We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxed pleasant dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piato

Piato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Piato offers the best flavours of the Mediterranean with the bustling atmosphere of Europe.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,233 reviews
564 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 594 helpful votes
“relaxed pleasant dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Relaxed casual atmosphere with a mix of tapas and mains to choose from. Friendly staff provide good service and meals come in appropriate time. Wine list is not extensive but ok. Enjoyed a selection of tapas entrees to share and then moved to individual mains. Everything as described and good serve sizes. Tempted to share desserts to finish and we were not disappointed. Whether dining under awning beside pavement, or indoors, a very good atmosphere prevails.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    59
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Avalon Beach, Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Consistant quality and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

That's probably why there is always a crowd here.
Easter Good Friday was a tough day to try and find a restaurant open for lunch.... and would take bookings too.
The reservation was politely taken, and the outside table was ready when we arrrived.
Although there is a regular menu, we always opt for tapas. Proscuttto wrapped goats cheese, salmon carpaccio, beetroot salad.
Wine $8 or $9 a glass.
Even on a public holiday, the service was swift, and unobtrusive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davlynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
186 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Consistently good. Our go to place for a nice dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This is our go to restaurant for a nice dinner out. We always take our friends here when dining in our area. The service and food is consistently good plus you can BYO. The scallops, kingfish and lamb are delicious.
It's a nice atmosphere sitting outside or in the courtyard.
We can usually get away with entrees & mains for around $100.
My only complaint is that they don't seem to change the menu.

Bookings essential for Fridays & weekends.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 665kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The customer is never right at Piatos”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

My family and I have been coming to this local cafe for years, but this morning I had a very bad experience. I ordered pancakes for breakfast, something I have very regularly at many cafés, including Piatos. This morning the pancakes were dripping or floating in about a cupful of syrup and horrible, sickly sweet and inedible. I returned the pancakes immediately. I decided to opt for toast.
When I paid my bill and started to walk home. I realized that they had charged me for the pancake. I returned to the restaurant and the waiter was most indignant. He said he had tasted the pancakes- they were fine and therefore he charged me half the price. I explained as the customer- I could not eat them. No prior explanation, apology, no refund. I am stunned.
So in conclusion, you will pay for your food here no matter what they serve you.
I think the management here have become very complacent and rude I shall not return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great little Greek restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Lovely outside tables for a nice lunch indoor seating and a courtyard - spoilt for choice.

Greek Mezze dishes for sharing are the way to go.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JanKind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piato also viewed

McMahons Point, North Sydney
McMahons Point, North Sydney
 
McMahons Point, North Sydney
Milsons Point, North Sydney
 
McMahons Point, North Sydney
Milsons Point, North Sydney
 

Been to Piato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing