We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely spot but...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamelin Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamelin Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“lovely spot but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed 5days/4nights in May 2013, Staff were very friendly & obliging. The site was unfortunately right next to the bins so a bit smelly when the wind was blowing!. Very close to the beach for watching the stingrays & only 30mins to Dome in Margaret River. Little kiosk sold necessary items & Augusta 10-15 mins away for larger items. In general the park was tidy except for one of the ablution blocks (didnt see inside the other) which was in desperate need of renewing with used paper towel flowing out of the bins & shower heads that require you to run around in order to get wet. the park was quite full during our stay & there were a few very noisy campers. all in all its a cheap place to stay & a good base for day trips to local attractions but don"t know if I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubble1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Hamelin Bay Holiday Park on Trip Advisor. Constructive feedback is the way we make changes and grow. We hope you will try us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    61
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
46
40
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

What a find! We booked in for 3 nights with our Apollo hitop campervan. The location is perfect, a short stroll from the beach and jetty where the rays come so close to the beach that you can touch them (and they do not mind you touching them gently). The fishermen often clean their fish in the evening and give kids (inc the grown up kids!) the heads and tails to feed to the rays. We snorkelled a few times and loved watching the rays from above.

The amenities on the holiday park are of good standard, kept clean and plenty to cope (we were here just after easter and never had to wait). The campkitchen is very good. It is spacious, outdoors but obviously covered and with quite a few picnic tables and chairs. We used it every night. There are three sinks and three sets of burners (with two positions each) on a large workbench. In the middle are a couple of free BBQs. Indoors there is a big fridge, another sink and a cupboard with various utensils etc.

Prices are a up a bit in the peak season but still reasonable especially considering the facilities. We certainly look forward to going back!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank london4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.We are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday here and hope that you can return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

My wife and I along with our two boys spent 8 days leading up to Christmas at Hamelin Bay. We loved the fact that the kids could wander around the park either on their bikes or on foot safely. Our cabin was comfortable and the staff were friendly and nothing was too hard for them. The only down side was that someone attempted to steal our fishing gear and friends bike from out the front of our cabin. Only us investigating the noise late at night foiled their efforts. The bike and fishing gear was found the next day by park staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. So glad your fishing gear was found. Pre Christmas is a wonderful time to stay and we usually have good availability at this time. A good tip is to lock up any valuables at night just in case!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

about 3 hrs drive out of Perth WA,
nice quite place to camp with caravan or tent but there are also houses there for rent,
a lot of trees and beautiful clean beach at the door step,
we go to hamelin once a year just to get away from the busy cite its nice and peaceful with powered and non powered camp sites.

just beautiful

Room Tip: call/email in advance to get a great spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LukenAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. April is a gorgeous time to stay (even if the nights are getting a bit chilly) and yes it is good to call ahead to make a booking so we can give you a top spot to camp!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

A great park with shady trees, set in a slight depression so it is protected from the wind. Sites are generally large and mostly powered. A few cabins are situated closer to the beach, and are mostly new and well equipped. The kids love the ability to wander to the beach and around the sand dunes nearby. The shop sells a small range of essentials but it is worth doing your main shopping in Augusta.
This park has a very laid back feel, and I have travelled there in October twice in the last few years with friends and their families. We all stay adjacent to each other and set up a large central communal cooking/dining area for us all to use. This works really well if you travel with a group.
Good camp kitchen and BBQ area.
Close to the Boranup forest which has Karri trees and beautiful 2WD and 4WD tracks. Jewel Cave is also not far away.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leighton33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Just catching up on Trip Advisor reviews after a busy January. What a lovely surprise to have three lovely reviews. Thank you so much for your feedback. October is a great time to visit as we are not frantically busy! We hope to see you again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Friendly helpful staff
Large ground with all the stuff you need. Two toilet blocks with good water pressure, and quite clean. Nice campers Kitchen.
Has a little shop there as well.

We stayed in a Van at the sites up the far end near the beach which was nice.
Can go for walks in the local area.

Would recommend.
Would stay here again.
Great for motorhomes and campers. Can't comment on the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Hello Nathaniel
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and we're very happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope you can make it back to Hamelin Bay again soon.
Kind regards Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

This was our last stay after a trip from Perth to Albany, Walpole, Pemberton and Augusta on our way back to Perth. It was very quiet and peaceful. The beach is beautiful, we had some lovely walks up to the hairy green rocks and up to the cliffs. It's a good base to visit Boranup Karri Forest. It rained quite heavily at times but the sun always came out and so did the rainbows. The kiosk was closed but we brought all our supplies from Augusta and Karridale Tavern is only 10 minutes away for dinner. It was nice to just relax and enjoy nature, parrots, sea birds, Willie Wagtails and lots more. Even found a bull ant on the beach near the waves, I saved him/her.

Room Tip: We had a cottage close to the beach, nice to hear the waves and have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 784LouiseCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We value your comments and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamelin Bay
9.7 mi away
Baywatch Manor Augusta
Baywatch Manor Augusta
#2 of 13 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
10.0 mi away
Augusta Hotel Motel
Augusta Hotel Motel
#1 of 2 in Augusta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
15.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
19.9 mi away
Wharncliffe Mill
Wharncliffe Mill
#11 of 51 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
19.0 mi away
Riverview Tourist Park
Riverview Tourist Park
#13 of 51 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamelin Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamelin Bay Holiday Park

Property: Hamelin Bay Holiday Park
Address: Hamelin Bay West Road (Off Caves Road) | PO Box 4, Hamelin Bay, Western Australia 6288, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Hamelin Bay
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hamelin Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located around 20km north of Augusta and 40kms south of Margaret River, Hamelin Bay is well known for its stingrays. The number and size of them are amazing. You will be in awe of these inquisitive creatures. They will casually swim alongside you, and on some occasions even feed out of your hand. This is an incredible free experience, with no huge crowds and no appointment necessary! Hamelin Bay Holiday Park offers over 100 camping sites, with a mix of powered and unpowered. The park also has several caravan sites. If you prefer onsite accommodation then Hamelin Bay Holiday Park offers four different styles of cabins and cottages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing