We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to see where our money is going”
Review of Castle Drogo

Castle Drogo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Castle Drogo a twentieth century masterpiece set on Dartmoor is undergoing a major conservation project.
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice to see where our money is going”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

As a keen N.T. member and the price of it!!!!!! It was lovely to go to Castle Drogo and see just where our money is spent. Usually when renovating the N.T. closes places, but with this you can put on a hard hat and jacket and have an escorted visit to the top of the castle and see the work being carried out. Inside the castle you can also see what is being done and there is the added bonus of videos so you can see what the room will look like when finshed. You can even see some of the pricless items in storage. An interesting visit but well worth it. The walks around the estate are lovely and the different types of birds are a joy to behold. Again in a place like this sensible footwear, especially if you want to don the hard hat etc.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    228
    105
    74
    51
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The amazing Castle Drogo”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We visited yesterday knowing exactly what we were to see or not as the case may be. For a reviewer to claim they knew nothing of the scale of the work is misleading to the reader on these pages for it is clear upon entry, the National rust make it clear before they take your money.
This was one of the best visits to a property in memory. The Castle was something behold before all this but what is taking place now is simply breath taking and worth every penny of the entrance fee.
What is more, the staff could not be more friendly, helpful and so free with their knowledge; nothing being too much trouble and in my experience that is a new face for some NT properties.
The scale of renovation apart from being moving in some cases is a statisticians dream and I recommend a visit at the earliest convenience to help progress on this historic and magnificent 20th Century castle/home.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great to see the work taking place!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Recently visited castle drogo, what a fantastic place!.
Great to see the work going on which will ensure the castle stays watertight for years to come, you can even climb up to look over the top of the castle and see the roof being completed !
Great guides bring the story of the house to life,.
A must visit

Helpful?
Thank darren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“We visited the gardens only ..”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

On arrival, we knew that the castle was undergoing work, however it is completely covered by plastic sheets and scaffolding. We were told that this was a 'great opportunity to see the castle', but also that most of the furniture and furnishings have been removed whilst the work is going on. The people on the entrance were doing their utmost to promote visits to the castle, but to be honest the idea of wandering around a large unfurnished castle didn't appeal so we visited the gardens only.

The gardens are very pretty and there were a large number of people working in them. A large area of th garden however, the rhodedendron valley was inaaccessible due to the risk of falling branches from the large trees.

Not worth the full price at present, but I'm sure it will be fab when its fnished.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caddington
Level Contributor
485 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“What an opportunity to see a work in progress”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We hadn't expected such an interesting and informative visit to a NT property as this turned out to be. A real close up/inside look at the great work that they do and this mammoth project really shows the extent of the preparation work that leads up to the preservation of such an interesting property. Yes, this isn't your traditional NT property visit with lots of sometimes sterile room stings, but this really demonstrates what has to be undertaken in such a challenging preservation project. The house team were full of helpful information and a must, if you have a head for heights, is the climb up the outside of Europe's largest free standing scaffolding structure to the roof level to discover the real extent of the 5 year programme of work. We will be back to see how the progress is being maintained,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Drogo also viewed

Lydford, Dartmoor National Park
Manaton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Castle Drogo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing