We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay at Lothlorien”
other travellers have booked this property
Lothlorien Holiday Cottage in Kents Bank, Grange over Sands with bay views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lothlorien Holiday Cottage in Kents Bank, Grange over Sands with bay views.
View of Morecambe bay from the lounge window Lots of magazines and local information available
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Lothlorien Holiday Cottage in Kents Bank, Grange over Sands with bay views.
View of Morecambe bay from the lounge window
Lots of magazines and local information available
New modern kitchen recently installed
Master bedroom with views over Morecambe bay
New vanity unit in the master bedroom
Second bedroom overlooking the beautiful garden
New modern bathroom with shower and bath
Garden pond
We welcome well behaved pets.
Summer house with patio area
Patio and private secure garden
Kents Bank with railway and bus stations close-by
Sunrise over Morecambe bay
Medieval Cartmel village is 2 miles away. Ideal for visiting the race course, Priory and L'enclume.
Cartmel races nearby
Cartmel Priory
Yewbarrow terrace in Grange where you will find an assortment of specialist shops and cafes
Grange-Over-Sands promenade accessible from Kents Bank
Ulverston - the birthplace of Stan Laurel
Birkrigg Stone Circle with wonderful views of Morecambe bay
Your hosts, David, Pam, Holly and Matthew welcome you.
Lothlorien welcomes you. Arrive as guests leave as friends.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kents Bank, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jan1965_9
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at Lothlorien”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The location was fabulous, right on the doorstep is the southern part of the lakes, lots of interesting places to visit, Lothlorien was a lovely bungalow, very nice and comfortable, lots of space and lovely gardens, we took 2 small dogs with us and they enjoyed the holiday as much as we did. Lots of nice walks for them.
I would recommend this accomodation to anyone looking for a nice peaceful break in a lovely part of the lakes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed Lothlorien and this beautiful area and will be delighted to welcome you again in the future. Best wishes David and Pam.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dizzy060
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage to stay in.”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed for four nights, cottage very clean and cosy. Pam and David had made it home from home. The garden was lovely to sit in, It was a good base to stay in, Holker Hall was a good day out and a walk along the prom was nice.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
Thank you both for your kind review. We will be delighted if you are able to stay with us again in the future. Best wishes David & Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara M
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top-notch self catering accommodation.”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is the best holiday rental that we've ever stayed in. Comfortable, clean and very well supplied with crockery etc. and a beautiful garden. Nice modern kitchen and bathroom and comfortable beds.The owner and his family are very nice and welcoming. Good location with lovely views across the bay. We were only there for 3 nights, would have loved to stay longer, and hope to go again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2017
Thank you for your kind review Barbara. It makes all our hard work worthwhile when guests appreciate what we do. We look forward to your next visit.
David and Pam.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipsom
1 review
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Beautiful view from the windows, modern kitchen and bathroom. Great location to visit the lakes. It could do with wifi as phone signal is poor, but we knew that there wasn't wifi before booking. Owners are very helpful and friendly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind review. Glad you had a lovely holiday.
David and Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bubbaNott...
Notts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful break”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago with our border terrier, all had a wonderful 5 day break. The owners, David and Pam couldn't have made us more welcome. We immediately felt at home, every room was immaculate. The new kitchen is very well equipped, including fridge, microwave, washing machine, gas oven and hob and every crockery, utensil, etc you will need. A pint of fresh milk was in the fridge, coffee, tea and biscuits to welcome us. Plenty of storage space in the bedrooms and a good size bathroom with bath and shower. One of our favourite things was the delightful enclosed back garden, patio furniture and a lovely summer house, ideal for afternoon tea, or gin and tonics on a evening. The situation is ideal for lovely walks, down the hill 5miins away is Kents bank station. Don't forget to call in the beach hut gallery. Continuing left on foot from the station is a walk that leads you to the promenade, a great walk into the town. About halfway, just after the crazy golf and tennis courts is a brilliant coffee shop with the best tasting cream teas. Ideal for sitting outside although on our last day we went for breakfast inside. Well behaved dogs and owners most welcome. Plenty of individual good food shops in town and pubs doing food. We went to Humphery head, good for walking, also the hospice with spectacular views. A good day out on the boat from Lakeside, across Lake Windermere to Barrow, plenty to see there. Then on the steam train to Haverthwaite. We went on the first boat and avoided the crowds, perfect. Hoker hall also well worth a visit, can be combined with a visit to Cartmel, a interesting village, if not too busy with traffic passing through. All in all can say location of Lothlorien bungalow is ideal to see the south lakes, be it by car, train or on foot. The accommodation first class. Would return and recommend without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely garden and summerhouse, so relaxing after a busy day out
Liked least: Notihing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Thank you Lyn for your kind comments, we would be delighted if you are able to return in the future. Best wishes
David and Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
180juli
Germany
1 review
“wonderful cottage (family with 2 children - Germany)”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The house was very well equipped, very clean and had everything we needed, and was in an excellent quiet location with great views over the bay.The garden and summerhouse were lovely. We enjoyed our one week stay and our walks to Grange-over-Sands along the coast. Lake district is near and we had fantastic walks. We can definitely recommend this accommodation and hope to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful cottage
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr. Chris...
1 review
“Peaceful, clean, comfortable place to unwind with great hosts!”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Lothlorien in early August 2015. Immediately after we decided on Lothlorien I was contacted by David. We chatted through Facebook and not long after he already felt like family! What a huge help he was! As we were coming with kids (8 and 11) from the US and not renting a car, we needed help finding our way through public transportation, area markets and how to get around. The property is very well maintained, clean and has a great view of the bay! We really enjoyed the mornings and evenings with the fire place, hot tea and a good book! The kitchen had everything we needed to cook some yummy meals. Kents Bank is on the train line and the cottage is a short 5 minute walk. Wonderful small town! When we find ourselves back in the beautiful lake district we will definitely look forward to seeing our "extended family"! If you are looking for a nice, peaceful cottage to unwind and get away, look no further!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, peaceful, comfortable
Liked least: No market in Kents Bank
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing