We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Piece of Australian history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wiss House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Kalbar B&B and Inns
sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Piece of Australian history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Wiss House and the surrounding area. It is such a serene location with so much to enjoy. I came from spending a few days on Surfers and I can easily say that visiting the country was a welcome retreat from all the lights and noise.

I was after a relaxing time away and that is exactly what I got. The house itself is so rich in history, you can read through the scrapbook in the lounge room to discover all the specific mentions of Wiss House in past news.

I recommend coming with your favourite book so you can sit on the verandah and soak in the mountain views and sunlight.

I thoroughly enjoyed the drive to Kalbar and made many stops just to enjoy the open space. I've lived in Australia (Sydney) my whole life and I didn't know how beautiful our country is until I visited Kalbar.

Room Tip: You have a dilemma of really nice four poster bed without ensuite bathroom or nice room with ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Your appreciation of Kalbar, its beauty, peace and tranquilty and the history of the house is exactly why l chose to open a bed and breakfast here. I wanted people to be able to experience the natural peace and beauty away from the city and yet so close...just an hour away.
The town of Kalbar is a delight to live in and is how l remember Australia was when l was growing up.
I thank you so much for writing your wonderful review and hope to see you again sometime. Kind regards Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

What a beautiful, relaxing bed and breakfast. Our room was wonderful with a magnificent 4 poster bed and comfy pillows. Sarah our host cooked the most amazing dinner and breakfast sourcing all local produce. This is definitely somewhere I will be visiting again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thankyou so much for the great review Sonja, I really try to support our local growers, bakers, butchers etc because the products out here are really good, especially our local organic butcher, baker, smallgood maker. I use organic wherever possible - eggs, vegies, preserves and meat.
Really hope to see you back here again. Kind regards Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Wiss House is a beautiful historic home in Kilbar which is full of old world charm.

The rooms have lovely fittings and features and my bed was very comfortable! I was fortunate to be allocated the ensuite room, and it was a real treat! It had a clawfoot bath!

The dining room, where breakfast and dinner were served, is absolutely gorgeous - with many of the original features and lovely antique furniture.

Sarah is a warm and friendly host who made me feel very welcome. She is an excellent cook, the evening meals were varied, wholesome, and of excellent quality.

Sarah is an expert in the local attractions in the Scenic Rim that can be reached easily by car.

Kilbar and neighbouring Boonah were friendly and interesting. I can recommend the Kilbar butcher for quality meats - and they held my purchase overnight in the coldroom, ready for me to pick up on my way home!

I will be recommending Wiss House to my friends!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked comfortable and beautiful, but as this is a historic house, not all the rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Michelle, it was a delight to have you here for five days and thanknyou so much for taking the time to write a great review,
much appreciated.
I wish you all the best in the future.
kind regards Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Myself and my wonderful partner Christo stayed at the Wiss House for a 1 night get away on the 22nd of June. What a beautiful amazing old Queensland style home made even more welcoming and friendly by Sara. She is the most gracious, friendly and hard working host , thank you Sara for making our stay romantic and full of fantastic memories what a lovely breakfast aswell.
We will be back for longer next time .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skomfy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and l cant tell you how much it picked me up having received it just after my mothers funeral. It makes all the difference in the world to be so appreciated by my guests and acknowledged for my hard work so please accept my heartfelt thank and gratitude . Hope to see you again.
Kind regards
. Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Qld
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Having just returned from our stay at Wiss House I would like to say what a wonderfully charming B & B it is. Sara is the most gracious, friendly and hard working host and we couldn't fault the meals we were offered that she worked so hard to make for us. The stunning decor just takes your breath away and all the antiques and old photos are so interesting. A real little hidden jewel. We were also lucky enough to be in town for the Kalbar show and then went on our wine tasting experience that was part of the coupon we bought, both of which we thoroughly enjoyed. All up a very relaxed and pleasurable weekend and extremely good value for money.

Room Tip: We had the large four poster king bed in the front room and although it doesn't have a private b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indianna10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Great time away for peace and quiet, beautiful scenery and friendly country folk! Lots to do in surrounding areas as well. Sara was amazing and made us feel right at home! We admired her knowledge of the history and passion for the house. Definitely worth a visit! Great value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Well, after our accommodation at this hotel we feel so refreshed. it was time to relax and unwind. The hotel is spectacular, the food was stunning, friendly and great customer's service, spacious rooms, beautiful decoration, great music.In conclusion the hotel is lovely . Thanks Sara

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thankyou Yolanda and thanks for mentioning the great music as previous guests would not be aware we now have a pianola which anyone can play because the music is on rolls and you just peddle! There are 80 rolls of old time music, Great fun. Hope to see you both here again soon. Kind regards Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalbar
3.9 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
16.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Kooralbyn Valley
5.0 mi away
Boonah Motel
Boonah Motel
#2 of 3 in Boonah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat
5.7 mi away
Boonah Valley Motel
Boonah Valley Motel
#3 of 3 in Boonah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
19.4 mi away
Spicers Peak Lodge
Spicers Peak Lodge
#1 of 3 in Maryvale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wiss House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wiss House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Wiss House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7 Ann St, Kalbar, Queensland 4309, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Kalbar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kalbar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wiss House Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage listed Wiss House is in the small rural town of Kalbar in the Scenic Rim. Wiss House oozes elegance, style and luxury with guests offered a chance to step back in time and experience what life was like for a wealthy merchant in the early 1900’s. Fully air-conditioned with four guest rooms, a guest lounge, an opulent banquet room with a magnificent crystal chandelier and pressed metal ceiling, guests are served gourmet meals on fine china using silverware and crystal glassware. Other features include guest lounge, wide verandas surrounding the house and a classic pool with spa. The area has stunning scenery with 5 national parks, waterfalls, cafes, art galleries and wineries close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Wiss House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing