and happy. In this instance; however, we have clearly not met your expectations.

At Marco Polo Motor Inn Sydney, Summer Hill, our commitment is to satisfy our guests' requests and to make their stay enjoyable in a friendly environment. One of the things we pride ourselves on is the services we provide to the guests. The staff that you mentioned has since left us and there is no doubt that any staff currently working here will uphold our reputation for providing the best possible service.

Our linens are changed daily, and are outsourced to be cleaned by a professional hospitality provider that are widely serviced in the accommodation industry. To date, we have yet to receive a complaint about our linen but, we will be sure to notify them of this issue. Nevertheless, we are closely monitoring this matter and making efforts to ensure that this will not happen again. Due to this incident,we hired a more experienced and committed supervisor on site and retrained the cleaning team. Please be assured that we now perform more thorough checks and cleaning processes in our rooms.

In regards to the noise, we do have a sound barrier which minimises roadside noise and this has been very effective for the majority of our guests who choose to stay in Marco Polo Sydney, Summer Hill. Most guests found our room quite when door and window are closed. Nevertheless, we have taken your feedback in to serious consideration to prevent incidents such as this one from occurring again in the future.

Since the beginning of 2014, we have implemented changes across the property, and will continue to do so. These include new air-conditioners, brand new flat screen TVs in stages, beautifying the front garden, neon sign works fine and parking lots for mini coaches and vans at the front yard. Furthermore, we are currently strengthening our cleaning procedure, improving the building and employing friendly staff; all to continue enhancing our customer's experience at the motel.

Whilst we do recognise the value of feedback posted on Trip Advisor, we see more value in the guests immediately reporting any concerns to the receptionist. This will help our team of staff to address and solve the issue immediately during your stay. Moreover, our on site managers would have been more than happy to resolve any issues you had. Unfortunately, as we are only learning about these issues you have experienced now, we are unable to rectify them.

We appreciate you taking the time in bringing this issue to our attention and it really means a lot to our team. We wish to make it up to you the next time you visit Sydney. We hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us in your future visits.

Please feel free to contact us at 90379888 if you have any further questions or comments concerning your stay.

Warmest Regards
Calvin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summer Hill
Shilla Lodge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Strathfield
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
507 reviews
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Motor Inn

Address: 42 Parramatta Rd, Summer Hill, Ashfield, New South Wales 2130, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ashfield > Summer Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summer Hill
Price Range: £58 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marco Polo Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Motor Inn offers budget 3 1/2 star accommodations conveniently located half way between Sydney City CBD and Olympic Park at Homebush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marco Polo Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Motor Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing