We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsiderate, unhelpful, left a family with a child no place to stay”
Review of Bonnie Doon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bonnie Doon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnie Doon
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were looking for accomodation on the weekend before cup day for a wedding, travelling with a small child. they refused to take our booking for only one night unless we paid for 2 claiming it was a long weekend. Unfortunately paying for a night of accommodation we didn't need was not something we could afford. Will be taking our business else where along with our very large family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank 592Bel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, Owner at Bonnie Doon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

This rating doesn't reflect on the motel (since you didn't stay with us, as stated) just on the fact you don't approve of our particular booking policy on that weekend. It's very common for motels to have a minimum booking over long weekends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

My better half and I went for his birthday lunch there just before Christmas (when our other choice for lunch was closed). Hadn't been there for several years and were not impressed back then, however this time under the new owners things had significantly improved. Much husband's steak was done exactly as he asked for it (a rare thing, no pun intended) and I had a chicken dish which was equally good. Just pub food, but properly prepared and delicious. The decor is very dated, which the new owner acknowledged when we chatted, but they are in the process of updating that aspect too. Even if they don't update the decor, the pleasant country views and good food are enough to ensure we'll go back again.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Redbarnchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, Owner at Bonnie Doon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Thanks for the nice feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Under new management/ownership, this place has changed big time. I spent my stay last weekend working my way through their terrific menu, which has a great burger selection through to a range of great mains - steaks, parmas, barra etc etc (awesome chips). The place was humming with country pub cheer and live music to chill out to, all during a wakeboarding event, apparently run by the pub. I was worried that the service might drop off as the wakeboarders came up to eat/drink but they had it covered with good organisation and extra staff. A highlight was meeting international wakeboarder Harley Clifford (top bloke). I'm currently planning a family visit to the region during snow season, and while staying there will use the open fires at the Bonnie Doon Hotel to escape the cold of Mt Buller (only 45 mins drive away!!!!!!!!!!!). Will post review after trip.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank MikeSchultz245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, Owner at Bonnie Doon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed for a few days. Great staff and excelelnt food. Had the porterhouse, steak sandwich, calmari, Southwest burger and the parma. All top notch. The locals that I spoke too said that the place was garbage before the new management took over, so they must have turned things around in a hurry. Keep up the great work guys!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank dandyman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, Owner at Bonnie Doon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I will definitely be coming back! My friends and I enjoyed a relaxing drink overlooking the beautiful lake. We then had a great meal, with all of us enjoying some different. The staff were very hospitable and friendly. We were back the next day (Sunday) to enjoy the sun, view and lunch, the burgers really hit the spot. I will be back!!!!

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, Owner at Bonnie Doon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Good times. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I was the only one in the dated bistro and so believed my meal was going to of a good standard seeing as there was no one else to be seen anywhere. Ordered a chicken schnitzel and salad. Service was quick, but schnitzel arrived burnt!! The nice waitress stated, when I pointed it out to her that it was burnt, that she didn't notice as this is how she has hers cooked ( which would be ok if she paid for it and was going to eat it) but seeing as I was the customer I asked for another one to be cooked, no problem at all. Next one arrived and I have now gathered that the chef is a hack and has no idea how to cook a golden brown schnitzel. Price was ok (luckily) but I won't be rushing back, I'll look elsewhere next time.

1  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, Owner at Bonnie Doon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Hi Carol, thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

As regular visitors to Bonnie Doon, great to see the transformation the new management have made to this pub in such a short time. Great beer garden overlooking the lake, cold beer, tasty food and friendly staff, what more would you want?! Perfect to park the boat on the shore and relax after a day on the water. Definitely recommend the sliders!

Thank hangray79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, Owner at Bonnie Doon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Thanks for coming. Glad you had a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnie Doon
11.8 mi away
Alzburg Resort
Alzburg Resort
#2 of 3 in Mansfield
192 reviews
11.7 mi away
Mansfield Motel
Mansfield Motel
#1 of 3 in Mansfield
349 reviews
11.4 mi away
High Country Holiday Park
High Country Holiday Park
#1 of 14 in Mansfield
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Mansfield Valley Motor Inn
Mansfield Valley Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Mansfield
77 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Corner Hotel Alexandra
The Corner Hotel Alexandra
#4 of 6 in Alexandra
20 reviews
14.1 mi away
Eildon Pondage Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnie Doon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnie Doon Hotel

Address: 1738 Maroondah Highway, Bonnie Doon, Victoria 3720, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Bonnie Doon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bonnie Doon
Price Range: £63 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonnie Doon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Eidon, Bonnie Doon Hotel Motel offers an outdoor pool and a range of on-site water sport facilities including canoeing and fishing, plus close proximity to the Mt Buller and Mt Stirling Ski Fields. There is an on-site bistro restaurant, open for lunch and dinner, with the bar opened afternoons and into the evenings. Bonnie Doon Hotel Motel is a 15-minute drive from Mansfield and a 20-minute drive from Mt Samaria State Park. Benalla Airport is a 1-hour drive away - perfect for a short or long stay to enjoy the area. These air-conditioned and heated rooms feature views of the lake and garden. There is a flat-screen TV, tea and coffee provided, with a toaster and kettle. A breakfast pack is available for purchase. We have daily housekeeping in the room, and the front desk is staffed 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bonnie Doon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing