We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top shelf Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kinn Restaurant mcmahons point - CLOSED

Kinn Restaurant mcmahons point
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top shelf Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Kinn is set in a beautiful old sandstone building and there is a courtyard upstairs for those that want to dine al fresco. It's a little more expensive than typical Sydney Thai restaurants but worth it. You can keep costs reasonable by choosing the standard Thai dishes but the specials are excellent and a cut above the standard Thai menu you normally see. The service is friendly and genuine. They now offer BYO wine every night so grab a bottle and check it out!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lkiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    28
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stumbled upon this place, and loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was a very pleasant surprise, just a few blocks from our hotel. Very good food, good mix of variety, excellent starters and mains. Decent drink selection.

There is a patio on the second floor. Seating inside is rather crowded, but mostly because it's so popular. it is very rare to see an empty table, at any time I've been.

The staff was very attentive, and every dish was very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Tyson_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food & Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Found this gorgeous restaurant through tripadvisor, while staying in Sydney for a three day weekend. It was everything the reviews promised and more. It was small, romantic and had a lovely old world feel about it. Loved the fireplace. Food was fresh and delicious and the staff were really friendly. In fact, there menu was so refreshingly different, we dined there twice that weekend, which we have never done before!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First time there, won't be my last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Lovely interior, great service, reasonable prices, delicious food and generous servings (for the meat dishes). You won't be disappointed nor will you go home hungry.

The only downside I experienced, was that being a popular restaurant, the room became quite loud and it was hard to hear the conversation with the friend I was dining with.

I'd come here again though, for sure!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ailecSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We had a great meal with very tasty food. It used to be quite expensive but is now affordable. Great food!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shas51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kinn Restaurant mcmahons point also viewed

McMahons Point, North Sydney
McMahons Point, North Sydney
 
McMahons Point, North Sydney
McMahons Point, North Sydney
 
McMahons Point, North Sydney
McMahons Point, North Sydney
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing