We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean View Cottage: Very pleasant”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamelin Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamelin Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ocean View Cottage: Very pleasant”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a nice site on the pristine WA coastline. Stayed for just a night while walking the Cape to Cape trail which goes right past the park. It was off season, so very quiet and good value ($180 for the night).

The Ocean Beach Cottages are well situated, modern and clean. Well appointed with plenty of kitchen utensils and modern bathroom. Site staff were very friendly and most helpful.

At the height of the season, I suspect this would be a very busy spot and might be quite noisy. Certainly no problem in May.

There is a small shop and a payphone. Unfortunately, the payphone was not working (apparently it often doesn't). I think the park should insist that Telstra fix that, as there is little or no mobile reception available. The reception staff allowed me to use their phone to check in with base back home, so the folks new I hadn't been washed away on the walk or eaten by roos/wild foxes.

I would like to return to one of the cottages for a longer stay in the future - it is very good accommodation.

Room Tip: Do go for an Ocean View Cottage rather than a beach cottage if you want to see the ocean. Request o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Park. Lovely to hear you enjoyed your brief stay with us after your journey on the Cape to Cape Track. A well earned rest from discovering the beauty of our magnificent South West Coastline. It's such a lovely time of year to visit as the Park is quiet which invites warm, cosy stay's in our Cottages with breathtaking views of our beach and just enough break's in the weather to explore this beautiful coast.
We look forward to seeing you again here at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    62
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
47
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Lovely location, sheltered by where the campsites are from the winds.
Beautiful beach.

Sadly, it doesn't seem the curfew is enforced, the 'caravan' group that decided to let their kids ride their bikes after midnight (kids under 10) , and the music being turned up loudly after 10:30pm until around 3am... isn't really fair to other park visitors.

Lovely to have a campfire, thanks again.

Room Tip: Tent sites lovely. Sorry, had to rate swimming pool & fitness centre as poor, you don't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Hamelin Bay Holiday Park.
Most of our camping sites are lovely and sheltered from the wind. Autumn and early winter are a great time to visit as the park is very green from the rain. When the evenings are chilly there's nothing quite like a cosy campfire.
Our guest's comfort and enjoyment of these beautiful surroundings are of the utmost importance to us and we encourage any noise disturbance to be reported to our onsite managers via the courtesy phone located at our Reception building. Any problems are happily dealt with immediately.
We do hope you will come back and camp with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Spent a lovely long weekend at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park late last month - the weather was beautiful and sunny (for most of the weekend anyway) and the beach and bush were calm and tranquil. The sting rays in the bay are absolutely incredible - so big and come right up to the shoreline looking for tasty fish morsels to eat. There were dolphins playing in the bay as well and the beach fishermen and women were catching plenty of salmon and other smaller fish. The holiday beach cottage was compact but had everything we needed - comfortable beds, a fully equipped kitchen TV, bathroom and a wonderful large verandah so we could sit out at night and have dinner with our friends. The service at check in and out was excellent and the park was lovely and clean. Would definitely stay here again. The drive down through the beautiful karri forest was in itself a wonderful experience and a day trip into Augusta to see the lighthouse and old waterwheel made for a nice excursion too.

Room Tip: we stayed in the beach cottage number 1 which was very close to the beach. There are also oceanview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to review Hamelin Bay Holiday Park. We always love to hear that our guests have a had a lovely stay (and of course that the weather has been kind). The stingrays are certainly incredible and never cease to amaze our visitors with their antics. Hamelin Bay is a great base for activities in this lovely little South West pocket of Western Australia. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Sadly we went for a water activity weekend but that weekend the water activity was constant rain and strong wind, first time for months, so we adapted and viewed it as a winter break, it was still great but would have been better if the fishing and snorkling were on. The cottage was warm, the air cond worked well. All the equipment was in good order, just remember to take bottled water (big sizes) for drinks, we would go again. It is however a fair drive to the nearest pubs or eateries so keep that in mind, still worth it a lovely spot.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazza222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hello
Many thanks for your review of Hamelin Bay Holiday Park. There certainly are many wonderful water based activities here at Hamelin Bay. We hope you can come back when the weather is lovely and warm to enjoy some snorkelling and fishing. Great tip to bring some water as all of our water is from a bore and does need boiling or treating before consumption. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
263 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in an ensuite cabin. The big draw here is the beautiful beach, the rays and the excellent snorkeling at Mushroom rock. Our cabin was pretty basic and dated, however very clean and quiet. Compared with elsewhere in Australia, it was a little expensive for what you get, however we had an enjoyable stay overall.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Front Office Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Hamelin Bay Holiday park. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overnight stay in one of our lovely park cabins with ensuite. As you mentioned they are located in a quiet setting, nestled amongst the sites and peppermint trees. It is always nice to hear of people enjoying themselves swimming with our majestic sting rays and exploring what the beautiful ocean has to offer here. We hope you can enjoy a stay here again sometime.
Again thank you for reviewing us, we really appreciate any feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We enjoyed 2 nights at this park, the staff are great, nothing is too much bother (we had a number of changes for our arrival and departure nights and they never got annoyed with us). The powered sites are huge, we could fit 2 motor homes on the one site and the facilities are clean and well kept.

The beach is stunningly beautiful, shame we didn't catch any fish probably would have if the mantarays didn't steal them off our line all the time but that is part and parcel of staying there. Would definitely stay again, only negative is that we were told by the lady at the shop that no tour companies pick up from the area which was disappointing as not everybody in our group wanted to spend all day fishing so it meant there was nothing for some of us to do other than go to the beach. If we could have done some type of tour we would have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The beach chalets looked lovely, great views, if we didn't have motor homes we would have defini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonFinola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Front Office Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are lucky to have some large sites in the park to accommodate motor homes, as they are becoming a popular way for families to travel.
There are many tour companies that depart from Margaret River, approximately 30km away. As we are located peacefully away from the busy towns, there is not the call for tour companies to pick up from Hamelin Bay at this stage.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will catch a fish on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My partner and I decided to go down south for a couple of nights and had no real plans on where to stay. Luck would have it that we rolled into this place after a long search of nice places that allowed tents and didn't feel as though we where staying in a 5 star holiday park.

We like to get closer to nature rather than having lush green grass, swimming pools and and the essentials from home. If we wanted this then we would stay in a hotel or resort and would do so over seas rather than in WA. So this place was perfect as it was peaceful and felt like we where sleeping out in the bush while still having the essential requirements like hot showers and toilets. Plus the kitchen was an added bonus that we didn't expect.

The best part was the fishing.If you want to catch lots of fish and be able to feed yourself on what you catch then this place is the best place to stay at. In 1 morning we caught over a dozen Whiting, Herring and skippies.

I am sure we will be back here again next time we go down south.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa L, Front Office Manager at Hamelin Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of our holiday park. We are so happy you came across our park and enjoyed your stay with us. The natural bush setting makes it a beautiful place to get away and relax. Hamelin Bay is also a very popular place for fishing and it sounds as though you did very well! We look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamelin Bay
9.7 mi away
Baywatch Manor Augusta
Baywatch Manor Augusta
#2 of 13 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
10.0 mi away
Augusta Hotel Motel
Augusta Hotel Motel
#1 of 2 in Augusta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
15.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
19.9 mi away
Wharncliffe Mill
Wharncliffe Mill
#10 of 51 in Margaret River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
19.0 mi away
Riverview Tourist Park
Riverview Tourist Park
#14 of 51 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamelin Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamelin Bay Holiday Park

Property: Hamelin Bay Holiday Park
Address: Hamelin Bay West Road (Off Caves Road) | PO Box 4, Hamelin Bay, Western Australia 6288, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Hamelin Bay
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hamelin Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located around 20km north of Augusta and 40kms south of Margaret River, Hamelin Bay is well known for its stingrays. The number and size of them are amazing. You will be in awe of these inquisitive creatures. They will casually swim alongside you, and on some occasions even feed out of your hand. This is an incredible free experience, with no huge crowds and no appointment necessary! Hamelin Bay Holiday Park offers over 100 camping sites, with a mix of powered and unpowered. The park also has several caravan sites. If you prefer onsite accommodation then Hamelin Bay Holiday Park offers four different styles of cabins and cottages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing