We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yuk yuk yuk”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamelin Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamelin Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yuk yuk yuk”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Never again... Paid for 3 night left after 2. Stayed in beach cottage toilet broken sofa broken not kid friendly dishes dirty floor oily Customer service poor the only thing it has going for it is where it is

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifermeynell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Hamelin Bay Holiday Park on Trip Advisor. We value constructive feedback to help improve our holiday park and to ensure our future guests have an enjoyable stay.
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We would have liked the opportunity to rectify the problems you experienced with your beach cottage accommodation. We were unaware of any issue until after your departure. Our staff are always happy to attend to any maintenance or cleanliness issues immediately.
In reference to your comment about our customer service we would like to say that our staff are extremely polite and helpful at all times and would have been more than happy to attend to your concerns.
Once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    61
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
47
40
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Spent 2 wonderful night in Beach cabin. Turn up late, but key was ready for our own check in. Clean and comfortable, feel very much like home. Surrounding was beautiful, nice beach, Cape to Cape hike-just love the place. Short drive away is Augusta for most of our daily need, visit to light house, Cave viewing or northwards to be pamper at Margaret River, numerous winery. Would have stay longer, next time round that is.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvtanyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay in a beach cottage. Hamelin Bay is certainly a great base to visit the wonderful attractions of the region - only 15 minutes drive to the town of Augusta and the Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse and 30 minutes drive to Margaret River and it's famous wineries. We certainly hope you can come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yallingup, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed here for about a week around Australia Day 2013. Our pitch was on the left on the drive that leads down to the beach from reception. There are plenty of shady pitches with trees around. Facilities are generally good. Camp Kitchen is quite large with several sinks and places to prepare & cook food. Good Laundry area with machines too. However the ablution block should really have been given more attention by the cleaning staff, particularly in the height of the season when the park is at maximum occupancy. The standard of cleanliness around the showers and toilets was generally poor when we were there. Other than that, it is a great location, right next to the beach.

There is a small shop on site that sells Ice, Fishing Tackle, Snacks, and a small selection of groceries. Whilst we were there a guy from the local bakery came each morning in his van selling fresh bread, rolls and pastries. Augusta is about 15 minutes drive away, where there’s an IGA, Butchers, Café, Takeaway and Fuel. Three of Margaret River’s best caves to visit are just 15 minutes drive away too.

Hamelin Bay is quiet with no Bars, Restaurants or Shops in the immediate area. The beaches are lovely, with plenty of fishing, relaxing, and messing about in boats. Manta Rays visit the shore daily to be fed scraps of waste fish from the fishermen which is quite a sight.

We initially booked three nights and decided to extend our stay as we enjoyed it so much

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prostring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Hello
Many thanks for your review of Hamelin Bay Holiday Park. Your lovely description of the park will be very helpful to other people looking for accommodation in this area. We also thank you for your constructive feedback - this is how our business can grow and helps us understand our guest's needs. We are so glad you decided to stay longer than anticipated in January and we do hope you will come back and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed in a Park Cabin with Ensuite in July School holidays (Mon-Fri) for 4 nights initially but extended it to 5 nights. If you are like us, we love nature and did family activities every morning. We loved the Cape to Cape beach walks around cosy corner and within Hamelin Bay. We canoed and kayaked for 2 hours within the Blackwood Estuary near Augusta. We travelled with the dolphins for a good 1/2 hour. Was awesome for the kids and us. The children (7yr and 11yr) played hide and seek with all the other kids in the campground til 9pm every night. It was quiet and not populated which we loved. I personally went for lovely walks and runs in the vegetated sand dunes behind us. Full of nature, serenity and did a lot of healthy cooked meals. We had lots to do and see. Clean cabin but too cramped to stay in there the whole day and forces you to get out. Bring your own water if you don't like limey water. We will definitely be coming back.
Christina

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Hello Christina
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hamelin Bay Holiday Park. We're happy you enjoyed your stay. Our wonderful environment here makes it a perfect destination for nature lovers. So many things to do from beach combing to caving to walks in the forest. We hope you come back and visit - perhaps next time you would be more comfortable in one of of our larger two bedroom cottages. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful camping park. The staff are terrific and the park is extremely beautiful. The facilities are top notch too. Very clean. When we were there, the local Lions Club were even there planting trees to rejuvenate the surroundings. The sites are large and shaded and laid out in a park-like setting. Lots of birds and wildlife too, and close to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InnGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Hello InnGal, we are so happy you loved Hamelin Bay. We are located in such a naturally beautiful environment and feel it is important to try and maintain the wonderful surroundings for the local wildlife and future generations. Our tree planting went very well and we managed to plant 650 trees in and around the park. We hope you can come back one day and see how much they have grown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed 5days/4nights in May 2013, Staff were very friendly & obliging. The site was unfortunately right next to the bins so a bit smelly when the wind was blowing!. Very close to the beach for watching the stingrays & only 30mins to Dome in Margaret River. Little kiosk sold necessary items & Augusta 10-15 mins away for larger items. In general the park was tidy except for one of the ablution blocks (didnt see inside the other) which was in desperate need of renewing with used paper towel flowing out of the bins & shower heads that require you to run around in order to get wet. the park was quite full during our stay & there were a few very noisy campers. all in all its a cheap place to stay & a good base for day trips to local attractions but don"t know if I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubble1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Hamelin Bay Holiday Park on Trip Advisor. Constructive feedback is the way we make changes and grow. We hope you will try us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

What a find! We booked in for 3 nights with our Apollo hitop campervan. The location is perfect, a short stroll from the beach and jetty where the rays come so close to the beach that you can touch them (and they do not mind you touching them gently). The fishermen often clean their fish in the evening and give kids (inc the grown up kids!) the heads and tails to feed to the rays. We snorkelled a few times and loved watching the rays from above.

The amenities on the holiday park are of good standard, kept clean and plenty to cope (we were here just after easter and never had to wait). The campkitchen is very good. It is spacious, outdoors but obviously covered and with quite a few picnic tables and chairs. We used it every night. There are three sinks and three sets of burners (with two positions each) on a large workbench. In the middle are a couple of free BBQs. Indoors there is a big fridge, another sink and a cupboard with various utensils etc.

Prices are a up a bit in the peak season but still reasonable especially considering the facilities. We certainly look forward to going back!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank london4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.We are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday here and hope that you can return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamelin Bay
9.7 mi away
Baywatch Manor Augusta
Baywatch Manor Augusta
#2 of 13 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
10.0 mi away
Augusta Hotel Motel
Augusta Hotel Motel
#1 of 2 in Augusta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
15.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
19.9 mi away
Wharncliffe Mill
Wharncliffe Mill
#11 of 51 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
19.0 mi away
Riverview Tourist Park
Riverview Tourist Park
#13 of 51 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamelin Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamelin Bay Holiday Park

Property: Hamelin Bay Holiday Park
Address: Hamelin Bay West Road (Off Caves Road) | PO Box 4, Hamelin Bay, Western Australia 6288, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Hamelin Bay
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hamelin Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located around 20km north of Augusta and 40kms south of Margaret River, Hamelin Bay is well known for its stingrays. The number and size of them are amazing. You will be in awe of these inquisitive creatures. They will casually swim alongside you, and on some occasions even feed out of your hand. This is an incredible free experience, with no huge crowds and no appointment necessary! Hamelin Bay Holiday Park offers over 100 camping sites, with a mix of powered and unpowered. The park also has several caravan sites. If you prefer onsite accommodation then Hamelin Bay Holiday Park offers four different styles of cabins and cottages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing