We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maxcanu
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“amazing romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Luxury in paradise. Never wanted to leave. The setting is outrageous. It's beautiful. Off the tourist trail which makes it even lovelier. You will be taken back in time in a beautiful dream but it's all real! We never left after we checked in. We had plans to see other sites in the area, but why bother when The Hacienda Santa Rosa is a destination of it's very own. Highly recommend this property. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: i don't think you could get a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    28
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
106
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

This was perhaps the nicest place at which I have ever stayed. It is a bit of a drive off the main roads. Then you enter a small not too well off village. But at the end of the village, you see the property gates and, drawing closeer still, the lawn leading up to the main house. You are awe-struck. The place is beautfiul.
We had a great room, right next to the pool, built from a reserve tank used to feed the channelized water. The hotel has its own botanical garden, which is large. I was wondering whether all of the buildings which would have been part of the old hennequen hacienda were still preserved and they are. The grounds are very interesting to explore. The food was very good, if pricey.
It is convenienet for visiting Celestun, although we did not do so. We visited ruined hennequen haciendas in the vicinity, which was quite interesting.
This is not a place for people in a hurry. It is a place to relax during a hurriedvacation.

Room Tip: We were in Room Number 1 next to the pool. The bathroom was huge and proximity to the pool was a plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Everyone has a different definition of luxury. For us, Hda. Santa Rosa fit. We were touring the Yucatan and mostly staying in three and four star places. Our trip was focused around seeing Mayan ruins and culture. We had planned a stay in Chichen Itza and were looking for a one night stay in the Puuc Trail area to visit the ruins near there. So we arrived from Chichen about 3pm at Hda. SR. We had a gracious, leisurely check in on the front lanai, and were then escorted to Room #10. The room was beautiful as were the grounds. The bed was heavenly. The service was polite. The food was fine. We both had a massage before dinner, excellent. I agree with the other reviewers about not having a lot to do. But for us, it was a nice stop on our tour, and the best and most comfortable accommodations that we experienced in Mexico. For this couple it was a well deserved and appreciated Valentines day treat. The next day we had a leisurely breakfast- just ok- and then were off to the ruins of Oxkotin.. a must see if you are in the area, and we had the grounds entirely to ourselves. We were told "don't climb on the pyramids" and we could see that it might have been dangerous to do so on most of them-- but the main pyramid was somewhat restored and appeared to be stable so we climbed it anyway, and were glad we did. From the top we could see in the distance in every direction what were obviously ancient, unexcavated pyramid ruins... I'll never forget that. We wanted to get inside the labyrinth, but there is a locked gate there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neffed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberto o, Director de Operaciones at Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Neffed,
Greetings from Hacienda Santa Rosa!!!!.
We received your comments and on behalf of the entire team we thank you so much for your sincere comments, we are so glad you found our property and services surpassed your expectations and made your vacation so special for you and your wife.
Our staff is extremely dedicated to making your stay an unforgettable one, so I will share your comments with our team who I am sure will be thrilled with your recognition of their service with a smile attitude - that is exactly what makes this piece of paradise so special.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Yours Sincerely

My best personal regards,
Roberto Otálora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

I am so glad that we made the decision to go to Hacienda Santa Rosa, on arriving at the Hacienda's elegant gates you feel like you have been transported back to a glamorous era when the Hacienda was in it's heyday. It is located far enough off the beaten track to feel that you have left the main tourist trail but was still easily accessible for a couple of gringos in a hire car. The Hacienda has been beautifully restored but not to the extreme and expense of losing it's charm and character.

It is such a peaceful place, we felt as though we were the only guests most of the time as we strolled through the grounds and discovered the stunning pool and stables converted into bedrooms all surrounded by lovely gardens. Lit up at night the blue façade of the Hacienda appears even more majestic.

You can use the bikes at the Hacienda and cycle through the local villages to some other derelict Haciendas, this is really interesting and although the ride is flat be warned that it is actually quite far under the hot Mexican sun, about a 20km round trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indianahannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

traveled here with a group earlier on this year. it's good for couples looking to escape it all but for more adventurous people I would advise staying closer to Merida or Chichen Itza unless you are here to explore the smaller ruin sites around this area. The reason is that this place is FAR from anywhere - it's literally in the middle of nowhere (hard to find at night btw, GPS won't have it) and there's nothing to do there.The prices are very high for what it is although I do think that the service was generally very good. but it takes 1 hour or more to get to Merida and it's just not worth it if you're looking to be close to the cool sites. On top of this - there's no gym open on weekends, and no wi-fi / telephone access - literally nowhere on the grounds would my cell phone work and this is expected.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bailarina23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberto o, Manager at Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Mrs. Bailarina23
Greetings from Yucatan,
Thank you for choosing to spend your special of occasions with friends with us. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time and we appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review. I will be sure to pass along your kind remarks to the rest of our staff - they really do a fabulous job.

In regard to your comments about your location experience as regarding telephone and internet access, thank you for the feedback which I will share with our IT and Engineering Department. I apologise for the shortcomings you experienced in this area and rest assured I will address the matter. At certain times of the year such as September and October due to heavy rains we do have restrictions in this area, however, that being said, we are aware that we need to find alternative solutions to this situation. Thanks again for bringing that to my attention.

We truly appreciate your recommendation of our lovely Hacienda and I look forward to personally welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely yours,
Roberto Otalora - Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We enjoyed our one night at the Hacienda, it is a beautiful site, with lovely gardens. Our room had it's own patio, with huge windows and high ceilings. All of the setting felt just right - the restaraunts, the huge terrace, our room, etc. The hospitality was really nice, they seemed to appreicate our interested in the hacienda and it's heritage. The food was really good as well, featuring local favorites. Two downsides - the lovely pool was quite dirty, and they pushed joining Starwoods the second we got there and signed us up even when we declined. It was jarring - to have traveled for hours to drive into this lovely hacienda and settle on the patio to get a hard sell on Starwoods.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frontierfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We spent a wonderful 3 nights at the Hacienda Santa Rosa, our superior room was large and beautifully fitted with period touches - we loved the huge doors into the bathroom. The whole place exudes charm with the brightly painted buildings and the cosy pool area.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic - traditional food presented in a modern way. Also the Nespresso coffee was a nice change from the coffee we were served elsewhere in the Yucatan!
The only thing I would definitely recommend is getting directions in advance if you don't have a GPS - the map and address on their website is misleading!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Carretera Federal 180 Merida-Campeche | Municipio de Maxcanu - Santa Rosa de Lima, Maxcanu 97800, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Maxcanu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maxcanu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the Mayan archeological zone, Hacienda Santa Rosa showcases its splendid building from the mid-19th century. This building, formerly an important property of the nobility, has become a luxurious residence through the generations. Just a 50 minute drive from Merida’s International Airport, the place is surrounded by natural beauties such as the Calcehtok and Oxkintok Caves, and cultural sites such as the Ruins of Uxmal and the town of Becal. An enormous door, meters and meters high, gives access to this wonderful hacienda which has 11 comfortable guest rooms and suites. Hammocks and wicker chairs, a private terrace and a garden make this place a perfect spot to live an unforgettable experience. Its aloe field is home to a Mayan style little house where one can enjoy enchanting moments outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Santa Rosa Merida
Hacienda Santa Rosa Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing