We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely peaceful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Mole End, a wooden cabin in a sheltered valley in Devon's , Dartmoor National park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mole End, a wooden cabin in a sheltered valley in Devon's , Dartmoor National park
The sitting room with sofa and dining area beyond, with adjoining sociable kitchen. Mole End is a cosy little wooden cabin. It has Television,DVD + CD players and free WIFI connection.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Mole End, a wooden cabin in a sheltered valley in Devon's , Dartmoor National park
The sitting room with sofa and dining area beyond, with adjoining sociable kitchen.
Mole End is a cosy little wooden cabin. It has Television,DVD + CD players and free WIFI connection.
Sitting room with staircase to balcony with sofa bed , and twin bedroom overlooking the river.
Sitting room with electric fire for instant heat and night storage heaters.
Well equipped kitchen
Kitchen with fridge, freezer, dishwasher, cooker, microwave, kettle , toaster and bread machine.
Ground floor double bedroom with 4ft 6 inch bed. Window looks over the river. Plenty of storage.
Full sized bath  with over bath shower. WC. Washbasin. Washing machine + tumble dryer. River views.
The Twin room under the eaves overlooking the river, where ducks and dippers are often seen .
The bed for 'occasional' guests on the balcony
View of river from the bedroom window. The only sound you can hear is that of the water + birdsong.
Hillside covered in bluebells which come after daffodil time
The hillside covered in foxgloves which follow on from the bluebells which come after the daffodils.
The river along from the lodge.
The river Teign in Autumn. Wonderful walks through woodland right from the door.
Mole End in winter, with an efficient heating system , it is warm and cosy whatever the weather.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Drewsteignton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rjw332
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful stay”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just spent a lovely few days at Mole End. Surrounded by trees & nature in a beautiful settting. We were so pleased when we walked in to Mole End which we booked via airbnb. It was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. It has a lovely balcony and some extra little touches such as books,games and a wet weather box which thankfully we didn't need!
There are plenty of great walks to do and lovely pubs. Highly recommend the Fingle Bridge Inn. Good pub food with amazing views. We also had a delicious lunch at the Walled Garden in Dunsford. Lovely walk there via a nature reserve.
We hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2017
It was good of you to take the time to send a review . It should be useful for others who are looking at the website.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Mole End certainly is a magical place. It never ceases to amaze me to stand at the window and have a dipper on the stones outside or have a duck float past.
I was glad to hear that you had had a good time at the local pubs, it is great that they are only a flat walk away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Sandy...
1 review
“very comfotable well equipped lodge in a fantastic setting by the river”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

what a peaceful location to enjoy a few days break to chill out and relax. Wonderful woodland walks, we saw deer, dippers diving in & out of the river and a woodpecker feeding its young nesting in a tree. The pubs in the surrounding villages served excellent food and my husband enjoyed the local Dartmoor Jail ale.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Dear Sandy and friends, I am delighted that you had such a good time at Mole End. It is wonderful watching the dippers and an extra bonus seeing a woodpecker with chicks. I am glad you got to see the deer too.
Walking to the local pubs is always fun . Just the right distance to build up an appetite on the way for the excellent food , and time to walk it off before you get back to Clifford Bridge. You are welcome back any time. Best wishes from Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
I am delighted that ou enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
elizabeth...
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mole End a Beautiful and Tranquil Place to Stay”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Mole End is a lovely Lodge with plenty of space and surrounded by wonderful woodland and gorgeous walks straight from the cabin. By the banks of the river with lots of interesting places to visit to be recommended for a relaxing break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2017
I am so glad that your enjoyed your time at Mole End. Next time you must try the wonderful walk along the river and through the wood to Fingle Bridge pub. There you can sit by the river or indoors by the log fire and enjoy local beers and cider as well as fabulous food. Thank you for taking the time to send a review. Best wishes from Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie S
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Such a wonderfully peaceful base to explore Dartmoor. The girls loved playing down by the river. The cabin has all the home comforts you need and is nicely furnished and very clean.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
I am really glad Katie that you and your family had a good holiday at Mole End. Thank you for taking the time to send in a review. Best wishes from Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoor5
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, peaceful, tranquil, relaxing, excellent walks,wildlife and nature.”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent service, we have been extremely well looked after from day 1. The accommodation is superb. The location is glorious. Me, the wife and our 3 children have had such an adventurous and relaxing holiday with magnificent walks, beautiful river. Perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
I am delighted that Martin and his family had such a good holiday. Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talltine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful holiday”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our holiday at Mole End.The lodge has everything you could need and the surrounding area is just stunning and the location is great for day trips. We went on different walks every day and enjoyed wildlife spotting.We hope to come
back soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Thank you for sending in a review Tine. I am glad you found the lodge had everything you needed for a peaceful holiday and that you got out to explore the countryside. You are welcome back anytime. Best wishes Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing