We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Lights Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Motel 429(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wrest Point(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islington Hotel(Hobart)
US$349
US$271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clydesdale Manor(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grosvenor Court Apartments(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayfair Plaza Motel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Woolmers Apartments(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$58
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
6
18
12
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
18
12
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteaksouthern lightsshopping centreroom was spaciousbruny islandmake suremorning coffeethe staff was friendly and helpfulmealsmicrowavehobartbaseaccommodationsundayunitspenny
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed there on a Saturday night and was very impressed. We arrived around 10pm and the room had the heater put on for us, as it was cold.

The room was clean and modern and very good for a family. We had a standard room that had 2 singles and 1 bunk.

I would recoomend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the main building and was very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austkd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We are regulars at the restaurant here. Highly Recommended. Fresh, quality food with something for everyone. We have all tried steak, seafood and pasta and enjoyed all of it. Good service, small but interesting selection of wines and decent fresh servings of food. We also enjoy desert!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alittle_pinewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here on January 3 and 4 in Room 30. Hobart was either booked out or outrageously expensive because of some boat race (!) and Taste of Tassie and we were simply marking time until we could find a home to rent to start our new life in Tasmania. I expected a lot more for $160 per night in an area away from the city. The room was large and comfortable but the decor was a tired 90's peach/apricot. Step outside and glimpses of the water were pleasant and parking was plentiful but it's in an obscure spot in suburbia and you have to go everywhere by car. Felt a bit "fleeced" with this one.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PollardHackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed two nights in deluxe twin room with fabulous view over Kingston and the Derwent Estuary, clean room with small, adequate kitchenette, with toaster, kettle, microwave, utensils, and frig,freezer.Beds were comfortable. Quiet location even though friendly staff warned that there may be noise from the highway to Huonville. Hired a car so 'out of town' location was no problem. As with most motels had to move the chairs to beside the beds for T.V. viewing!

Room Tip: Front deluxe rooms have view and have been refurbished.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ailsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Room was only decent. Bed was clean. Cups were not clean. No bread toaster. No microwave. Garden bugs were in my room (i thought they were bed bugs). Shower is small area. Minimum facility. Wifi was given free but inaccessible from my room. You have to walk to the reception to get a better connection. The room has a modem but it is not a wireless router. Decent place but dont expect wonders out of it. It was so windy and noisy at night i get woken up so sleep quality is bad.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews