We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Fox and Hounds

The Fox and Hounds
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Clavering
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A lovely village pub with a friendly, bright atmosphere; full of character that we hope to enhance and perfect. Dog friendly. We have a large beer garden and a small children's playing area. We offer a range of cask conditioned ales, popular lagers, and beers. Also a variety of wines and spirits are available. Unfortunately for the moment the kitchen is under maintenance, but we will soon offer homemade lunchtime and evening meals.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We went to F & H with a groupon voucher! admittedly we were not shown a menu! but then the Groupon voucher clearly states main and a sweet, and these were on the blackboard. The food was home cooked and more than adequate. Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, we were served very quickly. Would go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boomtowncats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    8
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sunday groupon lunch”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Used a groupon voucher for Sunday lunch 02/02/14 2 people

We walked in & the pub was freezing! Not welcoming at all, nice man behind the bar - friendly, served us quickly.

Waitress didn't offer us a menu to see starters just asked what roast we wanted. I had beef hubby had pork.
My beef was over coked, not cooked on the day & reheated meant it was very chewy. Veg was ok roast potatoes were lovely shame there was only 3, gravey was bland Yorkshire pud was home made & big. Hubby's pork was terribly dry.

We left cold, & still hungry. We only paid £9.50 for the voucher so we got what we paid for. I won't be going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Packing-lists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Welcoming Village Pub”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We've only eaten here once as on the two other occasions when we visited on a limb, food was not being served.

The food we have eaten here was hot, hearty and filling but not fine dining which is to be expected in the village pub. Value for money and dog friendly which helps with the black lab :))

Yes, we will be returning!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJK45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford, essex
Level Contributor
118 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We used a groupon voucher for Sunday lunch. Great value. Food was nice and potions fair. Nice couple running the place. Overall I would recommend a trip her if in the local area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bustergrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Food unappetising”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Had Sunday lunch with a Groupon voucher, it was not worth travelling for.Food was tasteless and small portions, just a choice of two desserts. Apple sponge and tinned custard was bland and my friend complained. Had another meal when got home.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 428Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox and Hounds also viewed

Saffron Walden, Essex
Clavering, Saffron Walden
 
Saffron Walden, Essex
Arkesden, Saffron Walden
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing