We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamelin Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamelin Bay Holiday Park
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The resort is easily accessible at the end of Caves Road, a main road, near Augusta. It has no phone coverage and no wi fi, but if you can put that technology aside it's a lovely quiet place to chill. The sunsets are dramatic and the beach so close. We stayed in a beach cottage, one of the top of the range apartments. The cottages have a big balcony with a large table and just right for an evening glass of wine as you eat your barbecue. The bedrooms are adequate: one double and one with bunk beds. The shower room is also all you need, not luxurious but good enough. With good weather you'll have a great time there, and if you like water sports you'll be well placed. There are lots of "touristy" things to do but transport is essential unless you wish to spend all the time on the beach, which I guess would be sublime with good weather.

Room Tip: Great location, but not luxurious accommodation. Great possibilities for sun lovers and beach fans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for your review of Hamelin Bay Holiday Park. As you mentioned, we are very lucky to be in such a good location, with easy access to the park and beach straight from the main highway. The weather has been perfect for beach goers and we are so glad you got to see one of our gorgeous sunsets! A wine and BBQ on the deck of a beach cottage, is certainly a great way to spend your evenings. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will be able to enjoy this experience again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed in an ocean front cottage for 4days in Nov. I have to say the website pictures don't do it justice. We had a very comfortable, relaxed and peaceful stay, with some spectacular sunsets. It was a pleasure to come back to after a full day of exploring Margaret river. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gowiththeflow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you for your review of Hamelin Bay Holiday Park. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay in an Ocean View Cottage and had the opportunity to experience a beautiful "Hamelin Bay" sunset. What a perfect way to relax after a busy day of site seeing!
We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

A friend and I were looking for one night stay as we criss-crossed South West WA and found this little gem. We had heard about stingrays that swim to the shore for human company and this, coupled with the chance for a beach getaway, was intriguing.

We booked ahead and the service around bookings was great. Very detailed information on how to get there and we didn't get lost (even though we were very late and arriving in the dark). The key was in the late arrivals box with a map to our cabin. The only issue I would have about the booking was having to pay for two nights even though we only needed one. I understand in peak times this is the case but not in other times. Also we missed out on the beach cottage but the cottage we had was great. There are also other accommodation options such as camping available.

The cabins were very clean and well appointed. Linen provided, air-conditioning if needed, verandah with outdoor dining, a kitchen with everything you need and enough space inside and out. If I had the time I could see being quite content here for a number of days or a week. The cabins are well-spaced so you aren't living on top of each other. The beach is only a few minutes away and there is a kiosk, playground, camping grounds, camp kitchen. Everyone seemed to observe 'camp rules' so were considerate about noise. It is a bit of a drive to 'civilisation' (you need to make sure your bring your groceries - including water as there is only bore water - but the kiosk has essentials). If you are looking for a get away and peace from the hustle and bustle then this is the place.

Unfortunately, the weather was stormy so no stingrays and the beach was littered with smelly seaweed. But we had a great walk along the beach up to the headland which is well kept, well signed and has a magnificent view down to Cape Leeuwin. I imagine on a great summer's day it would be great to get out for a swim, kayak or maybe a surf? Or take to the hiking trails with the fantastic Karri forests which surround the area or drive to nearby towns.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mogthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Hello
Thank you for your review of Hamelin Bay Holiday Park. We are so glad that you discovered us on your travels around the South West of WA. Our famous Hamelin Bay stingrays have been rather illusive over the past two weeks however they are sure to come out of hiding with the warmer weather approaching. The stingrays certainly are a delight to watch when they are in the bay.
This region offers so many fantastic activities including beach combing, snorkeling and caving just to name a few.
We would also like to mention that our minimum two night booking policy only applies to weekend bookings (Friday and Saturday nights). We welcome one night bookings mid week.
We hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just got back to Perth after great extended weekend at Hamelin Bay. Stayed 3 nights in ensuite rooms had 2 cabins between family. Great facilities for us that like the extra comforts. Had our own shower and toilet, self contained unit, cooked and enjoyed a few beers around the fire at night fantastic spot near Augusta, Hotel great lunch spot, Margaret River close by and all the caves that's if you can pull yourself away from the beach fishing & swimming.

Room Tip: Ensuite rooms are really good for privacy and comfort but all camp is so family friendly that it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Hello
Thank you for your review of Hamelin Bay Holiday Park. This location is certainly perfect for a family holiday with a mix of cabins and cottages and camping to suit all budgets. We are conveniently located between Margaret River and Augusta and we have the caves and wineries at our door step.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after a two day Cape to Cape walk which was hard going and the cabin was a welcome relief. It was clean and located right near the beach. The cabin was comfortable with heating/cooling and everything you needed to cook and clean up. The water was hot and pressure was perfect. There was a decent sized TV with digital TV providing plenty of channels. The ladies at the reception and kiosk were friendly and very helpful accommodating to our individual needs (even throwing in a free mud cake on arrival after our hike). An outside BBQ was also provided. Beware the sand flies and mozzies so make sure you bring plenty of aeroguard. We thought our cabin was a little pricey however it was school holidays and we had three adults and one child.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Hello
Thank you for your helpful review on Trip Advisor. Hamelin Bay Holiday Park can certainly be a welcome oasis to a weary Cape to Cape walker. We hope you enjoyed your challenging adventure along the track and would be delighted to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here in late September, they had issues with the power blackout as a result of storms in the region (as did many other places). However, the staff were friendly and explained the issues, offered a discount. The cabin was near the beach, clean tidy and very spacious for 3. Short 2 minute walk to the beach and lookout area. You would require vehicle transport as there is not a great deal in terms of shops within walking distance. Perfectly located to cover other points of interest such as caves, walks and Augusta.

Room Tip: Booked the beach cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Hello
Thank you so much for reviewing Hamelin Bay Holiday Park. Trip Advisor is such a useful tool for travellers and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
The power outage certainly made us realise how dependent we are on electricity and we thank you for being understanding of our predicament.
We hope you will visit the region again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Never again... Paid for 3 night left after 2. Stayed in beach cottage toilet broken sofa broken not kid friendly dishes dirty floor oily Customer service poor the only thing it has going for it is where it is

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifermeynell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Hamelin Bay Holiday Park on Trip Advisor. We value constructive feedback to help improve our holiday park and to ensure our future guests have an enjoyable stay.
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We would have liked the opportunity to rectify the problems you experienced with your beach cottage accommodation. We were unaware of any issue until after your departure. Our staff are always happy to attend to any maintenance or cleanliness issues immediately.
In reference to your comment about our customer service we would like to say that our staff are extremely polite and helpful at all times and would have been more than happy to attend to your concerns.
Once again thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamelin Bay
19.5 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
10 mi away
Augusta Hotel Motel
Augusta Hotel Motel
#1 of 2 in Augusta
140 reviews
9.7 mi away
Baywatch Manor Augusta
Baywatch Manor Augusta
#2 of 12 in Augusta
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Augusta Sheoak Chalets
Augusta Sheoak Chalets
#5 of 12 in Augusta
62 reviews
9.8 mi away
Harmony Forest
Harmony Forest
#36 of 51 in Margaret River
64 reviews
19.9 mi away
Wharncliffe Mill
Wharncliffe Mill
#12 of 51 in Margaret River
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamelin Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamelin Bay Holiday Park

Address: Hamelin Bay West Road (Off Caves Road) | PO Box 4, Hamelin Bay, Western Australia 6288, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Hamelin Bay
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hamelin Bay
Price Range: £82 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located around 20km north of Augusta and 40kms south of Margaret River, Hamelin Bay is well known for its stingrays. The number and size of them are amazing. You will be in awe of these inquisitive creatures. They will casually swim alongside you, and on some occasions even feed out of your hand. This is an incredible free experience, with no huge crowds and no appointment necessary! Hamelin Bay Holiday Park offers over 100 camping sites, with a mix of powered and unpowered. The park also has several caravan sites. If you prefer onsite accommodation then Hamelin Bay Holiday Park offers four different styles of cabins and cottages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing