We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Chilled weekend break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Little Cleave

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Drewsteignton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

DelyseT
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chilled weekend break”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had a lovely weekend in this cosy little cottage.
All clean, tidy and very well presented. Cottage was cute, pool area was clean and fresh.
Excellent that we could take our dog. A totally chilled weekend.
Barbara was very accommodating and helpful.
I'm certain we will be back.
Thank you.

Date of stay: January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma C
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy barn conversion cottage”
Reviewed 14 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a brilliant find, booked this a week before staying having had a cancellation where we were supposed to stay. Surrounded by beautiful sloping hills near to Dartmoor national park, there were three lovely cottages, barn conversions. We stayed in the two bed cottage which was a great size, all the facilities you needed. The owners were very friendly and accommodating, as was the dog, who I had read about on other reviews so was pleased to meet her. We had a swim in the heated indoor pool, a nice addition to our short stay. Favourite bits for me were the log burner, en suite shower, the cute galley like kitchen. I would love to go back there in the summer time.

Date of stay: December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emma19663...
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

cottage is beautiful,had everything in it that you could possibly need,Barbara friendly and helpful but not in your face! swimming pool complex superb,we will definitely be back! dogs enjoyed themselves more than we did,they came home exhausted!

Date of stay: November 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CannyMel
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE best cottage we have ever stayed at!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have 4 dogs and find it impossible to find holiday lets that will allow this many dogs. I telephoned Barbara to ask if 4 dogs were allowed and was amazed to hear the words "Yes, of course".
The location is idyllic, Barbara and family were excellent hosts and the cottage blew my mind! Everything you expect from a holiday cottage and more were in this beautiful home. We stayed for Christmas week and it was perfect. Didn't even need to stand for hours washing the dishes after the Christmas dinner as the luxury of a dishwasher was provided. The large field was perfect for tiring the dogs (and us) out before going indoors and lighting the log fire. We had the most relaxing time there, and we will be back in the near future!

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving at the end of the week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic...thank you”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful little cottage in a fantastic location, with all mod cons.

We stayed here with our 12 year old son and spaniel, Lottie, December '13 for 3 nights and I was sorry to leave. The location is near the moors with simply amazing walks on your doorstop and very dog friendly....as is Tilly ( she is anyone's for a belly rub but didn't impress our Lottie when she found all her dinner was gone...LOL!!! )

The accommodation is cosy and the beds are comfy ( loads of duvets), well equipped kitchen and the living room is lovely with a fabulous wood burner....my husband insisted on lighting this even if we were warm enough ( had to be done) though watching him keep it alight was amusing!

There is great swimming pool and sauna (open until 10pm) and a games barn.

Thank you to Barbara for the last minute booking and letting us stay in her lovely cottage. Great owner !

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything especially location and wood burner
Liked least: nothing...except the weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJC37
Polegate, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect little cottage - all you need and wonderful location!!!”
Reviewed 7 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in March with my husband, 2 friends & 4 dogs. The cottages are VERY dog friendly and you are greeted by the cottage dogs on arrival. The accommodation is cosey and perfectly sized for 4 people. The beds are comfy, bathrooms clean, kitchen well appointed and the living room is lovely with a fabulous big wood burner! The best thing about the cottage is the location - right near the moors with simply amazing walks on your doorstop. A visit to the walk round Drogo Castle is a must - with a stop at the pub on the way round obviously! It was our friends 2nd stay at Little Cleave and we can understand why they re-booked... This is a perfect break location for couples, families and dog lovers. Just one thing... more towels please!

Date of stay: March 2013
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location & wood burner!
Liked least: Lack of towels - supplied for 2 rather than 4
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Very sorry about the towels. We try to limit our carbon footprint, and we had your booking down as just two people. Our error. I wish you had said. We would have been very happy to provide whatever you needed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindaa-w1...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 23 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012

The 'Little Cleave' is a little palace. Everything you need and more. The only downside of our holiday was the British weather but that doesn't matter if your staying here as there are plenty of things to do indoors, swimming, sauna, table tennis, foosball, darts even jigsaws. My son said this is his second home. There is an outdoor sitting/barbeque area. Owner is very nice and helpful and Tilly (owner's dog) is a little sweetie and she likes her tummy tickled. We were sad to leave. Easy to find if you follow the directions given and its at the edge of Dartmoor so there is easy access to the main roads and rural roads. The cottages are dog friendly but can I say its clean and doesn't smell of dogs as can some pet friendly homes. I give this cottage a 5star plus rating. Near by Okehampton Castle is worth a visit and take the little woodland walk also. Fingle Bridge is a lovely place to go for a walk and then a well deserved drink at the Inn. Theres a good size Tesco in Crediton which was our favourite as its a nice drive also.

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool/sauna
Liked least: The weather, which is no fault of the owner obviously
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.