We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, clean, comfortable place to unwind with...”
other travellers have booked this property
Lothlorien Holiday Cottage in Kents Bank, Grange over Sands with sea views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lothlorien Holiday Cottage in Kents Bank, Grange over Sands with sea views.
View of Morecambe bay from the lounge window Lounge with views over the bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Lothlorien Holiday Cottage in Kents Bank, Grange over Sands with sea views.
View of Morecambe bay from the lounge window
Lounge with views over the bay
Lots of magazines and local information available
Lounge area with views over the bay.
New modern kitchen recently installed
Bedroom with views over Morecambe bay
New vanity unit in the master bedroom
Bedroom overlooking the beautiful garden
New modern bathroom with shower and bath
Garden pond
Pet-friendly holiday home.
Summer house with patio area
Patio and private secure garden
Kents Bank with railway and bus stations close-by
Sunrise over Morecambe bay
Medieval Cartmel village is 2 miles away. Ideal for visiting the race course, Priory and L'enclume.
Cartmel races nearby
Cartmel Priory
Yewbarrow terrace in Grange where you will find an assortment of specialist shops and cafes
Grange-Over-Sands promenade
Ulverston - the birthplace of Stan Laurel
Your hosts, David, Pam, Holly and Matthew welcome you.
Lothlorien welcomes you. Arrive as guests leave as friends.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kents Bank, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dr. Chris...
1 review
“Peaceful, clean, comfortable place to unwind with great hosts!”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Lothlorien in early August 2015. Immediately after we decided on Lothlorien I was contacted by David. We chatted through Facebook and not long after he already felt like family! What a huge help he was! As we were coming with kids (8 and 11) from the US and not renting a car, we needed help finding our way through public transportation, area markets and how to get around. The property is very well maintained, clean and has a great view of the bay! We really enjoyed the mornings and evenings with the fire place, hot tea and a good book! The kitchen had everything we needed to cook some yummy meals. Kents Bank is on the train line and the cottage is a short 5 minute walk. Wonderful small town! When we find ourselves back in the beautiful lake district we will definitely look forward to seeing our "extended family"! If you are looking for a nice, peaceful cottage to unwind and get away, look no further!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, peaceful, comfortable
Liked least: No market in Kents Bank
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B
Thornhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant holiday home, in an excellent quiet location.”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

From my initial enquiry with David the owner until we arrived we were kept fully informed, unfortunately as David was away on holiday we did not meet him,but we're provided with all the information we needed including an early access to the property on day of arrival.THe house was very well equipped, very clean and had everything we needed, and was in an excellent quiet location with great views over morecambe bay.The garden and summerhouse were lovely and everything lived up to our expectations.We thoroughly enjoyed our short breakof dour days which was excellent value for oney,and will definitely book again, next time for longer.Lothlorien is a gem of a property and I have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation to others,you will not be disappointed, and coupled with the excellent customer service we received it was a joy to stay here.ten out of ten all round.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homes location and the lovely
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendy m
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“wonderful welcoming cottage”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This cottage is a absolute treasure, from the minute you book you feel you are special guests of David and Pam. They make you feel welcome both with their friendliness and the lovely little touches like fresh milk, tea and coffee tray, biscuits etc. the cottage itself is warm and inviting with beautiful views over the bay. It also has a lovely garden with a summer house which will be lovely for nice summer evenings. The kitchen is well equipped, sparkling clean large bathroom, very comfortable beds, and a large lounge area is everything you need for a lovely break.
There are lots of things to do in the area and Windermere is only a short drive away.
Stay here and you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymou...
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The ONLY place to stay in The Lakes.”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Just back from a 3 night break at Lothlorien. What can I say? It's the ONLY place to stay - we won't stay anywhere else from now on when we visit The Lake District. From our very first contact with David to arrange this last minute break, to the final day, we could not fault anything. David gave us all the information we needed and when we arrived Pam and daughter Holly showed us everything we needed to know and also gave us recommendations for walks, places to visit and places to eat. They were available if we needed anything and made us feel like nothing would be too much trouble. They genuinely care that you have a good time in their cottage. A pint of milk in the fridge and tea, coffee and biscuits were all there for us, so we didn't have to rush out to get supplies, we just unpacked and had a cuppa. Lovely.
Our past experience of holiday cottages is that they are often cold and uncomfortable, and we've sometimes been glad to get back home! Not so with this lovely bungalow. It's warm, cosy, comfy and has everything you need and more. We wanted to stay - permanently! It's in a lovely residential area, very quiet and relaxing, with lovely views and a huge garden complete with summer house. A definite home from home. Train station nearby and a walk to the prom at Grange over Sands. We took our dog and being young he takes a while to settle in strange places, but after his first investigative 'sniff' he just settled as if he'd always been there. He loved the garden - even in the rain. Whilst there, we took him on his very first train ride. We went to Arnside. He was so good and although the train was busy everyone was really friendly. We had lovely fish and chips whilst at Arnside - thanks Pam for the recommendation. We also went in the cafe opposite the small pier. We weren't sure we could go in with the dog but a member of staff came out and told us we could.
We drove to Walney Island as its a great place to walk along sea front, but it was raining very heavily and even the dog wasn't keen, so we drove further north to Ennerdale Water and by the time we got there it had stopped raining so we had a nice walk there. Lothlorien is well situated for visiting anywhere in the lakes, not just south lakes. Grange is the nearest place for food shopping - it has bakeries, butchers, a good fruit and veg shop (we got lovely strawberries and raspberries) a co-op (with cash machine) and spar, and a good pet shop. We didn't need anything else, but there will be the big supermarkets in Kendal I imagine if you need more. We will definitely return as there is still a lot to see and do.

Hair dryer
Tin foil
Milk, biscuits, tea coffee etc
Magazines
Train timetables
Tourist info

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy home and caring owners.
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fahad_Ham...
Hipperholme, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, and excellent acommodation”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We decided to stay within the UK this year, and wanted our young children (3 and 5) to experience a bit of an adventure holiday.

The Lakes are not too far from where we live and we decided to find somewhere suitable for a week that would allow us to travel in and around the area.

We discovered Lothlorien and after making some initial enquires with the owners, found them to be extremely helpful and accomodating. Everything from the moment we booked, to arrival and departure was perfect.

The property itself is well presented, clean and has a warm and cosy feel to it. The bedrooms were comfy, and the huge garden at the rear with the summer house was just fabulous.

The kids had a fantastic time for the week long stay, and this was definitely a most memorable holiday for all of us.

We took our bikes up, and were even loaned the use of a bike for the Mrs! Really, nothing was too much trouble.

Grange is a good location if you want to travel and explore, and have the use of a car. There is a train link to and from the area I believe although we didn't look into it.

Dave and Pam are a lovely couple, who clearly take pride in their property and are most hospitable.

Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rear garden and summer house
Liked least: Lack of decent takeaways - but that's not the fault of the property or owners clearly!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing