We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, basic but clean cabins”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamelin Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamelin Bay Holiday Park
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed one night in an ensuite cabin. The big draw here is the beautiful beach, the rays and the excellent snorkeling at Mushroom rock. Our cabin was pretty basic and dated, however very clean and quiet. Compared with elsewhere in Australia, it was a little expensive for what you get, however we had an enjoyable stay overall.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Front Office Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Hamelin Bay Holiday park. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overnight stay in one of our lovely park cabins with ensuite. As you mentioned they are located in a quiet setting, nestled amongst the sites and peppermint trees. It is always nice to hear of people enjoying themselves swimming with our majestic sting rays and exploring what the beautiful ocean has to offer here. We hope you can enjoy a stay here again sometime.
Again thank you for reviewing us, we really appreciate any feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We enjoyed 2 nights at this park, the staff are great, nothing is too much bother (we had a number of changes for our arrival and departure nights and they never got annoyed with us). The powered sites are huge, we could fit 2 motor homes on the one site and the facilities are clean and well kept.

The beach is stunningly beautiful, shame we didn't catch any fish probably would have if the mantarays didn't steal them off our line all the time but that is part and parcel of staying there. Would definitely stay again, only negative is that we were told by the lady at the shop that no tour companies pick up from the area which was disappointing as not everybody in our group wanted to spend all day fishing so it meant there was nothing for some of us to do other than go to the beach. If we could have done some type of tour we would have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The beach chalets looked lovely, great views, if we didn't have motor homes we would have defini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonFinola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Front Office Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are lucky to have some large sites in the park to accommodate motor homes, as they are becoming a popular way for families to travel.
There are many tour companies that depart from Margaret River, approximately 30km away. As we are located peacefully away from the busy towns, there is not the call for tour companies to pick up from Hamelin Bay at this stage.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will catch a fish on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My partner and I decided to go down south for a couple of nights and had no real plans on where to stay. Luck would have it that we rolled into this place after a long search of nice places that allowed tents and didn't feel as though we where staying in a 5 star holiday park.

We like to get closer to nature rather than having lush green grass, swimming pools and and the essentials from home. If we wanted this then we would stay in a hotel or resort and would do so over seas rather than in WA. So this place was perfect as it was peaceful and felt like we where sleeping out in the bush while still having the essential requirements like hot showers and toilets. Plus the kitchen was an added bonus that we didn't expect.

The best part was the fishing.If you want to catch lots of fish and be able to feed yourself on what you catch then this place is the best place to stay at. In 1 morning we caught over a dozen Whiting, Herring and skippies.

I am sure we will be back here again next time we go down south.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Front Office Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review of our holiday park. We are so happy you came across our park and enjoyed your stay with us. The natural bush setting makes it a beautiful place to get away and relax. Hamelin Bay is also a very popular place for fishing and it sounds as though you did very well! We look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed in a standard cabin and I have to say the cabin was very run down, the expected 70s soft furnishings, lots of spiders on webs and lots of ants, so much so that they were falling off the window sill above our bed and onto our pillows ... I don't usually expect to pay for such an experience! Unfortunately the site was fully booked so I couldn't even pay extra to upgrade and due to being such limited accommodation in the area we decided to move the bed to the middle of the floor and just stay the next night. On the plus side the location is lovely, although due to the large amount of seaweed on the beach at the moment it was not too easy to see the rays but we were lucky that they did appear in a clear area for us to see them :) Shower blocks were also one of the poorest standards we have seen but they did have good hot water supply. Sorry no pics but I was too annoyed to be taking pictures. Management ... I think it's time to upgrade facilities!!!

Room Tip: More expensive beach cottages looked pleasant from the outside but the standard cabins my husband (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SandraCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Front Office Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to provide us with constructive feedback on your experience staying with us. The ants have been friendly in the camp site this year and we do our best to keep them at bay and upon your find we again tried our best to eliminate them immediately. As you say, it was unfortunate we could not upgrade you on this occasion. Hopefully you can return to the park one day and take those pictures, of our beautiful beach!
Once again thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Location, Location, Location...yes a fantastic place for cabins and seaside accommodation. We booked in the camping area, which was a mistake during school holidays. Understand packing them in, but chaos comes to mind, no organisation for camping sites it seems multiple groups are more welcomed than couples.

The facilities are a little light on ie two communal blocks, which are cleaned once a day. No drinkable water, bore water only. The camps sites / walk ways need to be more defined, and multiple groups not encouraged to " take over". Small children need to be supervised especially ( parents stand around drinking) around roadway areas where large caravans/boats and 4wd operate.

Too bad there is a monopoly in this location.

Room Tip: Cabins are right on the beach front, value for money is debatable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lozza1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for your review of Hamelin Bay Holiday Park. As you have mentioned we are very lucky to have our cabins located so close to such a gorgeous beach. One of the nice features of the holiday park is that we are nestled in natural bush surroundings. As we are in our high peak holiday season and are family friendly, our park is very lively at the moment. Another nice time to visit us would be in February or March, when the weather is still lovely but the crowds are less. We hope you will take an opportunity to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Close to everything in the region like Margret River attractions. The Bay is superb for beach activities, fishing and launching the boat. The sand is lovely, sea and air clean and fresh. Worthwhile just for a day visit.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank dejamls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hamelin Bay Holiday Park. We are so glad you found your time relaxing here. The beach has been magic this summer and we sure are lucky to have that clean sea breeze down here. What a great central location we have for day trips to the Augusta and the Margaret River region. We hope you can come and enjoy a relaxing stay with us again sometime. All the best for the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The resort is easily accessible at the end of Caves Road, a main road, near Augusta. It has no phone coverage and no wi fi, but if you can put that technology aside it's a lovely quiet place to chill. The sunsets are dramatic and the beach so close. We stayed in a beach cottage, one of the top of the range apartments. The cottages have a big balcony with a large table and just right for an evening glass of wine as you eat your barbecue. The bedrooms are adequate: one double and one with bunk beds. The shower room is also all you need, not luxurious but good enough. With good weather you'll have a great time there, and if you like water sports you'll be well placed. There are lots of "touristy" things to do but transport is essential unless you wish to spend all the time on the beach, which I guess would be sublime with good weather.

Room Tip: Great location, but not luxurious accommodation. Great possibilities for sun lovers and beach fans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for your review of Hamelin Bay Holiday Park. As you mentioned, we are very lucky to be in such a good location, with easy access to the park and beach straight from the main highway. The weather has been perfect for beach goers and we are so glad you got to see one of our gorgeous sunsets! A wine and BBQ on the deck of a beach cottage, is certainly a great way to spend your evenings. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will be able to enjoy this experience again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamelin Bay
19.5 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
19.9 mi away
Wharncliffe Mill
Wharncliffe Mill
#9 of 51 in Margaret River
162 reviews
9.7 mi away
Baywatch Manor Augusta
Baywatch Manor Augusta
#2 of 12 in Augusta
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Augusta Hotel Motel
Augusta Hotel Motel
#1 of 2 in Augusta
145 reviews
18.9 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
723 reviews
18.6 mi away
Stay Margaret River
Stay Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamelin Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamelin Bay Holiday Park

Address: Hamelin Bay West Road (Off Caves Road) | PO Box 4, Hamelin Bay, Western Australia 6288, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Hamelin Bay
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hamelin Bay
Price Range: £79 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located around 20km north of Augusta and 40kms south of Margaret River, Hamelin Bay is well known for its stingrays. The number and size of them are amazing. You will be in awe of these inquisitive creatures. They will casually swim alongside you, and on some occasions even feed out of your hand. This is an incredible free experience, with no huge crowds and no appointment necessary! Hamelin Bay Holiday Park offers over 100 camping sites, with a mix of powered and unpowered. The park also has several caravan sites. If you prefer onsite accommodation then Hamelin Bay Holiday Park offers four different styles of cabins and cottages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing